分类存档: 创作的

有时我得到多一点的创作和翻译的故事, 回顾一本书, 在报价分享我的想法, 或者写些东西在虚构的一面. 在这里,他们是…

2001: 太空漫游

2001: 太空漫游 是标志性的电影的数字在所有必看的和最好的电影列表之一. 我看着它 1981 因为我的一个朋友推荐一下 . 原来,这个朋友在拉我一快一, 而我是唯一的人在整个电影院. 所以,我独自一人坐在大厅的中心,享受电影. 我几乎跟着英语口语话, 特别是当与一个非印度口音口语. (或, 我应该说,, 说话的时候 没有 一个印度口音). 英国的缺乏没有在电影的开始部分关系, 当然. 但后来我得到了逐步完全由舞蹈的色彩和材料莫名其妙.

继续阅读

反种族主义视频

我发现这个短片在Facebook.

最近, 我面临着来自意想不到的宿舍伊斯兰恐惧症. 表达反穆斯林情绪的人希望我能共享相同的感受. 我没有, 但我没有说话,主要是因为我不想得罪. 我不应该, 我想我也有同感,企图让与更广泛的受众的视频赔罪.

我在马赛大约二十年前,在类似事件的接收端. 我正对大街Mazargues一下午的ATM, 当一个小女孩, 大概五六岁, 拉着我的袖子,并告诉我说,她迷路了,找她 “妈妈。” 我几乎不能讲法语当时, 肯定不是的方式孩子能理解; “你会说英语吗?” 是不会削减它. 我不能一走了之从走失的孩子要么.

所以我, 抱着孩子的手,拼命地四处寻找帮助,, 几乎恐慌, 当她的妈妈凭空出现, 抢走了她, 给了我一眼,转身离去一言不发给我, 我怀疑打骂小女孩. 我是不是得罪了当时更放心. 我想即使是现在, 我想不出更好的办法走出这种情况. 好, á “谢谢, 绅士” 本来不错, 但谁在乎?

照片由 蒂姆·皮尔斯 cc

凡何去何从?

我们开始了这漫长的系列我的书间距, 定量发展的原则. 本系列, 和相关的电子书, 是书的非技术介绍章节的扩大版 — 什么是我们需要记住,在设计一个交易平台的事情? 为什么它重要的是要了解金融和银行业的大图? 希望, 这些职位给你它的味道在这里. 如果您想保留系列得心应手的副本, 您可以购买并下载 制作精美的电子书 版本.

Further steps

我们通过银行的结构,从充满异国情调和结构​​性交易的角度去. 我们谈到了各办事处 (前台, 中台和后台) 并指出了工作机会的数量范围内的专业人士. 银行的组织结构是处理行业的动态生命周期的设备.

如果银行的结构是类似的空间组织, 行业的生命周期是时间变化; 他们的关系是这样的铁轨和列车. 我们花了相当多的时间在行业的前端办公和中台球队之间的流动, 如何交易获得批准, 处理, 监测, 结算及托管. 每个团队都有自己的观点和工作模式,帮助他们有效地执行任务.

贸易前景是我们谈到的最后一个重大课题. 正如我们所看到, 这些观点是基于这样银行的各个团队执行任务. 他们形成行话的背景下, 并且是重要的,如果我们要发展的方式大局的认识银行工作. 最少数, 特别是在初级水平, 鄙视大图. 他们认为它是从他们的实际结婚随机微积分到C的工作分心 . 但对于一个交易者, 在世界上最好的模型是毫无价值的,除非它可以部署. 当我们改变我们的窄, 虽然有效, 专注于手头的工作,我们的作用,在组织的理解和价值, 我们将看到的系统和过程的失败的可能点以及有所作为的机会. 然后,我们将能够更好地把我们的事业,以充分发挥其潜力.

其他贸易前景

在先前的文章, 我们看到了团队如何在各自己的工作模式查看交易活动. 这是最常见的在银行的角度来看仍然是贸易中心. 在此视图中, 交易形成主对象, 这就是为什么所有的常规交易系统跟踪它们的. 把一堆行业一起, 你的投资组合. 放了几个组合在一起, 你有一本书. 整个全球市场的书籍仅仅是一个集合. 这一模式一直行之有效,可能是不同的可能视图之间的最佳平衡. 贸易为中心的视角, 然而,, 只有妥协. 交易大厅的活动,可以从不同的角度观看. 每个角度都有它如何在银行工作的作用.

Other perspectives

从商人的角度来看, 交易活动看起来资产类中心. 根据资产类别与特定交易部门通常是相关联, 他们最喜欢的观点贯穿了模式和产品. 贸易商, 所有的产品和型号都只是一种工具来赚钱.

IT部门从一个完全不同的视角看待交易的世界. 他们是一个系统为中心的视图, 其中使用出现在两​​个不同的系统相同型号相同的产品,基本上是两个完全不同的野兽. 这种观点并不特别贸易商赞赏, 或者有多少开发者.

有一种观点认为,整个银行赞赏的是高级管理人员的意见, 这是狭义集中于底线. 大老板可以优先事 (无论是产品, 资产类别或系统) 在金钱方面,他们带给股东. 模型和交易通常不可见的从顶部的看法 — 除非, 当然, 流氓交易员对某一特定产品或使用特定模型输了很多钱.

当交易达到市场风险管理, 有在透视了微妙的变化,从贸易层面来看,以投资组合或书平视图. 虽然数学琐碎 (毕竟, 所不同的是聚合的唯一的事), 这种变化在系统设计的影响. 交易平台具有保持健壮的分层组合的结构,以便根据需要在交易周期的后期阶段的各种切割和切断可以使用自然易于处理.

当涉及到财务和成本中心的概念, 贸易是相当多了订票系统. 还, 他们管理交易部和资产类别的成本中心. 任何的交易平台,我们的设计必须提供足够的钩子在系统响应他们的具体要求,以及. 与此密切相关的看法是人力资源的角度来看, 谁决定基于成本中心或团队的水平衡量的底线而言绩效奖励.

中台

受中东Office团队使用的角度来看是一个有趣的. 他们的工作模式是,在第一运行队列的, 先出的方式. 如下图所示的画面, 他们认为行业作为是确认和验证队列的一部分. 当一个新的交易被黄牌警告, 它被压入验证队列从一端. 中东办事处的工作人员从另一端攻击队列, 接受或拒绝每一个条目. 那些认为是良好的进入第二个验证队列. 坏的是在贸易项或可能取消返回交易席位进行修改.

Middle Office perspective

类似的模式采用与市场操作处理,如固定利率, 产生的现金流等. 市场运作有自己的双级队列. 注意,整个流是由交易平台可以促进, 这应该呈现不同的观点的能力. 它提出的数据,基于队列的观点向中间办公室工作人员, 和报告为基础,以市场风险管理团队, 例如, 或贸易为中心的观点大多数其他球队. 有一个基本的把握和健康方面的其它的工作模式是非常重要的,以每队以使它们能够相互通信效率. 这没有什么好无视银行的其余部分的贸易前景. 毕竟, 这种贸易的角度自然演变出多年的反复试验和多年.

关于开发者

不同于金融工程师, 定量的开发人员更以产品为中心. 他们的工作是把定价模式 (的定量工作的输出) 使他们部署和访问贸易商, 销售团队和中台和后台. 其工作的主要单位是一个产品,因为该产品的定义发生变化时, 不管它采用了新的或现有的定价模式, 他们必须将其集成到系统中. 哪怕仅仅是一个产品变量, 他们要实现所有的基础设施和照顾审批流程的下游处理. 为此原因, 工作模式是最有意义的定量开发商以产品为中心.

Quant developer perspective

相比于宽客, 定量开发商更接近日常的日常活动对前台和中台. 在他们看来,行业 (确定唯一的ID) 由于产品实例. 一旦预订, 他们最终在交易平台上的数据库为不同的对象与交易量输入定义的属性. 除了贸易输入, 他们利用市场数据馈送到价格的产品在贸易方式. 该交易平台自带的定价接口,结合行业信息和市场数据. 它还可以运行在他们所谓的批处理模式 — 经常在一天中的特定时间来计算各行业的价格敏感性. 因为它是执行批作业的交易平台, 定量开发商可能照顾的相关资源,如网格计算平台, 市场数据馈送, 交易商数据库等。. 在这方面, 其以产品为中心的角度来看可能会扩散到贸易中心的观点.

如何

如果你是一个定量, 你是在数学或物理的高级学位数学家. 你的工作是基于学术研究和专业, 同行评审出版物. 你从他们把你的输入, 应用自己的强大的智能拿出你认为将工作非常出色的一类产品的随机定价模型. 您还需要在产品的细节. 你的输出, 当然, 自己的定价模型, 或从文学定价模型的实现. 这是您的主要工作单位.

Quant perspective

为了充分利用这个定价模型, 它必须被验证. 然后一组用定价模型产品将被定义和报批. 一旦获得批准, 随着贸易的投入和市场数据的帮助, 每款产品都可以作​​价计入交易平台. 但这些活动感兴趣的定量和势力范围之外. 对他们来说,, 一个产品是如何被实例化到一个行业是相当无关紧要的琐碎. 它只是规定了贸易和市场的投入,以定价模式的问题. 甚至如何不同的产品所派生的机械, 和所有的 “实” 工作中的定价模型进行.

这个角度, 虽然准确,功能性的定量, 是很远,从银行的其余部分的视图中删除, 这就是为什么金融工程师有时有脱节的同业声誉可疑. 问题的关键是没有这么多,他们必须改变他们的观点, 但他们应该明白,有被他们交往其他营业单位持有的其他同样有效的观点, 并努力去了解他们.

贸易前景

本系列文章的最后一部分是对贸易前景. 事实上, 我们的银行和贸易的时空演化的静态结构前面的章节已经在准备这最后一节. 在接下来的几个职位, 我们将看到怎样的宽客, 定量的开发者和中台的专业人士 (其余) 看行业和交易活动. 他们的意见很重要,需要在任何交易平台的设计理念,以容纳.

哪里这些观点来自为什么我们需要了解他们? 贸易的观点是基于具体到每一个业务单元的工作模式. 因为哪方面的交易活动的一组专注于, 他们发展的典范, 或心智模式, 这最适合他们.

为了理解, 让我们来看看我们是如何用现代个人电脑的工作. 我们提出了范式是一个办公桌和文件柜. 因此,我们有一个桌面, 文件夹和文件. 他们已经变得如此自然,我们现在,我们无法想象在所有与计算机交互的另一种方式. 互联网, 另一方面, 是建立在东西范例,悬停在美国, 这就是为什么我们 “下”-从IT负载的东西, “最多”-负载的东西进去. 但是,谁开发这种范式的程序员和设计师往往有不同,少为人所知的范例工作,以及; 比如我们的端口,套接字和数据流等.

如果我们不喜欢的工作模式, 我们会发现随之而来的神秘和难以理解的专业术语. 这是尤其如此,如果我们要工作,跨多个业务部门削减具有不同的范例项目.

Trade perspectives

从我们的全球贸易体系进一步说明它用一个例子, 让我们来看看我们是如何确定一个交易. 该金融工程师真的不关心的贸易识别号码; 他们, 这是定价模式,是他们一起工作的基本单位. 定量开发商, 另一方面, 想标识符被什么东西每笔交易的唯一. àstructurer想有可能出现的子ID的各个子行业构成结构的行业一个标识引用. 虽然这个要求是很容易实现, 软件体系结构还能够迎合从交易前台和中台的取消和修正的要求. 当一个结构被修改或取消,会发生什么? 我们怎么发现和处理在一切有关行业? 这个问题几乎总是结束需要一个链接ID在数据库. 交易数量修订对现场交易创建的文档和操作人员的问题,以及, 谁可能需要连接各个行业的另一个一成不变的外部参考号. 审计署将要求所有的完整性和不能消除, 苛刻的数据库记录重复. 我们可以看到, 的观点和各业务单位的工作范式转化为经常互相冲突的程序设计要求在最基本的层面. 正是出于这个原因,我们将密切关注行业的观点在这个系列的以下职位.

摘要 — 创贸易的人生

与我们已经来到了我们的交易周期讨论结束. 我们谈到了交易前的活动,如对定价模型的定量工作, 其验证由一个独立的团队. 在每笔交易, 我们的销售和信用检查活动. 一旦交易开始, 它经历了中东办事处初步审定工作, 其次是常规处理由大量团队, 如限制监测和报告市场风险管理, 估值检查和准备金的计算产品控制, 与对冲平衡和风险管理交易部门. 在贸易的寿命终止期, 这是后台团队活跃在定居点和报告.

Trade lifecycle summary

正如我们所看到, 大多数活动, 尤其是在成立之初,并达到贸易的终止, 交易平台在调解的过程和输送从一个业务部门的交易,以在未来至关重要的作用. 但这些不同的业务部门都有自己固定的工作范例工作, 他们对什么是贸易视角或者他们的工作包括可以从另一个完全不同的. 由于交易平台的削减多个团队, 它必须满足这些不同的观点, 这是这个系列的开始下一个帖子的最后一节.

Category Archives: Creative

At times I get a little more creating and translate a story, review a book, share my thoughts on a quote, or write something on the fictional side. Here they are…

Anti-Racism Video

I found this short video on Facebook.

Recently, I was confronted with islamophobia from unexpected quarters. The person expressing the anti-muslim sentiments expected me to share the same feelings. I did not, but I didn’t speak up mainly because I didn’t want to offend. I should not have, and I thought I would share the video with a wider audience in an attempt to make amends.

I was at the receiving end of a similar incident some twenty years ago in Marseille. I was walking to the ATM on Avenue de Mazargues one afternoon, when a little girl, probably about five or six years old, tugged on my sleeve and told me that she was lost and was looking for her “maman.” I could barely speak French at that time, certainly not in a manner a child could understand; “Parlez-vous anglais?” wasn’t going to cut it. I couldn’t just walk away from the lost child either.

So there I was, holding the child’s hand and desperately looking around for help, almost panicking, when her mom appeared out of nowhere, snatched her, gave me dirty look and walked away without a word to me, and I suspect scolding the little girl. I was more relieved than offended at that time. I guess even now, I cannot think of a better way out of that situation. Well, a “merci, monsieur” would have been nice, but who cares?

Photo by Tim Pierce cc

Where to Go from Here?

We started this long series with a pitch for my book, Principles of Quantitative Development. This series, and the associated eBook, is an expanded version of the non-technical introductory chapters of the book — what are the things we need to keep in mind while designing a trading platform? Why is it important to know the big picture of finance and banking? Hopefully, these posts have given you a taste of it here. If you would keep a copy of the series handy, you can purchase and download the beautifully crafted eBook version.

Further steps

We went through the structure of the bank from the exotic and structured trading perspective. We talked about the various offices (Front Office, Middle Office and Back Office) and pointed out the career opportunities for quantitative professionals within. The organizational structure of the bank is the apparatus that processes the dynamic lifecycle of trades.

If the structure of the bank is akin to the spatial organization, the lifecycle of the trade is the temporal variation; their relation is like that of the rails and the trains. We spent quite a bit of time on the flow of the trades between the front office and middle office teams, how the trades get approved, processed, monitored, settled and managed. Each of these teams has their own perspective or work paradigm that helps them carry out their tasks efficiently.

Trade Perspectives was the last major topic we touched upon. As we saw, these perspectives are based on the way the various teams of the bank perform their tasks. They form the backdrop of the jargon, and are important if we are to develop a big-picture understanding of the way a bank works. Most quants, especially at junior levels, despise the big picture. They think of it as a distraction from their real work of marrying stochastic calculus to C++. But to a trader, the best model in the world is worthless unless it can be deployed. When we change our narrow, albeit effective, focus on the work at hand to an understanding of our role and value in the organization, we will see the possible points of failure of the systems and processes as well as the opportunities to make a difference. We will then be better placed to take our careers to its full potential.

Other Trade Perspectives

In the previous posts, we saw how various teams view the trading activity in their own work paradigm. The perspective that is most common in the bank is still trade-centric. In this view, trades form the primary objects, which is why all conventional trading systems keep track of them. Put bunch of trades together, you get a portfolio. Put a few portfolios together, you have a book. The whole Global Markets is merely a collection of books. This paradigm has worked well and is probably the best compromise between different possible views. The trade-centric perspective, however, is only a compromise. The activities of the trading floor can be viewed from different angles. Each perspective has its role in how the bank works.

Other perspectives

From the viewpoint of traders, the trading activity looks asset-class centric. Typically associated with a particular trading desks based on asset classes, their favorite view cuts across models and products. To traders, all products and models are merely tools to make profit.

IT department views the trading world from a completely different perspective. Theirs is a system-centric view, where the same product using the same model appearing in two different systems is basically two completely different beasts. This view is not particularly appreciated by traders, quants or quant developers.

One view that the whole bank appreciates is the view of the senior management, which is narrowly focussed on the bottom line. The big bosses can prioritise things (whether products, asset classes or systems) in terms of the money they bring to the shareholders. Models and trades are typically not visible from their view from the top — unless, of course, rogue traders lose a lot of money on a particular product or by using a particular model.

When the trade reaches the Market Risk Management, there is a subtle change in the perspective from a trade-level view to a portfolio or book level view. Though mathematically trivial (after all, the difference is only a matter of aggregation), this change has implications in the system design. The trading platform has to maintain a robust hierarchical portfolio structure so that various dicing and slicing as required in the later stages of the trade lifecycle can be handled with natural ease.

When it comes to Finance and their notions of cost centers, the trade is pretty much out of the booking system. Still, they manage trading desks and asset classes cost centers. Any trading platform we design has to provide adequate hooks in the system to respond to their specific requirements as well. Closely related to this view is the perspective of Human Resources, who decide incentives based on performance measured in terms of the bottom lines at cost-center or team levels.

Middle Office

The perspective employed by the Middle Office team is an interesting one. Their work paradigm is that of queues running in a first-in, first-out mode. As shown in the picture below, they think of trades as being part of validation and verification queues. When a new trade is booked, it gets pushed into the validation queue from one end. The Middle Office staff attacks the queue from the other end, accepting or rejecting each entry. The ones deemed good get into a second verification queue. The bad ones are returned to the trading desks for modifications in the trade entries or possible cancellations.

Middle Office perspective

A similar paradigm is employed in dealing with market operations such as fixing rates, generating cash flow etc. Market operations have their own two-stage queues. Note that the whole flow is to be facilitated by the trading platform, which should have the capability to render different views. It presents a queue-based view of the data to the middle office staff, and a report-based view to the Market Risk Management team, for instance, or a trade-centric view to most of the other teams. It is important to each team to have a basic grasp and healthy respect for the work paradigm of the other so that they can communicate efficiently with each other. It is no good ignoring the trade perspectives of the rest of the bank. After all, such trade perspectives evolved naturally out of years and years of trial and error.

Quant Developers

Unlike quants, quantitative developers are more product-centric. Their job is to take the pricing models (the output of the quant effort) and make them deployable and accessible to the traders, sales teams and the middle and back offices. Their primary unit of work is a product because when the product definition changes, regardless of whether it uses a new or an existing pricing model, they have to integrate it into the system. Even if it is merely a product variant, they have to implement all the infrastructure and take care of the approval processes for its downstream handling. For this reason, the work paradigm that makes most sense to a quantitative developer is product-centric.

Quant developer perspective

Compared to the quants, the quantitative developers are closer to the day-to-day activities on Front Office and Middle Office. They view the trades (identified by unique IDs) as instantiations of products. Once booked, they end up in the trading platform database as distinct objects with attributes defined in trade inputs. In addition to trade input, they use market data feeds to price a product in the form of a trade. The trading platform comes with a pricing interface which combines trade information and market data. It also runs in what they call batch mode — regularly at a given time of the day to compute prices and sensitivities of all trades. Since it is the trading platform that performs the batch job, the quantitative developers may take care of the associated resources like the grid computing platforms, market data feeds, trade databases etc. In this respect, their product-centric perspective may get diffused into a trade-centric view.


If you are a quant, you are a mathematician with an advanced degree in mathematics or physics. Your work is based on both academic research and professional, peer-reviewed publications. You take your inputs from them, apply your own formidable intelligence to come up with a stochastic pricing model that you think will work exceptionally well for a class of products. You will also need the details of the products. Your output is, of course, a pricing model of your own, or an implementation of a pricing model from the literature. This is your primary work unit.

Quant perspective

In order to make use of this pricing model, it will have to be validated. Then a set of products using the pricing model will be defined and submitted for approval. Once approved, with the help of trade inputs and market data, each of the products can be priced and booked into the trading platform. But such activities are outside the sphere of interest and influence of the quant. To them, how a product is instantiated into a trade is pretty irrelevant and trivial. It is merely a question of specifying the trade and market inputs to the pricing model. Even how various products are derived is mechanical, and all the “real” work is done in the pricing model.

This perspective, though accurate and functional for a quant, is pretty far removed from the view of the rest of the bank, which is why quants sometimes have the dubious reputation of being out of touch with the industry. The point is not so much that they have to change their perspective, but they should appreciate that there are other equally valid perspectives held by other business units they interact with, and make an effort to know them.

Trade Perspectives

The last section of this post series is on trade perspectives. In fact, our earlier sections on the static structure of the bank and the temporal evolution of the trade have been in preparation to this last section. In the next couple of posts, we will see how the quants, quantitative developers and the middle office professionals (and the rest) see trades and trading activity. Their views are important and need to be accommodated in the design philosophy of any trading platform.

Where do these perspectives come from and why do we need to know about them? Trade perspectives are based on the work paradigm specific to each business unit. Because of what aspect of the trading activity a group focuses on, they evolve a paradigm, or a mental model, that works best for them.

In order to understand, let’s take a look at how we work with a modern personal computer. The paradigm we are presented with is one of a desk and a filing cabinet. So we have a desktop, folders and files. They have become so natural for us now that we cannot imagine another way of interacting with a computer at all. The Internet, on the other hand, is built on a paradigm of something that hovers over us, which is why we “down”-load stuff from it and “up”-load stuff into it. But the programmers and architects who develop such paradigms often do work with different and less known paradigms as well; for instance we have ports and sockets and streams and so on.

If we do not appreciate the work paradigm, we will find the jargon that comes with it mysterious and incomprehensible. This is especially true if we are to work on projects that cut across multiple business units with differing paradigms.

Trade perspectives

To illustrate it further with an example from our trading world, let’s look at how we identify a trade. The quants really do not care about the trade identification number; for them, it is the pricing model that is the basic unit that they work with. The quantitative developer, on the other hand, would like the identifier to be something unique per trade. A structurer would like to have one identifying reference for the trade with possible sub IDs for the individual sub trades that make up a structure. While this requirement is easy enough to implement, the software architecture also has to cater to trade cancellation and amendment requirements from Front Office and Middle Office. What happens when a structure is modified or canceled? How do we find and deal withall the related trades? This problem will almost invariably ends up requiring a link ID in the database. Trade number amendments on a live deal create problem for documentation and operations staff as well, who might demand another immutable external reference number attached each trade. Audit will require integrity and indelibility on everything, demanding database record duplication. As we can see, the perspectives and work paradigms of each business unit translate to often conflicting requirements on the program design at a fundamental level. It is for this reason that we will take close look at the trade perspectives in the following posts of this series.

Summary — Life of a Trade

With that we have come to the end of our discussion on trade lifecycle. We talked about pre-trade activities such as the quant work on pricing model, and its validation by an independent team. On a per-trade basis, we have the sales and credit check activities. Once a trade is initiated, it goes through the initial validation work by Middle Office, followed by regular processing by a large number of teams, such as Market Risk Management for limits monitoring and reporting, Product Control for valuation checks and reserve calculations, and trading desks for hedge rebalancing and risk management. During the termination phase of the life of a trade, it is the back office teams that are active in settlements and reporting.

Trade lifecycle summary

As we saw, most of the activities, especially during the inception and up to the termination of a trade, the trading platform plays a crucial role in mediating the processes and conveying the trade from one business unit to the next. But these different business units work with their own entrenched work paradigms, and their perspective on what a trade is or what their work involves can be radically different from one another. Since the trading platform cuts across multiple teams, it has to cater to these differing perspectives, which is the last section of this series starting the next post.

How to Take Beautiful Pictures

I recently learned a technique in portrait photography from this artist friend of mine. He told me that one could use backlight to create beautiful portraits. I had always thought that backlight was a bad thing, which was something my dad taught me. I trusted him. After all, he used to take impressive portraits with his faithful Yashica Electro 35. Later on, after acquiring my first SLR, I spent a lot of time understanding the merits of TTL (Through-The-Lens) metering and fill-flash to counter the evils of backlight.

So when Stéphane told me that the best way to capture nice portraits is to have the sun behind my subject, I was shocked. But experience had taught me to always pay attention to Stéphane. He used to take better pictures with a drugstore paper camera than I could with my prized Nikon SLR. He was right, of course. With the sun behind them, your subject doesn’t have to squint and screw up their eyes against the light. They are less distracted and tend to smile more readily. And, most importantly, their backlit hair looks magical.

To do backlight portraits right, however, you have to be careful about a couple of things. First, make sure that you don’t have direct sunlight on your lens, which will create unseemly flares. I’m sure the next time I meet him, Stéphane will teach me how to use flares to my advantage. But for now, I would avoid direct light on the lens. Look for a spot in the shade. For instance, look for a tree casting a shadow. Don’t try to stand in the shadow, but try to get the shadow on your face, which is where the camera is likely to be. Get the tree in between you and the sun. How do you do it in practice? Just turn around and look at the shadow of your head; if it is hidden within another bigger shadow, you are safe. If not, move.

Stephane in CassisThe second thing to pay close attention to is the background. It cannot be too bright, or the average metering of your camera will underexpose your subject’s face. (Again, another dictum the creative photographer will probably scoff at). Look at the portrait of Stéphane himself, taken by me the day after I got the revelation about backlight. You can see my reflection on his glasses, trying to crouch low so as to get the dark hill in the frame rather than the bright beach sand. I think this is a nice photo, at least technically. Stéphane looked at it and complained that he looked like a James Bond villain!

Kavita in Carnoux
Here is a backlit portrait of my lovely wife. See how the framing includes the dark shrubbery in the background giving the nice contrast and brightness to the face. All right, I will admit it, the composition was probably a lucky accident. But still, I wouldn’t have attempted this snap unless I knew that backlight could be good. So be bold, experiment with backlight. I’m sure you will like the results.

Here are some dramatic backlight portraits by a gifted photographer.