如何

The safer, easier way to pay online. 本系列 ("创贸易的人生") 和最后 ("如何做了银行工作?") 可作为一个设计精美的打印电子书与移动设备兼容. 你可以得到它在网上的 $5.49 立即下载.
可作为电子书.

现在购买!

如果你是一个定量, 你是在数学或物理的高级学位数学家. 你的工作是基于学术研究和专业, 同行评审出版物. 你从他们把你的输入, 应用自己的强大的智能拿出你认为将工作非常出色的一类产品的随机定价模型. 您还需要在产品的细节. 你的输出, 当然, 自己的定价模型, 或从文学定价模型的实现. 这是您的主要工作单位.

Quant perspective

为了充分利用这个定价模型, 它必须被验证. 然后一组用定价模型产品将被定义和报批. 一旦获得批准, 随着贸易的投入和市场数据的帮助, 每款产品都可以作​​价计入交易平台. 但这些活动感兴趣的定量和势力范围之外. 对他们来说,, 一个产品是如何被实例化到一个行业是相当无关紧要的琐碎. 它只是规定了贸易和市场的投入,以定价模式的问题. 甚至如何不同的产品所派生的机械, 和所有的 “实” 工作中的定价模型进行.

这个角度, 虽然准确,功能性的定量, 是很远,从银行的其余部分的视图中删除, 这就是为什么金融工程师有时有脱节的同业声誉可疑. 问题的关键是没有这么多,他们必须改变他们的观点, 但他们应该明白,有被他们交往其他营业单位持有的其他同样有效的观点, 并努力去了解他们.

评论

The safer, easier way to pay online. This series ("Life of a Trade") and the last ("How Does a Bank Work?") are available as a beautifully designed printable eBook compatible with mobile devices. You can get it online for $5.49 for immediate download.
Available as an eBook.

Buy it now!

If you are a quant, you are a mathematician with an advanced degree in mathematics or physics. Your work is based on both academic research and professional, peer-reviewed publications. You take your inputs from them, apply your own formidable intelligence to come up with a stochastic pricing model that you think will work exceptionally well for a class of products. You will also need the details of the products. Your output is, of course, a pricing model of your own, or an implementation of a pricing model from the literature. This is your primary work unit.

Quant perspective

In order to make use of this pricing model, it will have to be validated. Then a set of products using the pricing model will be defined and submitted for approval. Once approved, with the help of trade inputs and market data, each of the products can be priced and booked into the trading platform. But such activities are outside the sphere of interest and influence of the quant. To them, how a product is instantiated into a trade is pretty irrelevant and trivial. It is merely a question of specifying the trade and market inputs to the pricing model. Even how various products are derived is mechanical, and all the “real” work is done in the pricing model.

This perspective, though accurate and functional for a quant, is pretty far removed from the view of the rest of the bank, which is why quants sometimes have the dubious reputation of being out of touch with the industry. The point is not so much that they have to change their perspective, but they should appreciate that there are other equally valid perspectives held by other business units they interact with, and make an effort to know them.