الوسم المحفوظات: لجنة الهدنة العسكرية

MySQL على ماك OSX يوسمايت

إذا كنت تستخدم XAMPP لعمل ديف على ماك الخاص بك في المنزل, وتحديث نظام التشغيل الخاص بك إلى يوسمايت, قد يكون مؤقتا بالأسى عندما تجد أن MySQLd الخاص بك لا البدء. الإصلاح هو بسيطة الى حد كبير.

تحرير /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/xampp. (قد تضطر إلى استخدام sudo للقيام بذلك.)

بحث:

$XAMPP_ROOT/bin/mysql.server start > /dev/null &

وإضافة unset DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH على أعلى من ذلك. ينبغي أن تبدو وكأنها:

unset DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH
$XAMPP_ROOT/bin/mysql.server start > /dev/null &

إعادة تشغيل MySQLd وأنت يجب أن تعمل.

أحداث وصور المفقودين في برنامج iPhoto?

اسمحوا لي أن أخمن – حصلت إيماك الجديد. كان لديك آلة الزمن احتياطية حديثة على جهاز الكبسولة الزمنية. إنشاء وإيماك الجديد سهل يبعث على السخرية — نشير فقط إلى النسخ الاحتياطي. وبعد بضع ساعات, آي ماك الجديد الخاص بك هو تماما مثل ماك القديم, وصولا إلى ورقة جدار ومتصفح التاريخ. كنت تهز رأسك في الكفر وتقول لنفسك, “رجل, هذا الشيء يعمل فقط! هذه هي الطريقة التي يفترض أن تكون!”

وقبل بضعة أيام في وقت لاحق, كنت اطلاق النار حتى فوتو بك. وتقول انها تحتاج لتحديث قاعدة البيانات أو أيا كان. لا عرق. فقط بضع دقائق — إيماك الجديد هو سريع يبعث على السخرية. أهلا وسهلا — ما هو الخطأ مع الأحداث الأربعة الماضية? كيف تأتي ليست لديهم صور في نفوسهم? جيد, في الواقع, لديهم شيء, يمكنك مشاهدة الصور المصغرة لثانية واحدة, ثم يختفون. يبدو أن الأحداث أن يكون العدد الصحيح من الصور. حتى أنها قائمة على طراز الكاميرا وبيانات التعرض.

كنت الصفر رأسك وتقول لنفسك, “جيد, قد يكون لم آلة احتياطية الوقت لا فك صحيح أو أيا كان. قد تكون ترقية النسخة افسدت بعض البيانات. لا عرق. يمكنني استخدام آلة الزمن والبحث عن الحق في مكتبة iPhoto.” كنت اطلاق النار حتى آلة الزمن — ربما للمرة الأولى لريال مدريد. استعادة النسخة الاحتياطية جيدة الأخير من مكتبة iPhoto إلى سطح المكتب, وإطلاق برنامج iPhoto مرة أخرى. تحديث قاعدة البيانات مرة أخرى. قلق الانتظار. مهلا, لا تزال الأحداث اللعينة مفقود.

يبدأ الذعر وضع في. جنون جوجل عن أجوبة. طيب, باستمرار خيار ومفاتيح القيادة, وإطلاق برنامج iPhoto. تجديد الصور المصغرة. إصلاح المكتبة. إعادة بناء قاعدة البيانات. لا يزال, و ****** الأحداث ترفض العودة.

كيف لي أن أعرف كل هذا? لأن هذا هو بالضبط ما فعلته. كنت محظوظا رغم. تمكنت من استعادة الأحداث. اتضح لي أن المشكلة ليست مع عملية الاستعادة, ولا التحديث نسخة من برنامج iPhoto. وكانت هذه العملية آلة النسخ الاحتياطي في الوقت — كان النسخ الاحتياطي غير مكتمل. كان لي من العمر ماك ومكتبة فوتو القديمة على حالها. لذلك أنا نسخها المكتبة القديمة لأكثر من إيماك جديدة (مباشرة, عبر الشبكة; ليس من آلة النسخ الاحتياطي في الوقت). وبعد ذلك بدأ برنامج iPhoto على الجهاز الجديد. بعد تحديث قاعدة البيانات اللازمة, وأظهرت كل الأحداث والصور حتى. تفو!

ذلك ما حدث بالضبط الخطأ? يبدو أن آلة الزمن لا احتياطية مكتبة فوتو صحيح إذا فوتو مفتوح (according to Apple). أكثر دقة, قد لا تحصل على ايد الصور والأحداث المستوردة مؤخرا. هذا الخطأ (أو “ميزة”) و ذكرت في وقت سابق و ناقش بالتفصيل.

ظننت انني سوف حصة تجربتي هنا لأنه كان قطعة مهمة من المعلومات وربما انقاذ شخص بعض الوقت, وربما بعض الصور القيمة. وأشعر أنه مخادع من آبل في الترويج آلة الزمن كما أم كل حلول النسخ الاحتياطي مع هذا الخطأ الفاضح. بعد كل شيء, صورك هي من أثمن البيانات الخاصة بك. إذا لم تكن مدعومة من أجلها وهاجر صحيح, لماذا عناء مع آلة الزمن على الإطلاق?

إلى خلاصة:

  1. إذا وجدت جمع الصورة غير مكتملة بعد الهجرة إلى إيماك الخاص بك لامعة جديدة (باستخدام آلة النسخ الاحتياطي في الوقت), لا تقلق إذا كنت لا تزال لديها ماك القديم.
  2. خروج بأمان من iPhoto على كل من آلات.
  3. نسخ مكتبة iPhoto القديمة من ماك القديم لأكثر من واحد جديد, بعد الخروج بشكل صحيح من iPhoto على الجهازين.
  4. إعادة تشغيل برنامج iPhoto على ماك الجديد والتمتع.

كيفية منع هذا من الحدوث

قبل النهائي آلة الزمن احتياطية من ماك القديم, تأكد من عدم تشغيل برنامج iPhoto. في الواقع, قد يكون من المفيد الخروج من جميع التطبيقات قبل أخذ اللقطة النهائية.

إذا كنت تريد أن تتأكد من مضاعفة, النظر في حل آخر النسخ الاحتياطي الآلي لمجرد مكتبة iPhoto الخاص. أنا استخدم نسخة كربونية شبيه.

صور بواسطة فيكتور سفينسون

آلة الزمن بطيئة مع الكبسولة الزمنية – حل!

اسمحوا لي أن أخمن — قمت بشراء الكبسولة الزمنية الجديدة, إنشاء آلة الزمن لعمل نسخة احتياطية من نصف تيرابايت من الصور العائلية وأشرطة الفيديو المنزلية, ويتوقع أن يكون “حر اليدين” من ذلك الحين فصاعدا? ثم حصلت على هذا الشريط التقدم قائلا ان الامر سيستغرق 563 أيام (or some such ridiculous number) لمزامنة?

وكانت الخطوة التالية لالجر جوجل, الذي من شأنه أن يظهر لك أنك لست وحدك. كنت قد حاولت فائدة القرص لإصلاح القرص الكبسولة الزمنية الخاصة بك, أضواء معطلة الفهرسة, ترتبط ماك الخاص بك مباشرة إلى TC الخ. وقد ساعدت لاشيء حتى الآن? لا تخف, هنا هو ما عليك القيام به.

أولا, إطلاق جزء تحديث البرنامج الخاص بك من تفضيلات النظام الخاص بك على جهاز ماكنتوش.

Mac Software Update
تأكد أن لديك هذا التحديث, الذي يتناول على وجه التحديد هذه المشكلة.
Mac Software Update

هنا هو ما تقول أبل حول هذا التحديث:

حول OS X الأسد 10.7.5 تحديث التكميلي
وأوصى OS X v10.7.5 تحديث التكميلي لجميع المستخدمين تشغيل OS X v10.7.5 الأسد ويشمل الإصلاحات التالية:

  • حل مشكلة التي قد تسبب وقت النسخ الاحتياطي لآلة يستغرق وقتا طويلا لإكمال
  • يعالج مشكلة تمنع بعض التطبيقات الموقعة مع معرف مطور من إطلاق

إذا لم يتم تثبيته, انقر على “من المقرر الوصول” علامة التبويب, وتثبيته. لاحظ أنه قد يتم تثبيته في واحدة مع تحديثات أخرى. هكذا, طالما ماك الخاص بك هو ما يصل إلى التاريخ, كنت لا داعي للقلق كثيرا حول هذا التحديث في عداد المفقودين معين.

في جميع الاحتمالات, هذا التحديث هو كل ما ستحتاج لإصلاح آلة الزمن بطيء الخاص بك على الكبسولة الزمنية للتحقق, إعادة تشغيل جهازك وإطلاق آلة الزمن. تعطيه بضع دقائق ونرى إذا كانت سرعة مقبولة (حول 10-20 ميغابايت في الثانية على شبكة جيجابت السلكية الخاصة بك).

إذا لم يكن, أو إذا كان لديك أسباب أخرى لعدم تثبيت التحديث, هناك عدد قليل من هذه النصائح الأخرى يمكنك أن تجرب.

  • QuickSilver and Dropbox iconsترك التطبيقات التي يمكن فهرسة نظام الملفات. دروببوإكس, الزئبق الخ. العثور عليها على شريط القوائم الخاصة بك. انقر بزر الماوس الأيمن على الرموز واختر إنهاء.
  • Finder optionضمان عدم تعيين هذا الباحث لإظهار كل حجم. فتح نافذة الباحث, ضرب كمد-J لإحضار هذه الخيارات, والتأكد من أن جميع القياسات هو حساب ليس تكتك (على الرغم من أن يرد عليه تكتك في الصورة هنا).

    نلاحظ أنه ليس تحت تفضيلات الباحث المعتادة, الذي سيثير باستخدام كمد-I.

  • Kill Finderآخر شيء هو محاولة لقتل واستئناف مكتشف. انقر على شعار أبل على أي شريط القوائم, اختار “فرض إنهاء…” لإظهار تظهر نافذة, حدد الباحث وضرب على زر استئناف عملية

الخطوة الأخيرة (من قتل واستئناف مكتشف) وقد يوصف بأنه شيء يعمل بالتأكيد. لذلك إعطائها كأن شيئا يساعد آخر. طريقة أخرى لقتل واستئناف الباحث في إصدار الأمر killall Finder من نافذة الصالة.

إذا لم تنجح هذه النصائح, كنت الى حد كبير من الحظ. لا تزال هناك شيئا آخر قد تتمكن من محاولة, التي ربما لن تعمل. لم يفعل ذلك بالتأكيد, بالنسبة لي, ولكن أعطاني شعورا بأنني “تحديد” المشكلة.

توصيل جهاز الكبسولة الزمنية (TC) مباشرة إلى جهاز Mac. من أجل القيام بذلك, اتبع الخطوات التالية.

  • أولا, ربط TC بك إلى الشبكة الخاصة بك, وإعداده باستخدام أداة مطار.
  • فصلها من الشبكة. (افصل كابل إيثرنت.)
  • افصل كابل إيثرنت من جهاز ماكنتوش, وربط TC (واحد من ثلاثة منافذ الإخراج) لماك الخاص بك.

الحوسبة السحابية

سمعت لأول مرة من “الحوسبة السحابية” عندما بدأ صديقي في تريفاندروم الحديث عن هذا الامر, تنظيم حلقات دراسية ومؤتمرات حول الموضوع. كنت على دراية الحوسبة الشبكية, لذلك اعتقد انه كان شيئا من هذا القبيل، وترك الأمر عند هذا الحد. ولكن الحاجة الأخيرة من الألغام أوضحت لي ما الحوسبة السحابية هي حقا, وماذا تريد ان احد. ظننت انني سوف تشاركونني البصيرة مع للمبتدئين.

قبل أن نذهب إلى أبعد من ذلك, أنا يجب أن أعترف أنني أكتب هذا المنصب مع قليلا من دوافع خفية. ما أن الدافع هو شيء أنا سوف الكشف في نهاية هذا المنصب.

اسمحوا لي أن أبدأ بالقول إنني لست مستجد عندما يتعلق الأمر إلى أجهزة الكمبيوتر. بدأت حياتي طويلة علاقة حب مع الحوسبة والبرمجة في 1983. تلك في وقت متأخر ليلة وركوب الدراجات لCLT واكوام من بطاقات فورتران – كانت تلك ممتعة مليئة المغامرات. نود تقديم رزمة من IBM 370 المشغلين في وقت مبكر من صباح اليوم والحصول على الإخراج في المساء. ولذلك فإن الوقت اللازم لإصلاح كل خلل سيكون يوميا, وهو ما أعتقد جعلنا المبرمجين دقيق إلى حد ما. أتذكر كتابة برنامج لطباعة تقويم, صفحة واحدة في الشهر, متباعدة والانحياز بشكل صحيح. غير مجدية حقا, لأن النسخة المطبوعة سيكون على حجم A3 فات تغذية مع ثقوب على الجانبين, وكان الخط نوع الساعي القذرة من حجم نقطة 12 في الضوء الأزرق والأسود, بالكاد مقروءا على مسافة القراءة العادية. لكنها كانت ممتعة. للأسف لقد ارتكبت خطأ في حلقة التعشيش وجاء في التقويم من كل عابث. أسوأ, المشغل, الذي كان بخيل حول استخدام الورق, توقف الانتاج في الشهر الرابع ونصحني أن يتوقف عن فعل ذلك. كنت أعرف أنه لا يستطيع أن يقطع إذا اعتدت بيان PRINT فورتران واحدة فقط، وأعاد كتابة برنامج لتفعل ذلك بهذه الطريقة. حصلت على الانتاج, ولكن على الصفحة يناير, كان هناك هذه رسالة رسمية مكتوبة بخط اليد, “تحاول ذلك مرة أخرى وأنا لن إلغاء حسابك.” عند هذه النقطة أنا توقفت ومكفوف.

لقد بدأت باستخدام البريد الإلكتروني في أواخر الثمانينات على كتلة من Vaxstations التي تنتمي إلى مجموعة فيزياء الطاقة العالية في جامعة سيراكيوز. في البداية, يمكن أن نرسل البريد الإلكتروني فقط للمستخدمين على نفس المجموعة, مع عناوين مثل شبكة معلوماتية VAX05::MONETI. وبعد عام واحد, عندما أتمكن من إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى صديقي في المبنى المقبل مع عنوان في مثل٪”naresh@ee.syr.edu” أو شيء (و “في” مما يدل على الإنترنت), أعجبت الأقوياء مع الوتيرة التي تسير التكنولوجيا. ولم أكن أعلم أن بعد بضع سنوات قصيرة, لن يكون هناك من الأعضاء, الفسيفساء والتجارة الإلكترونية. وأود أن تكون الكتابة كتب عن الحوسبة المالية وورد الإضافات في PHP.

على الرغم من مواكبة تكنولوجيا الحوسبة معظم حياتي, لقد بدأت تشعر أن التكنولوجيا هو كسر ببطء مجانا والانجراف بعيدا عني. أنا لا تزال لم يكن لديك حساب تويتر, وأزور بلدي الفيسبوك مرة واحدة في الشهر أو نحو ذلك. أكثر لهذه النقطة من هذا المنصب, أشعر بالحرج من الاعتراف بأن لم يكن لدي أي فكرة عما كان هذا كل شيء عن الحوسبة السحابية. حتى حصلت على ماك بوك اير, بفضل زوجتي العزيزة الذي يحب أن يلعب ماما السكر من حين الى حين. كان لي دائما هذه مشكلة مزامنة المستندات بين أربعة أو خمسة أجهزة الكمبيوتر الشخصية وأجهزة ماكينتوش أعمل بصورة منتظمة مع. مع محرك أقراص USB والعناية القصوى, أنا يمكن إدارتها, ماجستير في إدارة الأعمال ولكن كان بمثابة القشة التي قصمت جملي من الخلف. (بالمناسبة, هل تعرف هذا المثل الإيراني – “في كل مرة جاء يتغوط, انها ليست مواعيد”?) أنا أحسب أن هناك كان لابد من طريقة أفضل. وكنت قد لعبت مع تطبيقات Google لبعض الوقت الآن, على الرغم من أنني لم أدرك أنه الحوسبة السحابية.

ما أريد أن أفعله كان قليلا أكثر انخراطا من التطبيقات المكتبية. اردت ان اعمل في بلدي مشاريع PHP هواية من أجهزة كمبيوتر مختلفة. هذا يعني شيئا مثل XAMPP أو MAMPP مع نتبيانس على كافة أجهزة الكمبيوتر أعمل مع. ولكن كيف أحافظ على شفرة المصدر sync'ed? Thmbdrives والنسخ الاحتياطي / برامج المزامنة? لا أنيقة, ويكاد سلس. ثم أنا ضربت على الحل الأمثل – دروببوإكس! بهذه الطريقة, يمكنك تخزين الملفات المصدر على الشبكة (باستخدام الأمازون S3, على ما يبدو, ولكن هذا خارج عن الموضوع), ونرى الدليل (مجلد لأولئك الذين لم يطاع ستيف Jobbs وعاد إلى ماك) يشبه المحلية مريب. في الواقع, هو دليل محلي – مجرد أن هناك برنامج يعمل على الخلفية المزامنة مع المجلد الخاص بك على السحابة.

دروببوإكس! يعطيك 2GB للتخزين الشبكة مجانا, التي أجد كافية تماما لأي مستخدم العادي. (يبدو أن الكلمات الأخيرة الشهيرة التي كتبها بيل جيتس, أليس كذلك? “64كيلوبايت من الذاكرة يجب أن يكون كافيا لأحد!”) و, يمكنك الحصول على 250MB اضافية لإحالة كل الناجحة التي تقوم بها. هذا يقودني إلى دوافع خفية – جميع الروابط ل دروببوإكس! على هذه الوظيفة روابط الإحالة الواقع. عندما قمت بالتسجيل والبدء في استخدامه من خلال النقر على واحد منهم, أحصل على 250MB اضافية. لا تقلق, تحصل على 250MB اضافية فضلا. حتى أستطيع أن تنمو بلدي تخزين على الإنترنت تصل إلى 8GB, والتي ينبغي أن تبقي لي سعيدة لفترة طويلة, إلا إذا كنت تريد تخزين الصور والفيديو الخاصة بي هناك, في هذه الحالة سوف ترقية بلدي دروببوإكس! الحساب إلى الخدمة المدفوعة.

بصرف النظر عن منحي مساحة إضافية, هناك أسباب عديدة يجب عليك مراجعة حقا دروببوإكس!. سوف أكتب المزيد عن هذه الأسباب في وقت لاحق, ولكن اسمحوا لي أن قائمة بهم هنا.
1. مزامنة (لجنة الهدنة العسكرية) دفتر العناوين الخاص بك بين أجهزة ماكينتوش.
2. النسخ الاحتياطي متعددة مزامن البيانات الثمين.
3. استخدام شفاف لايديس مثل نتبيانس.
وتعالج بعض هذه الأسباب فقط من خلال اتباع بعض النصائح والحيل, الذي سأكتب عن.

بالمناسبة, نحن الكتاب الهندية ترغب في استخدام عبارات مثل دوافع خفية ومصالح خاصة. هل تعتقد أنه ل لدينا دائما بعض?

Tag Archives: mac

PinPoint

MySQL on Mac OSX Yosemite

If you use XAMPP for dev work on your Mac at home, and updated your OS to Yosemite, you may be temporarily distressed when you find that your MySQLd doesn’t start up. The fix is fairly simple.

Edit /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/xampp. (You may have to use sudo to do this.)

Look for:

$XAMPP_ROOT/bin/mysql.server start > /dev/null &

And add unset DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH on top of it. It should look like:

unset DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH
$XAMPP_ROOT/bin/mysql.server start > /dev/null &

Restart MySQLd and you it should work.

1041815367_880b482111_imac

Missing Events and Photos in iPhoto?

Let me guess – you got your new iMac. You had a recent Time Machine backup on your Time Capsule. Setting up the new iMac was ridiculously easy — just point to the backup. A few hours later, your new iMac is just like your old Mac, right down to the wall paper and browser history. You shake your head in disbelief and say to yourself, “Man, this thing just works! This is the way it is supposed to be!”

A couple of days later, you fire up your iPhoto. It says it needs to update the database or whatever. No sweat. Just a couple of minutes — the new iMac is ridiculously fast. Hullo — what is wrong with the last four events? How come they have no photos in them? Well, actually, they do have something, you can see the thumbnails for a second, and then they disappear. The events seem to have the right number of photos. They even list the camera model and exposure data.

You scratch your head and say to yourself, “Well, may be the Time Machine backup didn’t unpack properly or whatever. May be the version upgrade messed up some data. No sweat. I can use the Time Machine and find the right iPhoto Library.” You fire up the Time Machine — probably for the first time for real. You restore the last good backup of the iPhoto Library to your desktop, and launch iPhoto again. Database update again. Anxious wait. Hey, the damned events are still missing.

Panic begins to set in. Mad Google for answers. Ok, hold down the Option and Command keys, and launch iPhoto. Regenerate thumbnails. Repair the library. Rebuild the Database. Still, the ****** events refuse to come back.

How do I know all this? Because this is exactly what I did. I was lucky though. I managed to recover the events. It dawned on me that the problem was not with the restore process, nor the version update of iPhoto. It was the Time Machine backup process — the backup was incomplete. I had the old Mac and the old iPhoto library intact. So I copied the old library over to the new iMac (directly, over the network; not from the Time Machine backup). I then started iPhoto on the new machine. After the necessary database update, all the events and photos showed up. Phew!

So what exactly went wrong? It appears that Time Machine doesn’t backup the iPhoto Library properly if iPhoto is open (according to Apple). More precisely, the recently imported photos and events may not get backed up. This bug (or “feature”) was reported earlier and discussed in detail.

I thought I would share my experience here because it was important piece of information and might save somebody some time, and possibly some valuable photos. And I feel it is disingenuous of Apple to tout the Time Machine as the mother of all backup solutions with this glaring bug. After all, your photos are among the most precious of your data. If they are not backed up and migrated properly, why bother with Time Machine at all?

To recap:

  1. If you find your photo collection incomplete after migrating to your shiny new iMac (using a Time Machine backup), don’t panic if you still have your old Mac.
  2. Exit gracefully from iPhoto on both the machines.
  3. Copy your old iPhoto Library from the old Mac over to the new one, after properly exiting from iPhoto on both machines.
  4. Restart iPhoto on the new Mac and enjoy.

How to prevent this from happening

Before the final Time Machine backup from your old Mac, ensure that iPhoto is not running. In fact, it may be worth exiting from all applications before taking the final snapshot.

If you want to be doubly sure, consider another automated backup solution just for your iPhoto Library. I use Carbon Copy Cloner.

Photo by Victor Svensson

Slow Time Machine with Time Capsule – SOLVED!

Let me guess — you bought a new Time Capsule, set up your Time Machine to back up half a terabyte of family photos and home videos, and expected it to be “hands-free” from then on? Then you got this progress bar saying that it will take 563 days (or some such rediculous number) to sync?

Your next step was to trawl Google, which would have shown you that you are not alone. You would have tried disk utility to repair your Time Capsule disk, disabled Spotlight indexing, connected your Mac directly to TC etc. Nothing has helped so far? Fear not, here is what you need to do.

First of all, launch your software update pane from your system preferences on your Mac.
Mac Software Update
Ensure that you have this update, which specifically addresses this problem.
Mac Software Update

Here is what Apple says about this update:

About OS X Lion 10.7.5 Supplemental Update
The OS X v10.7.5 Supplemental Update is recommended for all users running OS X Lion v10.7.5 and includes the following fixes:

  • Resolves an issue that may cause Time Machine backups to take a very long time to complete
  • Addresses an issue that prevents certain applications signed with a Developer ID from launching

If it is not installed, click on the “Scheduled Check” tab, and install it. Note that it may be installed as bundled with other updates. So, as long as your Mac is up-to-date, you don’t have to worry too much about missing this particular update.

In all likelihood, this update is all that you will need to fix your slow Time Machine on Time Capsule To verify, restart your machine and launch Time Machine. Give it a few minutes and see if the speed is acceptable (about 10-20 MB a second on your wired Gigabit network).

If it is not, or if you have other reasons for not installing the update, there are a few other these tips you can try.

  • QuickSilver and Dropbox iconsQuit applications that may be indexing the file system. Dropbox, QuickSilver etc.  Find them on your menu bar. Right click on the icons and select Quit.
  • Finder optionEnsure that Finder is not set to show all size. Open a Finder window, hit Cmd-J to bring up these options, and ensure that the Calculate All Sizes is not ticked (despite the fact that it is shown ticked in the screenshot here).

    Note that it is not under the usual Finder preferences, which you would bring up using Cmd-I.

  • Kill FinderThe last thing to try is to kill and relaunch Finder. Click on the Apple logo on any menu bar, select “Force Quit…” to bring up the window show, select Finder and hit the Relaunch button

The last step (of killing and relaunching Finder) has been touted as something that definitely works. So do give it a try if nothing else helps. Another way of killing and relaunching Finder is to issue the command killall Finder from a terminal window.

If these tips didn’t work, you are pretty much out of luck. There are still one more thing you could try, which probably will not work. It certainly didn’t, for me, but gave me a sense that I was “fixing” the problem.

Connect your Time Capsule (TC) directly to your Mac. In order to do this, follow these steps.

  • First, connect your TC to your network, and set it up using the Airport Utility.
  • Disconnect it from your network. (Disconnect the ethernet cable.)
  • Disconnect the ethernet cable from your Mac, and connect TC (one of the three output ports) to your Mac.

Cloud Computing

I first heard of “Cloud Computing” when my friend in Trivandrum started talking about it, organizing seminars and conferences on the topic. I was familiar with Grid Computing, so I thought it was something similar and left it at that. But a recent need of mine illustrated to me what cloud computing really is, and why one would want it. I thought I would share my insight with the uninitiated.

Before we go any further, I should confess that I write this post with a bit of an ulterior motive. What that motive is is something I will divulge towards the end of this post.

Let me start by saying that I am no noob when it comes to computers. I started my long love affair with computing and programming in 1983. Those late night bicycle rides to CLT and stacks of Fortran cards – those were fun-filled adventures. We would submit the stack to the IBM 370 operators early in the morning and get the output in the evening. So the turn around time for each bug fix would be a day, which I think made us fairly careful programmers. I remember writing a program for printing out a calendar, one page per month, spaced and aligned properly. Useless really, because the printout would be on A3 size feed rolls with holes on the sides, and the font was a dirty Courier type of point size 12 in light blue-black, barely legible at normal reading distance. But it was fun. Unfortunately I made a mistake in the loop nesting and the calendar came out all messed up. Worse, the operator, who was stingy about the paper usage, interrupted the output on the fourth month and advised me to stop doing it. I knew that he could not interrupt it if I used only one Fortran PRINT statement and rewrote the program to do it that way. I got the output, but on the January page, there was this hand-written missive, “Try it once more and I will cancel your account.” At that point I ceased and desisted.

I started using email in the late eighties on a cluster of Vaxstations that belonged to the high-energy physics group at Syracuse University. At first, we could send email only to users on the same cluster, with DecNet addresses like VAX05::MONETI. And a year later, when I could send a mail to my friend in the next building with an address like IN%”naresh@ee.syr.edu” or something (the “IN” signifying Internet), I was mighty impressed with the pace at which technology was progressing. Little did I know that a few short years later, there would be usenet, Mosaic and e-commerce. And that I would be writing books on financial computing and WordPress plugins in PHP.

Despite keeping pace with computing technology most of my life, I have begun to feel that technology is slowly breaking free and drifting away from me. I still don’t have a twitter account, and I visit my Facebook only once a month or so. More to the point of this post, I am embarrassed to admit that I had no clue what this cloud computing was all about. Until I got my MacBook Air, thanks to my dear wife who likes to play sugar mama once in a while. I always had this problem of synchronizing my documents among the four or five PCs and Macs I regularly work with. With a USB drive and extreme care, I could manage it, but the MBA was the proverbial straw that broke my camel of a back. (By the way, did you know this Iranian proverb – “Every time the came shits, it’s not dates”?) I figured that there had to be better way. I had played with Google Apps for a while now, although I didn’t realize that it was cloud computing.

What I wanted to do was a bit more involved than office applications. I wanted to work on my hobby PHP projects from different computers. This means something like XAMPP or MAMPP along with NetBeans on all the computers I work with. But how do I keep the source code sync’ed? Thmbdrives and backup/sync programs? Not elegant, and hardly seamless. Then I hit upon the perfect solution – Dropbox! This way, you store the source files on the network (using Amazon S3, apparently, but that is beside the point), and see a directory (folder for those who haven’t obeyed Steve Jobbs and gone back to the Mac) that looks like suspiciously local. In fact, it is a local directory – just that there is a program running on the background syncing it with your folder on the cloud.

Dropbox! gives you 2GB of network storage free, which I find quite adequate for any normal user. (That sounds like the famous last words by Bill Gates, doesn’t it? “64KB of memory should be enough for anyone!”) And, you can get 250MB extra for every successful referral you make. That brings me to my ulterior motive – all the links to Dropbox! on this post are actually referral links. When you sign up and start using it by clicking on one of them, I get 250MB extra. Don’t worry, you get 250MB extra as well. So I can grow my online storage up to 8GB, which should keep me happy for a long time, unless I want to store my photos and video there, in which case I will upgrade my Dropbox! account to a paid service.

Apart from giving me extra space, there are many reasons you should really check out Dropbox!. I will write more on those reasons later, but let me list them here.
1. Sync your (Mac) address book among your Macs.
2. Multiple synced backups of your precious data.
3. Transparent use for IDEs such as Netbeans.
Some of these reasons are addressed only by following some tips and tricks, which I will write about.

By the way, we Indian writers like to use expressions like ulterior motives and vested interests. Do you think it is because we always have some?