压力和分寸感

我们如何应对压力, 因为它是不可避免的在我们的企业存在? 对抗压力共同策略包括运动, 瑜伽, 冥想, 呼吸技巧, 重新设置优先级等系列. 要添加到这个列表, 我有自己的秘密武器,战斗压力,我想与大家分享. 这些武器可能太有力; 所以使用它们小心.

我的一个秘密的战术是发展分寸, 无害的,因为它听起来. 比例可在数字方面. 让我们先从个体数, 例如. 每天早上,, 当我们来上班, 我们看到成千上万的面孔浮动由, 几乎所有前往各自的工作岗位. 花点时间看看他们 — 每个都有自己的个人想法和关心, 忧虑和压力.

他们每个人, 唯一真正的压力是自己. 一旦我们知道,, 为什么我们认为我们自己任何压力更重要的比别人的? 个人的绝对数量升值强调在我们身边, 如果我们停下来想想, 将会把我们的忧虑观点.

在我们的规模而言比例也有所思考. 我们占据着相当大的建设的一小部分是我们的工作场所. (据统计, 本专栏的读者是不太可能占据了很大的角落办公室!) 该建筑占地空间的一小部分,这是我们所钟爱的城市. 所有的城市是如此的渺小,世界地图上的点,通常是它们的大小言过其实.

我们的世界, 大地, 是尘土一个斑点从火球几英里, 如果我们认为太阳的任何可以想象大小的火球. 太阳和太阳系是如此的渺小,如果你把我们的银河系的图片作为您的PC上的壁纸, 他们将有几千本土明星共享像素! 而我们的星系 — 不要让我开始上! 我们有无数的数十亿人. 我们的存在 (我们所有的烦恼和压力) 几乎是不可思议的小.

我们存在的渺小不限于空间; 它延伸到时间,以及. 时间是棘手的,当涉及到分寸. 我们认为宇宙作为 45 岁. 多久你认为我们的存在是在规模? 几秒钟!

我们创建了星尘埃, 最后一个单纯的宇宙瞬间, 然后转回到星尘. 在这段时间内的DNA的机器, 我们运行未知的遗传算法, 这是我们错了我们的愿望和成就, 或应力和挫折. 放松! 不用担心, 要开心!

肯定, 你可能会训斥,如果该报告不出去的明天. 或, 你的供应商可能会不高兴,您的付款再次推迟. 或, 你的同事可能会发送出陷害电子邮件 (和密送你的老板) 如果你得罪他们. 但, 你不明白, 在这种心态麻木堆积如山的宇宙, 没关系丝毫. 在物联网的大计划, 你的压力是不是连静态噪声!

参数保持压力所有的水平取决于一个考虑不周的概念,强调艾滋病的生产力. 它不. 关键的生产力是欢乐的工作态度. 当你停止担心谴责和背刺和赞誉, 并开始享受你做什么, 生产力恰好. 我知道这听起​​来有点理想化, 但我最富有成效件作品发生的方法. 享受我做的是一个理想,我会拍的任何一天.

评论

One thought on “Stress and a Sense of Proportion”

  1. pingback的: Yoga Techniques From Around The Web » 博客归档 » Read the rest of Stress and a Sense of Proportion

评论被关闭.

Stress and a Sense of Proportion

How can we manage stress, given that it is unavoidable in our corporate existence? Common tactics against stress include exercise, yoga, meditation, breathing techniques, reprioritizing family etc. To add to this list, I have my own secret weapons to battle stress that I would like to share with you. These weapons may be too potent; so use them with care.

One of my secret tactics is to develop a sense of proportion, harmless as it may sound. Proportion can be in terms of numbers. Let’s start with the number of individuals, for instance. Every morning, when we come to work, we see thousands of faces floating by, almost all going to their respective jobs. Take a moment to look at them — each with their own personal thoughts and cares, worries and stresses.

To each of them, the only real stress is their own. Once we know that, why would we hold our own stress any more important than anybody else’s? The appreciation of the sheer number of personal stresses all around us, if we stop to think about it, will put our worries in perspective.

Proportion in terms of our size also is something to ponder over. We occupy a tiny fraction of a large building that is our workplace. (Statistically speaking, the reader of this column is not likely to occupy a large corner office!) The building occupies a tiny fraction of the space that is our beloved city. All cities are so tiny that a dot on the world map is usually an overstatement of their size.

Our world, the earth, is a mere speck of dust a few miles from a fireball, if we think of the sun as a fireball of any conceivable size. The sun and its solar system are so tiny that if you were to put the picture of our galaxy as the wallpaper on your PC, they would be sharing a pixel with a few thousand local stars! And our galaxy — don’t get me started on that! We have countless billions of them. Our existence (with all our worries and stresses) is almost inconceivably small.

The insignificance of our existence is not limited to space; it extends to time as well. Time is tricky when it comes to a sense of proportion. Let’s think of the universe as 45 years old. How long do you think our existence is in that scale? A few seconds!

We are created out of star dust, last for a mere cosmological instant, and then turn back into star dust. DNA machines during this time, we run unknown genetic algorithms, which we mistake for our aspirations and achievements, or stresses and frustrations. Relax! Don’t worry, be happy!

Sure, you may get reprimanded if that report doesn’t go out tomorrow. Or, your supplier may get upset that your payment is delayed again. Or, your colleague may send out that backstabbing email (and Bcc your boss) if you displease them. But, don’t you see, in this mind-numbingly humongous universe, it doesn’t matter an iota. In the big scheme of things, your stress is not even static noise!

Arguments for maintaining a level of stress all hinge on an ill-conceived notion that stress aids productivity. It does not. The key to productivity is an attitude of joy at work. When you stop worrying about reprimands and backstabs and accolades, and start enjoying what you do, productivity just happens. I know it sounds a bit idealistic, but my most productive pieces of work happened that way. Enjoying what I do is an ideal I will shoot for any day.


One thought on “Stress and a Sense of Proportion”

  1. Pingback: Yoga Techniques From Around The Web » Blog Archive » Read the rest of Stress and a Sense of Proportion

Comments are closed.