标记档案: 时间机器

失踪事件和照片在iPhoto?

让我猜猜 – 你有你的新的iMac. 你有最近的Time Machine备份您的Time Capsule. 建立新的iMac是可笑容易 — 只是点到备份. 几个小时后, 新的iMac就像旧Mac, 一直到墙纸和浏览器历史记录. 你摇动你的头在怀疑和对自己说:, “男人, 这件事情只是工作! 这是它的方式被认为是!”

几天后, 你火了你的iPhoto. 它说,它需要更新数据库或任何. 无汗. 只需几分钟 — 新款iMac是快的离谱. 喂 — 什么是错的最后四项赛事? 为什么他们没有照片在其中? 好, 其实, 他们这样做有什么, 你可以看到缩略图第二, 然后他们消失. 这些事件似乎有照片的权利数量. 他们甚至连相机型号和曝光数据.

你挠你的头和对自己说, “好, 可能是Time Machine备份没有正确地解包或其他. 可能是版本升级搞砸了一些数据. 无汗. 我可以用时间机器,并找到合适的iPhoto图书馆。” 你火起来的时间机器 — 可能首次即时. 您恢复iPhoto图库的最后一个良好的备份到你的桌面, 并再次启动的iPhoto. 再次数据库更新. 焦急等待. 嘿嘿, 该死的事件仍下落不明.

恐慌开始设置. 谷歌狂答案. 行, 按住Option和Command键, 并推出的iPhoto. 重新生成缩略图. 修库. 重建数据库. 还, 该 ****** 事件拒绝回来.

我怎么知道这一切? 因为这正是我所做的. 我是幸运的,虽然. 我设法收回事件. 我恍然大悟,问题是不是与恢复过程, 也不iPhoto中的版本更新. 这是Time Machine备份过程 — 备份是不完整的. 我有旧的Mac和老iPhoto图库完好. 所以,我到新的iMac复制的旧库 (直, 通过网络; 不是从Time Machine备份). 然后我开始iPhoto中的新机. 必要的数据库更新后, 所有的活动和照片显示了. 表示不快!

那么究竟是什么出了问题? 看来,Time Machine不备份iPhoto图库正确,如果iPhoto中打开 (according to Apple). 更确切地说, 最近导入的照片和事件可能不会被备份. 此错误 (或 “特点”) 是 报道 更早 在详细地讨论.

我以为我会分享我的经验,在这里,因为它是重要的信息块,可能节省的人一些时间, 可能还有一些珍贵照片. 我觉得这是虚伪的苹果吹捧的时光机器,因为所有的备份解决方案的母亲与此明显错误. 毕竟, 您的照片是最珍贵的数据,. 如果他们不进行备份,并正确迁移, 为什么使用Time Machine打扰可言?

为了重温:

  1. 如果你发现你的照片集迁移到你闪亮的新的iMac后不完整 (使用Time Machine备份), 不要惊慌,如果你仍然有你的旧的Mac.
  2. 从iPhoto正常退出两台计算机上.
  3. 从旧的Mac复制旧的iPhoto图库转移到新的, 后从iPhoto在两台机器上正确地退出.
  4. 重新启动iPhoto中的新Mac和享受.

如何防止这种情况的发生

从旧的Mac最终Time Machine备份之前,, 确保的iPhoto未运行. 事实上, 它可能是从所有应用程序值得考虑退出决赛之前快照.

如果你想加倍确定, 考虑另一种自动化的备份解决方案,只为您的iPhoto图库. 我用碳复制克隆.

照片维克多·斯文森

缓慢的Time Machine使用Time Capsule – 解决!

让我猜猜 — 你买了一个新的时间胶囊, 设置您的Time Machine备份的家庭照片和家庭视频半个TB级, 并且希望它是 “免提” 从那时起? 然后你得到这个进度条表示,将采取 563 天 (or some such ridiculous number) 同步?

你的下一个步骤是拖网谷歌, 这将显示你,你并不孤单. 你会试图磁盘工具来修复您的Time Capsule的磁盘, 禁用Spotlight索引, 直接连接你的Mac TC等. 没有什么帮助,到目前为止? 不要害怕, 这里就是你需要做的.

首先, 从你的Mac系统首选项启动你的软件更新窗格.

Mac Software Update
确保您有 此更新, 其中专门讨论这个问题,.
Mac Software Update

下面是苹果公司说,有关此更新:

关于OS X狮子 10.7.5 补充更新
在OS X v10.7.5补充更新,建议运行OS X Lion中的所有用户v10.7.5,包括以下修复:

  • 解决了可能导致Time Machine备份需要很长时间才能完成的问题
  • 解决了防止与开发者ID签名的某些应用程序启动问题

如果未安装, 点击 “预定检查” 标签, 并安装它. 需要注意的是它可以被安装为捆绑其他更新. 所以, 只要你的Mac达最新, 你也不必太担心丢失这个特殊的更新.

在所有的可能性, 此更新是所有你需要修复你的慢时光机器上的Time Capsule验证, 重新启动计算机并启动时间机器. 给它几分钟,看看速度是可以接受的 (关于 10-20 MB第二有线千兆网络).

如果它不是, 或者,如果您有其他原因无法安装更新, 还有一些其他的这些技巧,你可以试试.

  • QuickSilver and Dropbox icons退出可索引文件系统的应用. Dropbox的, QuickSilver的等. 发现它们在你的菜单栏. 右键点击图标,并选择退出.
  • Finder option确保查找未设置为显示所有尺寸. 打开Finder窗口, 按Cmd-J调出这些选项, 并确保计算所有尺寸为 勾选 (尽管事实上它显示选中在这里截图).

    需要注意的是它不是按照通常的搜索喜好, 你会使用Cmd的,我带了.

  • Kill Finder最后要尝试是杀死并重新启动搜索器. 点击苹果标志上的任何菜单栏, 选择 “强制退出…” 弹出窗口显示, 选择Finder和打的重新启动按钮

最后一步 (杀死并重新执行搜索) 已经被吹捧为东西肯定能行. 所以,不要给它一个尝试,如果没有别的帮助. 杀死并重新执行查找另一种方法是发出命令 killall Finder 从终端窗口.

如果这些建议没有工作, 你是非常不走运. 目前还有一件事你可以尝试, 这可能将无法正常工作. 这当然没有, 对我来说, 但给我的感觉,我是 “定影” 问题.

连接您的Time Capsule (TC) 直接到您的Mac. 为了做到这一点, 请按照下列步骤.

  • 第一, 您的TC连接到您的网络, 并使用Airport实用工具对其进行设置.
  • 从网络断开连接. (断开以太网电缆。)
  • 从Mac断开以太网电缆, 并连接TC (的三个输出端口中的一个) 到你的Mac.

Tag Archives: time machine

1041815367_880b482111_imac

Missing Events and Photos in iPhoto?

Let me guess – you got your new iMac. You had a recent Time Machine backup on your Time Capsule. Setting up the new iMac was ridiculously easy — just point to the backup. A few hours later, your new iMac is just like your old Mac, right down to the wall paper and browser history. You shake your head in disbelief and say to yourself, “Man, this thing just works! This is the way it is supposed to be!”

A couple of days later, you fire up your iPhoto. It says it needs to update the database or whatever. No sweat. Just a couple of minutes — the new iMac is ridiculously fast. Hullo — what is wrong with the last four events? How come they have no photos in them? Well, actually, they do have something, you can see the thumbnails for a second, and then they disappear. The events seem to have the right number of photos. They even list the camera model and exposure data.

You scratch your head and say to yourself, “Well, may be the Time Machine backup didn’t unpack properly or whatever. May be the version upgrade messed up some data. No sweat. I can use the Time Machine and find the right iPhoto Library.” You fire up the Time Machine — probably for the first time for real. You restore the last good backup of the iPhoto Library to your desktop, and launch iPhoto again. Database update again. Anxious wait. Hey, the damned events are still missing.

Panic begins to set in. Mad Google for answers. Ok, hold down the Option and Command keys, and launch iPhoto. Regenerate thumbnails. Repair the library. Rebuild the Database. Still, the ****** events refuse to come back.

How do I know all this? Because this is exactly what I did. I was lucky though. I managed to recover the events. It dawned on me that the problem was not with the restore process, nor the version update of iPhoto. It was the Time Machine backup process — the backup was incomplete. I had the old Mac and the old iPhoto library intact. So I copied the old library over to the new iMac (directly, over the network; not from the Time Machine backup). I then started iPhoto on the new machine. After the necessary database update, all the events and photos showed up. Phew!

So what exactly went wrong? It appears that Time Machine doesn’t backup the iPhoto Library properly if iPhoto is open (according to Apple). More precisely, the recently imported photos and events may not get backed up. This bug (or “feature”) was reported earlier and discussed in detail.

I thought I would share my experience here because it was important piece of information and might save somebody some time, and possibly some valuable photos. And I feel it is disingenuous of Apple to tout the Time Machine as the mother of all backup solutions with this glaring bug. After all, your photos are among the most precious of your data. If they are not backed up and migrated properly, why bother with Time Machine at all?

To recap:

  1. If you find your photo collection incomplete after migrating to your shiny new iMac (using a Time Machine backup), don’t panic if you still have your old Mac.
  2. Exit gracefully from iPhoto on both the machines.
  3. Copy your old iPhoto Library from the old Mac over to the new one, after properly exiting from iPhoto on both machines.
  4. Restart iPhoto on the new Mac and enjoy.

How to prevent this from happening

Before the final Time Machine backup from your old Mac, ensure that iPhoto is not running. In fact, it may be worth exiting from all applications before taking the final snapshot.

If you want to be doubly sure, consider another automated backup solution just for your iPhoto Library. I use Carbon Copy Cloner.

Photo by Victor Svensson

Slow Time Machine with Time Capsule – SOLVED!

Let me guess — you bought a new Time Capsule, set up your Time Machine to back up half a terabyte of family photos and home videos, and expected it to be “hands-free” from then on? Then you got this progress bar saying that it will take 563 days (or some such rediculous number) to sync?

Your next step was to trawl Google, which would have shown you that you are not alone. You would have tried disk utility to repair your Time Capsule disk, disabled Spotlight indexing, connected your Mac directly to TC etc. Nothing has helped so far? Fear not, here is what you need to do.

First of all, launch your software update pane from your system preferences on your Mac.
Mac Software Update
Ensure that you have this update, which specifically addresses this problem.
Mac Software Update

Here is what Apple says about this update:

About OS X Lion 10.7.5 Supplemental Update
The OS X v10.7.5 Supplemental Update is recommended for all users running OS X Lion v10.7.5 and includes the following fixes:

  • Resolves an issue that may cause Time Machine backups to take a very long time to complete
  • Addresses an issue that prevents certain applications signed with a Developer ID from launching

If it is not installed, click on the “Scheduled Check” tab, and install it. Note that it may be installed as bundled with other updates. So, as long as your Mac is up-to-date, you don’t have to worry too much about missing this particular update.

In all likelihood, this update is all that you will need to fix your slow Time Machine on Time Capsule To verify, restart your machine and launch Time Machine. Give it a few minutes and see if the speed is acceptable (about 10-20 MB a second on your wired Gigabit network).

If it is not, or if you have other reasons for not installing the update, there are a few other these tips you can try.

  • QuickSilver and Dropbox iconsQuit applications that may be indexing the file system. Dropbox, QuickSilver etc.  Find them on your menu bar. Right click on the icons and select Quit.
  • Finder optionEnsure that Finder is not set to show all size. Open a Finder window, hit Cmd-J to bring up these options, and ensure that the Calculate All Sizes is not ticked (despite the fact that it is shown ticked in the screenshot here).

    Note that it is not under the usual Finder preferences, which you would bring up using Cmd-I.

  • Kill FinderThe last thing to try is to kill and relaunch Finder. Click on the Apple logo on any menu bar, select “Force Quit…” to bring up the window show, select Finder and hit the Relaunch button

The last step (of killing and relaunching Finder) has been touted as something that definitely works. So do give it a try if nothing else helps. Another way of killing and relaunching Finder is to issue the command killall Finder from a terminal window.

If these tips didn’t work, you are pretty much out of luck. There are still one more thing you could try, which probably will not work. It certainly didn’t, for me, but gave me a sense that I was “fixing” the problem.

Connect your Time Capsule (TC) directly to your Mac. In order to do this, follow these steps.

  • First, connect your TC to your network, and set it up using the Airport Utility.
  • Disconnect it from your network. (Disconnect the ethernet cable.)
  • Disconnect the ethernet cable from your Mac, and connect TC (one of the three output ports) to your Mac.