عندما تحصل على الذهاب صعبة, يستدير!

التون جون هو الحق, آسف هي أصعب كلمة. فمن الصعب أن نعترف بأن أحدا لم يكن خطأ. الأصعب هو العثور على الطريق إلى الأمام, وسيلة لتصحيح الأخطاء المرء الماضية. وغالبا ما ينطوي على التراجع.

ولكن عندما يتعلق الأمر القرارات التجارية الصعبة التي يرأسها, قد يكون التراجع في كثير من الأحيان الشيء الوحيد الذي فعله. فمن المنطقي لخفض المزيد من الخسائر عندما يكون هناك جدوى من رمي المال الجيد بعد سيئة. جهود احتواء هذه هي أحداث روتينية في معظم المؤسسات.

اكبر جهد خسارة الاحتواء التي كان لي مصلحة شخصية في حدث في الولايات المتحدة في أوائل التسعينات. لقد بدأت ألاحظ تصعيدها مقلق في غرفة فندق في واشنطن العاصمة. كنت مندوب الطلاب في المؤتمر السنوي للجمعية الفيزيائية الأمريكية (APS). وعلى الرغم من الجو APS سعيد (حيث تجد العديد من طلاب الدراسات العليا مواضع في المستقبل) وقبل الكرز زهر الطقس الجميل, كنت رجلا قلقا لأنني قد رأيت مجرد إعلان تلفزيوني أن قال, “عشرة مليارات دولار لمعجل الجسيمات??!! ما هيك هو ذلك بأي شكل من الأشكال?”

وكان المشروع عشرة مليارات دولار لهجوم ما يسمى الموصلية سوبر مصادم (SSC) في ولاية تكساس, الذي أغلقت في نهاية المطاف في 1993. وجاء إلغاء على الرغم من الاستثمار الأولي الضخم من نحو ملياري دولار.

لي, هذا الإلغاء يعني أن أكثر من ألفي علماء الفيزياء مشرق وذوي الخبرة من شأنه أن تبحث عن وظائف الحق في وقت دخلت سوق العمل. يمثل هذا القلق مصلحة شخصية لي في المشروع; ولكن الأثر الإنساني لهذا التراجع الضخم كان أعمق بكثير. انها عجلت ركود طفيف في أجزاء من دالاس إلى الجنوب من نهر الثالوث.

تراجع مماثل, وإن كان ذلك على نطاق أصغر بكثير, قد يحدث في المؤسسة الخاصة بك وكذلك. دعونا نقول لكم قررت استثمار مليوني دولار في نظام البرمجيات من أجل حل مشكلة تجارية معينة. نصف مليون دولار في المشروع, كنت أدرك أنه كان حلا خطأ. ماذا تفعل?

قد يبدو واضحا أنه يجب إنقاذ الشركة من مليون ونصف من خلال وقف المشروع. هذا القرار هو بالضبط ما وصلت الحكمة الجماعية على الكونجرس الامريكي في في 1993 فيما يتعلق SSC. ولكنها ليست بهذه البساطة. لا شيء في الحياة الحقيقية هي بهذه البساطة.

تراجع الشركات هو عملية معقدة. له عدة, في كثير من الأحيان مترابطة, الجوانب التي يجب أن تدار بمهارة.

إذا قررت التراجع, ماذا يقول عن الفطنة الخاص بك? فإنه يؤدي إلى رد فعل عنيف من الإدارة العليا متهما لكم سوء الحكم? وبعبارة أخرى, سوف يكون اسمك كثيرا في الوحل التي قد تجد أنه من المستحيل لتأمين فرص العمل ودعم عائلتك?

دعنا نقول انها حقا ليس خطأك وكان لديك حجج صالحة لإقناع الجميع من براءتك. التي من شأنها أن تجعل من السهل بما فيه الكفاية لسحب القابس على المشروع? على الأرجح, انها لن, لأن جميع المشاريع الكبيرة تنطوي على الآخرين, لأي رجل هو جزيرة. ان وقف مشروع في منتصف الطريق من خلال ربما يعني اقالة فريق المشروع كله.

هذه التكلفة البشرية هي شيء علينا أن نكون على بينة من. انها ليست دائما عن دولار وسنت. إذا كنت الروح الرقيقة, سيكون لديك لنقل الفريق الى بعض الدول الاخرى (يحتمل أن تكون غير منتجة) مشروع, وبالتالي تآكل المدخرات التي من شأنها أن قمت المستحقة من وقف المشروع. أليس كان من الأفضل أن استمر مع المشروع الأصلي, محكوم على الرغم من أنه كان?

في معظم الحالات للشركات, أنها سوف تتحول إلى أن تكون الحكمة أن المشاريع اغلاق محكوم. ولكن لا نقلل التكاليف المترتبة على ذلك. لا تحسب أنها دائما من حيث الرقابي, ولكن لديها أبعاد الإنسان، فضلا.

فمن الحكمة بعيدا أبدا للشروع في مشاريع مشكوك فيها. عند يجب الانخراط في مشاريع غير مؤكدة, استعراض الخيارات خروج بعناية. على سبيل المثال, سيكون من الممكن لإعادة تشكيل المشروع في اتجاه مختلف ولكن لا يزال انقاذها?

وإذا ومتى يجب عليك أن أغلقها, تفعل ذلك مع الحسم. تفعل ذلك بمهارة. ولكن الأهم من ذلك, تفعل ذلك مع الحشمة والرحمة.

تعليقات

When the Going Gets Tough, Turn Around!

Elton John is right, sorry is the hardest word. It is hard to admit that one has been wrong. Harder still is to find a way forward, a way to correct one’s past mistakes. It often involves backtracking.

But when it comes to hard-headed business decisions, backtracking may often be the only thing to do. It makes sense to cut further losses when there is little point in throwing good money after bad. Such containment efforts are routine events in most establishments.

The biggest loss containment effort that I had a personal stake in happened in the US in the early nineties. I began noticing its worrying escalation in a hotel room in Washington DC. I was student delegate in the annual conference of the American Physical Society (APS). Despite the happy APS atmosphere (where many graduate students find their future placements) and the beautiful pre-cherry-blossom weather, I was a worried man because I had just seen a TV commercial that said, “Ten billion dollars for a particle accelerator??!! What the heck is it any way?”

The ten billion dollar project under attack was the so-called Superconducting Super Collider (SSC) in Texas, which was eventually shut down in 1993. The cancellation came in spite of a massive initial investment of about two billion dollars.

To me, this cancellation meant that more than two thousand bright and experienced physicists would be looking for jobs right around the time I entered the job market. This concern represented my personal stake in the project; but the human impact of this mammoth backtracking was much deeper. It precipitated a minor recession in the parts of Dallas to the south of the Trinity River.

Similar backtracking, though at a much smaller scale, may happen in your organization as well. Let’s say you decided to invest two million dollars in a software system to solve a particular business problem. Half a million dollars into the project, you realize that it was a wrong solution. What do you do?

It may look obvious that you should save the company a million and a half by stopping the project. This decision is exactly what the collective wisdom of the US Congress arrived at in 1993 regarding the SSC. But it is not that simple. Nothing in real life is that simple.

Corporate backtracking is a complex process. It has multiple, often interconnected, aspects that have to be managed with skill.

If you decide to backtrack, what does it say about your business acumen? Will it trigger a backlash from the top management accusing you of poor judgment? In other words, will your name be so much in the mud that you would find it impossible to secure a job and support your family?

Let’s say it really wasn’t your fault and you had valid arguments to convince everybody of your innocence. Would that make it simple enough to pull the plug on the project? In all probability, it would not, because all big projects involve other people, for no man is an island. Stopping a project half-way through would probably mean sacking the whole project team.

This human cost is something we have to be aware of. It is not always about dollars and cents. If you are kind soul, you would have to move the team to some other (potentially unproductive) project, thereby eroding the savings that would’ve accrued from stopping the project. Wouldn’t it have been better to have continued with the original project, doomed though it was?

In most corporate cases, it will turn out to be wise to shutdown doomed projects. But don’t underestimate the costs involved. They are not always counted in monitory terms, but have human dimensions as well.

It is far wiser never to embark on dubious projects. When you must get involved in uncertain projects, review your exit options carefully. For instance, would it be possible to reshape the project in a different but still salvageable direction?

And if and when you do have to shut them down, do it with decisiveness. Do it with skill. But most importantly, do it with decency and compassion.