标记档案: 苹果

MySQL的Mac OSX上的优胜美地

如果您在Mac上使用XAMPP的开发工作,在家里, 并更新您的操作系统,以优山美地, 你可能暂时苦恼的时候你会发现你的mysqld不启动. 解决方法是相当简单的.

编辑 /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/xampp. (您可能需要使用 sudo 要做到这一点。)

寻找:

$XAMPP_ROOT/bin/mysql.server start > /dev/null &

添加 unset DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH 在它的上面. 它应该看起来像:

unset DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH
$XAMPP_ROOT/bin/mysql.server start > /dev/null &

重启mysqld,你也应该工作.

失踪事件和照片在iPhoto?

让我猜猜 – 你有你的新的iMac. 你有最近的Time Machine备份您的Time Capsule. 建立新的iMac是可笑容易 — 只是点到备份. 几个小时后, 新的iMac就像旧Mac, 一直到墙纸和浏览器历史记录. 你摇动你的头在怀疑和对自己说:, “男人, 这件事情只是工作! 这是它的方式被认为是!”

几天后, 你火了你的iPhoto. 它说,它需要更新数据库或任何. 无汗. 只需几分钟 — 新款iMac是快的离谱. 喂 — 什么是错的最后四项赛事? 为什么他们没有照片在其中? 好, 其实, 他们这样做有什么, 你可以看到缩略图第二, 然后他们消失. 这些事件似乎有照片的权利数量. 他们甚至连相机型号和曝光数据.

你挠你的头和对自己说, “好, 可能是Time Machine备份没有正确地解包或其他. 可能是版本升级搞砸了一些数据. 无汗. 我可以用时间机器,并找到合适的iPhoto图书馆。” 你火起来的时间机器 — 可能首次即时. 您恢复iPhoto图库的最后一个良好的备份到你的桌面, 并再次启动的iPhoto. 再次数据库更新. 焦急等待. 嘿嘿, 该死的事件仍下落不明.

恐慌开始设置. 谷歌狂答案. 行, 按住Option和Command键, 并推出的iPhoto. 重新生成缩略图. 修库. 重建数据库. 还, 该 ****** 事件拒绝回来.

我怎么知道这一切? 因为这正是我所做的. 我是幸运的,虽然. 我设法收回事件. 我恍然大悟,问题是不是与恢复过程, 也不iPhoto中的版本更新. 这是Time Machine备份过程 — 备份是不完整的. 我有旧的Mac和老iPhoto图库完好. 所以,我到新的iMac复制的旧库 (直, 通过网络; 不是从Time Machine备份). 然后我开始iPhoto中的新机. 必要的数据库更新后, 所有的活动和照片显示了. 表示不快!

那么究竟是什么出了问题? 看来,Time Machine不备份iPhoto图库正确,如果iPhoto中打开 (according to Apple). 更确切地说, 最近导入的照片和事件可能不会被备份. 此错误 (或 “特点”) 是 报道 更早 在详细地讨论.

我以为我会分享我的经验,在这里,因为它是重要的信息块,可能节省的人一些时间, 可能还有一些珍贵照片. 我觉得这是虚伪的苹果吹捧的时光机器,因为所有的备份解决方案的母亲与此明显错误. 毕竟, 您的照片是最珍贵的数据,. 如果他们不进行备份,并正确迁移, 为什么使用Time Machine打扰可言?

为了重温:

  1. 如果你发现你的照片集迁移到你闪亮的新的iMac后不完整 (使用Time Machine备份), 不要惊慌,如果你仍然有你的旧的Mac.
  2. 从iPhoto正常退出两台计算机上.
  3. 从旧的Mac复制旧的iPhoto图库转移到新的, 后从iPhoto在两台机器上正确地退出.
  4. 重新启动iPhoto中的新Mac和享受.

如何防止这种情况的发生

从旧的Mac最终Time Machine备份之前,, 确保的iPhoto未运行. 事实上, 它可能是从所有应用程序值得考虑退出决赛之前快照.

如果你想加倍确定, 考虑另一种自动化的备份解决方案,只为您的iPhoto图库. 我用碳复制克隆.

照片维克多·斯文森

缓慢的Time Machine使用Time Capsule – 解决!

让我猜猜 — 你买了一个新的时间胶囊, 设置您的Time Machine备份的家庭照片和家庭视频半个TB级, 并且希望它是 “免提” 从那时起? 然后你得到这个进度条表示,将采取 563 天 (or some such ridiculous number) 同步?

你的下一个步骤是拖网谷歌, 这将显示你,你并不孤单. 你会试图磁盘工具来修复您的Time Capsule的磁盘, 禁用Spotlight索引, 直接连接你的Mac TC等. 没有什么帮助,到目前为止? 不要害怕, 这里就是你需要做的.

首先, 从你的Mac系统首选项启动你的软件更新窗格.

Mac Software Update
确保您有 此更新, 其中专门讨论这个问题,.
Mac Software Update

下面是苹果公司说,有关此更新:

关于OS X狮子 10.7.5 补充更新
在OS X v10.7.5补充更新,建议运行OS X Lion中的所有用户v10.7.5,包括以下修复:

  • 解决了可能导致Time Machine备份需要很长时间才能完成的问题
  • 解决了防止与开发者ID签名的某些应用程序启动问题

如果未安装, 点击 “预定检查” 标签, 并安装它. 需要注意的是它可以被安装为捆绑其他更新. 所以, 只要你的Mac达最新, 你也不必太担心丢失这个特殊的更新.

在所有的可能性, 此更新是所有你需要修复你的慢时光机器上的Time Capsule验证, 重新启动计算机并启动时间机器. 给它几分钟,看看速度是可以接受的 (关于 10-20 MB第二有线千兆网络).

如果它不是, 或者,如果您有其他原因无法安装更新, 还有一些其他的这些技巧,你可以试试.

  • QuickSilver and Dropbox icons退出可索引文件系统的应用. Dropbox的, QuickSilver的等. 发现它们在你的菜单栏. 右键点击图标,并选择退出.
  • Finder option确保查找未设置为显示所有尺寸. 打开Finder窗口, 按Cmd-J调出这些选项, 并确保计算所有尺寸为 勾选 (尽管事实上它显示选中在这里截图).

    需要注意的是它不是按照通常的搜索喜好, 你会使用Cmd的,我带了.

  • Kill Finder最后要尝试是杀死并重新启动搜索器. 点击苹果标志上的任何菜单栏, 选择 “强制退出…” 弹出窗口显示, 选择Finder和打的重新启动按钮

最后一步 (杀死并重新执行搜索) 已经被吹捧为东西肯定能行. 所以,不要给它一个尝试,如果没有别的帮助. 杀死并重新执行查找另一种方法是发出命令 killall Finder 从终端窗口.

如果这些建议没有工作, 你是非常不走运. 目前还有一件事你可以尝试, 这可能将无法正常工作. 这当然没有, 对我来说, 但给我的感觉,我是 “定影” 问题.

连接您的Time Capsule (TC) 直接到您的Mac. 为了做到这一点, 请按照下列步骤.

  • 第一, 您的TC连接到您的网络, 并使用Airport实用工具对其进行设置.
  • 从网络断开连接. (断开以太网电缆。)
  • 从Mac断开以太网电缆, 并连接TC (的三个输出端口中的一个) 到你的Mac.

云计算

我第一次听说 “云计算” 当我在特里凡得琅的朋友开始谈论它, 举办​​研讨会和会议上的议题. 我熟悉网格计算, 所以我认为这是类似的东西,并留在这一点. 但近期需要我的说明给我什么是云计算确实是, 为什么人会希望它. 我想我会用门外汉分享我的见解.

在我们去任何进一步的, 我应该承认,我写这个帖子有位别有用心的. 是什么动机是什么,我会透露对这篇文章的结尾.

让我说,我不是小白,当涉及到计算机启动. 我开始了我漫长的恋情计算和编程 1983. 那些深夜骑自行车到CLT和栈的Fortran卡 – 这些是充满乐趣的冒险. 我们将提交堆栈的IBM 370 一大早运营商并获得在晚上的输出. 所以,周转时间为每个bug修复将是一个天, 我认为这让我们非常小心的程序员. 我记得我写一个程序,打印出的日历, 每月1页, 间隔和正确对齐. 真的没用, 因为打印输出会在A3尺寸进料辊与两侧孔, 和字体是点大小的一个肮脏的Courier字体 12 淡蓝色,黑色, 难以辨认,在正常阅读距离. 但它很有趣. 不幸的是我在循环嵌套犯了一个错误,并在日历出来全乱了. 更糟糕, 运营商, 谁是吝啬的纸张使用量, 中断的第四个月份的产量和建议我停止这样做. 我知道,他不能中断,如果我只用了一个Fortran PRINT语句并重写了程序,这样做的. 我得到的输出, 但一月页, 有这手写书信, “一旦尝试更多的,我会取消您的帐户。” 在这一点上,我不再和松了手.

我开始在八十年代后期使用电子邮件Vaxstations的集群属于高能物理组在雪城大学的. 起初, 我们可以发送电子邮件只能由用户在同一集群, 与像VAX05 DECNET地址::MONETI. 并在一年后, 当我能像在%的地址发送邮件到我的朋友,在未来的建设”naresh@ee.syr.edu” 什么 (该 “IN” 标志着互联网), 我印象深刻威武的步伐在该技术正在取得进展. 我一点也不知道,短短几年后, 会有的Usenet, 马赛克和电子商务. 而且我会写 金融计算书 在PHP的WordPress插件.

尽管符合计算技术大多数我的生活节奏, 我已经开始感受到这一技术正在慢慢打破免费从我渐行渐远. 我还没有一个Twitter帐户, 我访问我的Facebook一个月左右一次. 越到这个帖子点, 我不好意思地承认,我根本不知道这是什么云计算是所有关于. 直到我得到了我的MacBook Air, 感谢我亲爱的妻子谁喜欢在玩一会儿糖妈妈一次. 我总是有四五台PC之间同步文件我这个问题,我的Mac定期与合作. 随着USB驱动器,并格外小心, 我可以管理它, 但MBA是一根稻草,打破了一回我的骆驼. (顺便说说, 你知不知道这个谚语伊朗 – “每次来到妈, 这不是日期”?) 我计算过,必须有更好的办法. 我现在使用了与谷歌应用服务的同时,, 虽然我并没有意识到,这是云计算.

我想要做的是有点比办公应用更复杂. 我想工作从不同的计算机上我的爱好PHP项目. 这意味着像XAMPP或MAMPP以及所有的NetBeans我一起工作的计算机上. 但我怎么保持源代码sync'ed? Thmbdrives和备份/同步计划? 不优雅, 和几乎无缝. 然后,我想出了完美的解决方案 – Dropbox的! 这边走, 您存储在网​​络上的源文件 (使用Amazon S3, 显然, 但是这是题外话), 看到一个目录 (文件夹为那些谁没有听从史蒂夫Jobbs匆匆回了Mac) 看似可疑的地方. 事实上, 这是一个本地目录 – 只是有一个程序在后台运行与您的文件夹在云同步它.

Dropbox的! 为您提供免费的网络存储2GB, 我觉得这非常适用于任何普通用户. (这听起来像著名的遗言由比尔·盖茨, 不会吧? “64KB的内存应该是足够的人!”) 和, 你可以得到额外的250MB,每成功推荐你做. 这使我想到我的别有用心 – 到所有的链接 Dropbox的! 对这个职位实际上推介链接. 当你注册并通过点击其中的一个开始使用, 我得到额外的250MB. 不用担心, 你会得到额外的250MB以及. 这样我就可以达到8GB成长我的在线存储, 这应该让我高兴了好久, 除非我想我保存的照片和视频出现, 在这种情况下,我将我的升级 Dropbox的! 帐户付费服务.

除了给了我额外的空间, 有很多原因,你真的应该看看 Dropbox的!. 稍后我会写更多关于这些原因, 但让我一一列举.
1. 同步您 (苹果) 中你的Mac地址簿.
2. 您的宝贵数据的多个同步备份.
3. 透明用途的IDE例如NetBeans.
其中一些原因只能通过以下一些技巧和窍门得到解决, 我会写.

顺便说说, 我们的印度作家喜欢用像别有用心的既得利益表达式. 你是否认为这是因为 我们总是有一些?

Tag Archives: mac

PinPoint

MySQL on Mac OSX Yosemite

If you use XAMPP for dev work on your Mac at home, and updated your OS to Yosemite, you may be temporarily distressed when you find that your MySQLd doesn’t start up. The fix is fairly simple.

Edit /Applications/XAMPP/xamppfiles/xampp. (You may have to use sudo to do this.)

Look for:

$XAMPP_ROOT/bin/mysql.server start > /dev/null &

And add unset DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH on top of it. It should look like:

unset DYLD_LIBRARY_PATH
$XAMPP_ROOT/bin/mysql.server start > /dev/null &

Restart MySQLd and you it should work.

1041815367_880b482111_imac

Missing Events and Photos in iPhoto?

Let me guess – you got your new iMac. You had a recent Time Machine backup on your Time Capsule. Setting up the new iMac was ridiculously easy — just point to the backup. A few hours later, your new iMac is just like your old Mac, right down to the wall paper and browser history. You shake your head in disbelief and say to yourself, “Man, this thing just works! This is the way it is supposed to be!”

A couple of days later, you fire up your iPhoto. It says it needs to update the database or whatever. No sweat. Just a couple of minutes — the new iMac is ridiculously fast. Hullo — what is wrong with the last four events? How come they have no photos in them? Well, actually, they do have something, you can see the thumbnails for a second, and then they disappear. The events seem to have the right number of photos. They even list the camera model and exposure data.

You scratch your head and say to yourself, “Well, may be the Time Machine backup didn’t unpack properly or whatever. May be the version upgrade messed up some data. No sweat. I can use the Time Machine and find the right iPhoto Library.” You fire up the Time Machine — probably for the first time for real. You restore the last good backup of the iPhoto Library to your desktop, and launch iPhoto again. Database update again. Anxious wait. Hey, the damned events are still missing.

Panic begins to set in. Mad Google for answers. Ok, hold down the Option and Command keys, and launch iPhoto. Regenerate thumbnails. Repair the library. Rebuild the Database. Still, the ****** events refuse to come back.

How do I know all this? Because this is exactly what I did. I was lucky though. I managed to recover the events. It dawned on me that the problem was not with the restore process, nor the version update of iPhoto. It was the Time Machine backup process — the backup was incomplete. I had the old Mac and the old iPhoto library intact. So I copied the old library over to the new iMac (directly, over the network; not from the Time Machine backup). I then started iPhoto on the new machine. After the necessary database update, all the events and photos showed up. Phew!

So what exactly went wrong? It appears that Time Machine doesn’t backup the iPhoto Library properly if iPhoto is open (according to Apple). More precisely, the recently imported photos and events may not get backed up. This bug (or “feature”) was reported earlier and discussed in detail.

I thought I would share my experience here because it was important piece of information and might save somebody some time, and possibly some valuable photos. And I feel it is disingenuous of Apple to tout the Time Machine as the mother of all backup solutions with this glaring bug. After all, your photos are among the most precious of your data. If they are not backed up and migrated properly, why bother with Time Machine at all?

To recap:

  1. If you find your photo collection incomplete after migrating to your shiny new iMac (using a Time Machine backup), don’t panic if you still have your old Mac.
  2. Exit gracefully from iPhoto on both the machines.
  3. Copy your old iPhoto Library from the old Mac over to the new one, after properly exiting from iPhoto on both machines.
  4. Restart iPhoto on the new Mac and enjoy.

How to prevent this from happening

Before the final Time Machine backup from your old Mac, ensure that iPhoto is not running. In fact, it may be worth exiting from all applications before taking the final snapshot.

If you want to be doubly sure, consider another automated backup solution just for your iPhoto Library. I use Carbon Copy Cloner.

Photo by Victor Svensson

Slow Time Machine with Time Capsule – SOLVED!

Let me guess — you bought a new Time Capsule, set up your Time Machine to back up half a terabyte of family photos and home videos, and expected it to be “hands-free” from then on? Then you got this progress bar saying that it will take 563 days (or some such rediculous number) to sync?

Your next step was to trawl Google, which would have shown you that you are not alone. You would have tried disk utility to repair your Time Capsule disk, disabled Spotlight indexing, connected your Mac directly to TC etc. Nothing has helped so far? Fear not, here is what you need to do.

First of all, launch your software update pane from your system preferences on your Mac.
Mac Software Update
Ensure that you have this update, which specifically addresses this problem.
Mac Software Update

Here is what Apple says about this update:

About OS X Lion 10.7.5 Supplemental Update
The OS X v10.7.5 Supplemental Update is recommended for all users running OS X Lion v10.7.5 and includes the following fixes:

  • Resolves an issue that may cause Time Machine backups to take a very long time to complete
  • Addresses an issue that prevents certain applications signed with a Developer ID from launching

If it is not installed, click on the “Scheduled Check” tab, and install it. Note that it may be installed as bundled with other updates. So, as long as your Mac is up-to-date, you don’t have to worry too much about missing this particular update.

In all likelihood, this update is all that you will need to fix your slow Time Machine on Time Capsule To verify, restart your machine and launch Time Machine. Give it a few minutes and see if the speed is acceptable (about 10-20 MB a second on your wired Gigabit network).

If it is not, or if you have other reasons for not installing the update, there are a few other these tips you can try.

  • QuickSilver and Dropbox iconsQuit applications that may be indexing the file system. Dropbox, QuickSilver etc.  Find them on your menu bar. Right click on the icons and select Quit.
  • Finder optionEnsure that Finder is not set to show all size. Open a Finder window, hit Cmd-J to bring up these options, and ensure that the Calculate All Sizes is not ticked (despite the fact that it is shown ticked in the screenshot here).

    Note that it is not under the usual Finder preferences, which you would bring up using Cmd-I.

  • Kill FinderThe last thing to try is to kill and relaunch Finder. Click on the Apple logo on any menu bar, select “Force Quit…” to bring up the window show, select Finder and hit the Relaunch button

The last step (of killing and relaunching Finder) has been touted as something that definitely works. So do give it a try if nothing else helps. Another way of killing and relaunching Finder is to issue the command killall Finder from a terminal window.

If these tips didn’t work, you are pretty much out of luck. There are still one more thing you could try, which probably will not work. It certainly didn’t, for me, but gave me a sense that I was “fixing” the problem.

Connect your Time Capsule (TC) directly to your Mac. In order to do this, follow these steps.

  • First, connect your TC to your network, and set it up using the Airport Utility.
  • Disconnect it from your network. (Disconnect the ethernet cable.)
  • Disconnect the ethernet cable from your Mac, and connect TC (one of the three output ports) to your Mac.

Cloud Computing

I first heard of “Cloud Computing” when my friend in Trivandrum started talking about it, organizing seminars and conferences on the topic. I was familiar with Grid Computing, so I thought it was something similar and left it at that. But a recent need of mine illustrated to me what cloud computing really is, and why one would want it. I thought I would share my insight with the uninitiated.

Before we go any further, I should confess that I write this post with a bit of an ulterior motive. What that motive is is something I will divulge towards the end of this post.

Let me start by saying that I am no noob when it comes to computers. I started my long love affair with computing and programming in 1983. Those late night bicycle rides to CLT and stacks of Fortran cards – those were fun-filled adventures. We would submit the stack to the IBM 370 operators early in the morning and get the output in the evening. So the turn around time for each bug fix would be a day, which I think made us fairly careful programmers. I remember writing a program for printing out a calendar, one page per month, spaced and aligned properly. Useless really, because the printout would be on A3 size feed rolls with holes on the sides, and the font was a dirty Courier type of point size 12 in light blue-black, barely legible at normal reading distance. But it was fun. Unfortunately I made a mistake in the loop nesting and the calendar came out all messed up. Worse, the operator, who was stingy about the paper usage, interrupted the output on the fourth month and advised me to stop doing it. I knew that he could not interrupt it if I used only one Fortran PRINT statement and rewrote the program to do it that way. I got the output, but on the January page, there was this hand-written missive, “Try it once more and I will cancel your account.” At that point I ceased and desisted.

I started using email in the late eighties on a cluster of Vaxstations that belonged to the high-energy physics group at Syracuse University. At first, we could send email only to users on the same cluster, with DecNet addresses like VAX05::MONETI. And a year later, when I could send a mail to my friend in the next building with an address like IN%”naresh@ee.syr.edu” or something (the “IN” signifying Internet), I was mighty impressed with the pace at which technology was progressing. Little did I know that a few short years later, there would be usenet, Mosaic and e-commerce. And that I would be writing books on financial computing and WordPress plugins in PHP.

Despite keeping pace with computing technology most of my life, I have begun to feel that technology is slowly breaking free and drifting away from me. I still don’t have a twitter account, and I visit my Facebook only once a month or so. More to the point of this post, I am embarrassed to admit that I had no clue what this cloud computing was all about. Until I got my MacBook Air, thanks to my dear wife who likes to play sugar mama once in a while. I always had this problem of synchronizing my documents among the four or five PCs and Macs I regularly work with. With a USB drive and extreme care, I could manage it, but the MBA was the proverbial straw that broke my camel of a back. (By the way, did you know this Iranian proverb – “Every time the came shits, it’s not dates”?) I figured that there had to be better way. I had played with Google Apps for a while now, although I didn’t realize that it was cloud computing.

What I wanted to do was a bit more involved than office applications. I wanted to work on my hobby PHP projects from different computers. This means something like XAMPP or MAMPP along with NetBeans on all the computers I work with. But how do I keep the source code sync’ed? Thmbdrives and backup/sync programs? Not elegant, and hardly seamless. Then I hit upon the perfect solution – Dropbox! This way, you store the source files on the network (using Amazon S3, apparently, but that is beside the point), and see a directory (folder for those who haven’t obeyed Steve Jobbs and gone back to the Mac) that looks like suspiciously local. In fact, it is a local directory – just that there is a program running on the background syncing it with your folder on the cloud.

Dropbox! gives you 2GB of network storage free, which I find quite adequate for any normal user. (That sounds like the famous last words by Bill Gates, doesn’t it? “64KB of memory should be enough for anyone!”) And, you can get 250MB extra for every successful referral you make. That brings me to my ulterior motive – all the links to Dropbox! on this post are actually referral links. When you sign up and start using it by clicking on one of them, I get 250MB extra. Don’t worry, you get 250MB extra as well. So I can grow my online storage up to 8GB, which should keep me happy for a long time, unless I want to store my photos and video there, in which case I will upgrade my Dropbox! account to a paid service.

Apart from giving me extra space, there are many reasons you should really check out Dropbox!. I will write more on those reasons later, but let me list them here.
1. Sync your (Mac) address book among your Macs.
2. Multiple synced backups of your precious data.
3. Transparent use for IDEs such as Netbeans.
Some of these reasons are addressed only by following some tips and tricks, which I will write about.

By the way, we Indian writers like to use expressions like ulterior motives and vested interests. Do you think it is because we always have some?