Tag Archives: capitalisme

Income Inequality

I read on BBC yesterday that the richest 62 people in the world now earn as much as the poorest half, which would be about 3.5 billion people! Although there is some confusion about the methodology, it is clear that the wealth and income have been getting more and more polarized. The rich are certainly getting richer. Income inequality is more acute than ever.

Continuer la lecture

Le capitalisme vs. Le corporatisme

Au cours d'une récente conversation avec lui,,en,ce client de mes a utilisé le mot,,en,corporatiste,,en,pour décrire son pays,,en,États-Unis de A,,en,Il a dit il y a vingt ans,,en,ils étaient un pays capitaliste,,en,pas un corporatiste,,en,c'est une sorte de distinction bien que j'aimerais parler,,en,il était une distinction étonnante et éclairante,,en,qui décortique proprement et dégage la,,en,confusion économique de notre temps,,en,Le capitalisme de notre temps,,en,Et je devais écrire à ce sujet,,en,Tout le monde sait ce que le capitalisme est,,en,Il est axé sur le marché,,en,système économique privé centrée sur la propriété où des motifs égoïstes apporter le bonheur collectif,,en,selon Adam Smith,,en,Ce mode de vie a été acceptée comme,,en,et un contraste saisissant avec le collectif,,en,système économique appartenant à la communauté des notions de redistribution de la richesse sociale solide,,en,le communisme ou le socialisme,,en, this client of mine used the word “corporatist” to describe his country (US of A). He said twenty years ago, they were a capitalist country, not a corporatist one. Maintenant, this is a kind of fine distinction that I’d love to talk about. Pour moi, it was a surprising and illuminating distinction, one that cleanly dissects and clears up the economic confusion of our times. And I had to write about it.

Everybody knows what capitalism is. It is the market-driven, private-ownership-centric economic system where selfish motives bring about collective happiness, according to Adam Smith. This way of life has been accepted as the “bon” système, and stands in stark contrast with the collective, community-owned economic system with notions of robust social redistribution of wealth — communism or socialism. Bien que cette dernière ne sonne comme un idéal meilleur et plus moral,,en,au moins en principe,,en,il n'a jamais fait se dérouler de cette façon,,en,Le corporatisme est pas aussi bien connu que le capitalisme,,en,Je ne savais pas qu'un tel mot existait,,en,Mais le moment je l'ai entendu,,en,Je pouvais deviner ce que cela signifiait,,en,Il souligne que le produit final du capitalisme débridé,,en,un sans contrôle du gouvernement,,en,ou même déconnexions morales,,en,il arrive de cette façon,,en,une fois que vous avez la propriété privée,,en,certaines personnes plus riches que le reste,,en,Il n'y a rien de mal à cela,,en,il est une certitude mathématique,,en,l'argent donne ces gars chanceux plus de puissance,,en,et l'accès aux moyens dont ils peuvent faire plus d'argent,,en,ils peuvent influencer le système politique,,en,et à travers elle les politiques fiscales et fiscales,,en, at least in principle, it never did pan out that way.

Corporatism is not as well-known as capitalism. Au moins, I didn’t know that such a word existed. But the moment I heard it, I could guess what it meant. It points to the end product of unbridled capitalism, one with no government control, or even moral hangups. À mon avis, it happens this way — once you have private ownership, some people get richer than the rest. There is nothing wrong with that; en fait, it is a mathematical certainty. Mais alors, money gives those lucky guys more power, and access to ways in which they can make more money. Par exemple, they can influence the political system, and through it the fiscal and taxation policies. Aussi, peuvent être privés ownerships regroupés pour former des organismes économiques qui peuvent subvenir à leurs besoins,,en,Ces organismes sont,,en,des personnes morales,,en,Ils exercent leur pouvoir par leur richesse collective à une mesure encore plus grande que les bons vieux capitalistes,,en,Une chose curieuse arrive quand les capitalistes,,en,simples gens riches,,en,mis à l'écart par les sociétés se,,en,L'argent et le pouvoir sont séparés d'une manière étrange,,en,Les membres du conseil d'administration et les directeurs généraux qui contrôlent les organes sociaux finissent par exercer le pouvoir,,en,au lieu des propriétaires,,en,Ils sont chargés de la tâche de garder et de plus en plus la capitale,,en,Ils trouvent de nouvelles stratégies pour le faire,,en,comme tirant profit des niches fiscales et les paradis fiscaux,,en,et se livrer à des pratiques commerciales peu recommandables,,en,comme mélanger une poudre blanche sacrément avec les aliments pour bébés,,en,Tant qu'ils réussissent dans leur mission de plus en plus la capitale,,en. These organisms are, bien sûr, corporate bodies. They exert power through their collective wealth to an even greater extent than the good old capitalists.

A curious thing happens when capitalists (simple rich folks, c'est) get sidelined by corporations. The money and power get separated in a strange way. The board members and CEOs who control the corporate bodies end up wielding power, instead of the owners. They are entrusted with the task of guarding and growing the capital. They find novel strategies to do this, like taking advantage of tax loopholes and tax havens, and engaging in unsavory business practices (like mixing any damn white powder with baby food, par exemple). As long as they succeed in their remit of growing the capital, ils semblent se décharger du,,en,implications morales de leurs actions,,en,Pour leurs services,,en,ils paient eux-mêmes de belles récompenses,,en,Notez que les corporatistes,,en,les opérateurs,,en,payer eux-mêmes,,en,il est pas comme si les capitalistes,,en,les propriétaires,,en,payer les,,en,dans lequel se trouve la séparation de la puissance et de l'argent,,en,Lorsque vous apportez dans le système financier dont la fonction principale est la gestion du capital,,en,la séparation de la puissance,,en,l'argent et la morale prend une nouvelle dimension,,en,Ainsi, les banques,,en,sans valeur économique intrinsèque de leur propre,,en,se révéler trop grand pour échouer,,en,et le système lui-même réarrange de telle sorte que même quand ils ne parviennent pas,,en,ce sont les personnes les plus éloignées du pouvoir et de l'argent sont ceux qui paient pour ce,,en,Les banquiers de haut vol et les cadres supérieurs se parachutes dorés parce qu'ils ont à la fois le pouvoir et l'argent,,en moral implications of their actions. For their services, they pay themselves handsome rewards. Note that the corporatists (the operators) pay themselves; it is not as though the capitalists (the owners) pay them, wherein lies the separation of power and money.

When you bring in the financial system whose primary function is capital management, the separation of power, money and morality takes on a new dimension. So banks, with no intrinsic economic value of their own, turn out to be too big to fail, and the system rearranges itself in such way that even when they do fail, it is the people farthest removed from power and money are the ones who pay for it. The high-flying bankers and senior managers get golden parachutes because they have both power and money. L'économie trickle-down envisagée dans le capitalisme pur,,en,une vision optimiste pour commencer,,en,ne ruisselle par les voies tracées par les suzerains entreprises,,en,Ces injustes ruisselle ne nous ont pas pris la peine,,en,la classe moyenne,,en,depuis longtemps parce qu'ils ne sont pas tous ruisselaient loin de nous,,en,Maintenant qu'ils ont commencé à,,en,nous commençons à asseoir et de protestation,,en,Je sympathise avec mon client américain,,en,Maintenant que les corporatistes sont après nos petits filets,,en,nous détestons corporatismes,,en (an optimistic vision to begin with) only trickles through channels drawn by the corporate overlords.

These unfair trickles did not bother us (the middle class) for a long time because they were not all trickling away from us. Now that they have started to, we are beginning to sit up and protest. I sympathize with my American client. Now that the corporatists are after our little trickles, we hate corporatism.

A été le vôtre, Maintenant mine

I feel I have lived through an era of great changes. The pace of change can seem accelerated if you travel or emigrate because various geographical regions act as different slices in time. Je l'ai eu l'avantage (ou le malheur) de multiples émigrations. Avec ce, couplé avec mon âge avancé, Je me sens comme si je l'ai vu beaucoup. La plupart de ce que je vois me remplit d'un pressentiment de malheur. Peut-être qu'il est simplement la caractéristique de pessimisme d'un esprit trop cynique, ou c'est peut-être la véritable détérioration de nos normes éthiques mondiales.

Sur le côté positif, le rythme du changement est en effet rapide et furieux. C'est le genre de changement que vous aimez — vous savez, vinyle pour rembobiner la cassette en MP3 pour iPod genre. Ou la ligne terrestre de satellite à la cellule de Skype à Twitter genre. Cependant, avec ce morceau positif et évident des changements, il ya une piste lente et insidieuse troublant rampant sur nous. Il est n ce contexte que je veux réutiliser l'allégorie sur-utilisé de la grenouille-in-a-pot.

Si vous mettez une grenouille dans l'eau chaude, il va sauter hors de la casserole et sauver sa peau. Mais si vous placez la grenouille dans l'eau froide, et chauffer lentement le pot, il ne sera pas sentir le changement et faire bouillir à mort. La lenteur du changement est mortel. Alors permettez-moi d'être la grenouille avec la folie des grandeurs; permettez-moi de mettre en évidence les changements malsains accumuler autour de nous. Vous voyez, avec le miracle technologique que nous vivons, il est un cauchemar économique ou financière qui se répand ses tentacules sur tous les aspects de notre existence sociale et politique, transperçant tout en place dans son étau comme. Lentement. Très lentement. En raison de cette attente invisible sur nous, avec tous les iPod que nous achetons, nous (la classe moyenne) prendre une couple de dollars des très pauvres et donner à la très riche. Nous ne voyons pas les choses ainsi parce que certains d'entre nous font quelques centimes dans le processus. Le franchisé du magasin Apple fait quelques cents, l'employé-de-la-mois obtient une augmentation jeton, un développeur de pomme peut profiter d'une belle vacances, ou un dirigeant pourrait obtenir un nouveau jet, l'économie du pays monte d'un cran, NASDAQ (et ainsi de retraite de tout le monde) monte une petite fraction — tous sont heureux, droit?

Bien, il ya cette petite question du matériau d'emballage qui peut-être tué partie d'un arbre quelque part, au Brésil, peut-être, où les gens ne savent pas que les arbres leur appartiennent. Peut-être un peu de pollution échappé dans l'air ou une rivière en Chine où les habitants ne sont pas rendu compte que ces ressources sont leurs héritages. Peut-être un indésirable modérément toxique fini dans une décharge en Afrique un endroit où ils ne sont pas tout à fait saisi le concept de la propriété foncière. Il a peut-être coûté un développeur à Bangalore ou une fille de centre d'appels à Manille une heure ou deux de plus que ce qu'elle devrait, car ils ne savent pas que leur temps est une ressource acheté bas et vendu sur les marchés de haute qu'ils ne voient pas ou ne savent pas de. Il est de ces lieux éloignés et des personnes fictives que nous ramassons quelques dollars et transmettre aux coffres des sociétés à égale distance et les marchés boursiers. Nous prenons ce ne nous appartient pas de propriétaires inconnus à nourrir l'avarice des joueurs invisibles. Et, comme Milo Minder Binder dirait, tout le monde a une part. Ceci est le capitalisme moderne de l'ère de l'entreprise, où nous sommes tous devenus un rouage infime dans une roue géante inexorablement rouler sur de nulle part en particulier, mais l'effacement beaucoup dans le processus.

Le problème avec le capitalisme comme une idéologie économique est qu'il est à peu près l'unanimité maintenant. Seul un conflit d'idéologie un équilibre quelconque peut émerger. Chaque conflit, par définition,, exige adversaires, au moins deux d'entre eux. Et il en va de la lutte idéologique. La lutte est entre le capitalisme et le communisme (ou socialisme, Je ne suis pas sûr de la différence). Le premier dit que nous devrions mettre à pied les marchés et laisser la cupidité et de l'égoïsme à son terme. Bien, si vous ne l'aimez le son de “la cupidité et de l'égoïsme,” essayer “ambition et le dynamisme.” Associez-le avec des mots comme liberté et la démocratie, et ce “Laissez-Faire” l'idéologie d'un Adam Smith la est une formule gagnante.

Debout dans l'autre coin est l'idéologie adverse, qui dit que nous devons contrôler la circulation de l'argent et des ressources, et répandre le bonheur. Malheureusement, cette idéologie a obtenu associée avec des mots désagréables comme totalitarisme, bureaucratie, assassiner en masse, champs de la mort du Cambodge etc. Pas étonnant qu'il a perdu, économiser pour cette puissance économique appelé la Chine. Mais la victoire de la Chine n'est pas une consolation pour le camp socialiste parce que la Chine a fait en redéfinissant le socialisme ou le communisme signifie essentiellement le capitalisme. Donc, la victoire du capitalisme est, à toutes fins utiles,, un slam dunk. Pour les vainqueurs appartiennent à butin de l'histoire. Et ainsi, l'idéologie socio-politico-économique du capitalisme bénéficie l'association mélodieux de beaux mots comme liberté, l'égalité des chances, démocratie etc, tandis que le communisme est une expérience ratée relégué à l' “aussi-ran” catégorie des idéologies telles que le fascisme, Nazisme et d'autres choses mal. Ainsi, la bataille entre le capitalisme et les mouvements occuper-wall-street est pathétiquement asymétrique.

Une bataille entre deux adversaires bien appariés est agréable à regarder; dire, un match entre Djokovic et Federer. D'autre part, un “correspondance” entre Federer et moi serait passionnant, pour moi — si que. Si vous êtes dans le divertissement violent, un match de boxe entre deux poids lourds serait quelque chose d'intéressant à regarder. mais un boxeur musclé battant The Living Daylights de deux ans ne ferait que vous remplissez avec révolte et dégoût (qui est semblable à la sensation que je devais pendant la guerre du Golfe '91).

Ne vous inquiétez pas, Je ne suis pas sur le point de défendre ou tenter de relancer le socialisme sur ce blog, parce que je ne crois pas une économie centralisée fonctionne soit. Ce qui me préoccupe est le fait que le capitalisme n'a pas digne adversaire maintenant. Il ne devrait pas vous inquiéter ainsi? Le capitalisme d'entreprise bat les Living Daylights de tout ce qu'on pourrait qualifier de décent et humain. Devons-nous ignorer et apprendre à aimer notre dégoût juste parce que nous avons une part?

Photo par Byzantine_K cc

Tag Archives: capitalism

Capitalism vs. Corporatism

During a recent conversation with him, this client of mine used the word “corporatist” to describe his country (US of A). He said twenty years ago, they were a capitalist country, not a corporatist one. Now, this is a kind of fine distinction that I’d love to talk about. To me, it was a surprising and illuminating distinction, one that cleanly dissects and clears up the economic confusion of our times. And I had to write about it.

Everybody knows what capitalism is. It is the market-driven, private-ownership-centric economic system where selfish motives bring about collective happiness, according to Adam Smith. This way of life has been accepted as the “good” system, and stands in stark contrast with the collective, community-owned economic system with notions of robust social redistribution of wealth — communism or socialism. Although the latter does sound like a better and more moral ideal, at least in principle, it never did pan out that way.

Corporatism is not as well-known as capitalism. At least, I didn’t know that such a word existed. But the moment I heard it, I could guess what it meant. It points to the end product of unbridled capitalism, one with no government control, or even moral hangups. In my view, it happens this way — once you have private ownership, some people get richer than the rest. There is nothing wrong with that; in fact, it is a mathematical certainty. But then, money gives those lucky guys more power, and access to ways in which they can make more money. For instance, they can influence the political system, and through it the fiscal and taxation policies. Also, private ownerships can be pooled together to form economic organisms that can sustain themselves. These organisms are, of course, corporate bodies. They exert power through their collective wealth to an even greater extent than the good old capitalists.

A curious thing happens when capitalists (simple rich folks, that is) get sidelined by corporations. The money and power get separated in a strange way. The board members and CEOs who control the corporate bodies end up wielding power, instead of the owners. They are entrusted with the task of guarding and growing the capital. They find novel strategies to do this, like taking advantage of tax loopholes and tax havens, and engaging in unsavory business practices (like mixing any damn white powder with baby food, for instance). As long as they succeed in their remit of growing the capital, they seem to absolve themselves of the moral implications of their actions. For their services, they pay themselves handsome rewards. Note that the corporatists (the operators) pay themselves; it is not as though the capitalists (the owners) pay them, wherein lies the separation of power and money.

When you bring in the financial system whose primary function is capital management, the separation of power, money and morality takes on a new dimension. So banks, with no intrinsic economic value of their own, turn out to be too big to fail, and the system rearranges itself in such way that even when they do fail, it is the people farthest removed from power and money are the ones who pay for it. The high-flying bankers and senior managers get golden parachutes because they have both power and money. The trickle-down economy envisioned in pure capitalism (an optimistic vision to begin with) only trickles through channels drawn by the corporate overlords.

These unfair trickles did not bother us (the middle class) for a long time because they were not all trickling away from us. Now that they have started to, we are beginning to sit up and protest. I sympathize with my American client. Now that the corporatists are after our little trickles, we hate corporatism.

15215457272_3b340d347a_corporate-capitalism

Was Yours, Now Mine

I feel I have lived through an era of great changes. The pace of change can seem accelerated if you travel or emigrate because various geographical regions act as different slices in time. I have had the benefit (or the misfortune) of multiple emigrations. With that, coupled with my advancing years, I feel as though I have seen a lot. Most of what I have seen fills me with a foreboding of gloom and doom. Perhaps it is merely the pessimism characteristic of an unduly cynical mind, or perhaps it is the true decay of our global ethical standards.

On the positive side, the pace of change is indeed fast and furious. This is the kind of change you like — you know, vinyl to spool tape to cassette to MP3 to iPod kind. Or the land-line to satellite to cell to Skype to Twitter kind. However, along with this positive and obvious track of changes, there is an insidiously slow and troubling track creeping up on us. It is n this context that I want to reuse the over-used allegory of the frog-in-a-pot.

If you put a frog in hot water, it will jump out of the pot and save its skin. But if you place the frog in cold water, and slowly heat up the pot, it won’t feel the change and boil to death. The slowness of change is deadly. So let me be the frog with delusions of grandeur; allow me to highlight the unhealthy changes accumulating around us. You see, along with the technological miracle that we are living through, there is an economic or financial nightmare that is spreading its tentacles over all aspects of our social and political existence, transfixing everything in place in its vice-like grip. Slowly. Very slowly. Because of this invisible hold on us, with every iPod we buy, we (the middle-class) take a couple of dollars from the very poor and give it to the very rich. We don’t see it that way because some of us make a few cents in the process. The Apple store franchisee makes a few cents, the employee-of-the-month gets a token raise, an apple developer may enjoy a nice vacation, or a senior executive might get a new jet, the economy of the country goes up a notch, NASDAQ (and so everybody’s pension) goes up a tiny fraction — all are happy, right?

Well, there is this little question of the packaging material that may have killed part of a tree somewhere, in Brazil, perhaps, where people don’t know that the trees belong to them. May be a little bit of pollution escaped into the air or a river in China where the locals haven’t realized that these resources are their heirlooms. May be some moderately toxic junk ended up in a landfill in Africa somewhere where they haven’t quite grasped the concept of land ownership. It may have cost a developer in Bangalore or a call-center girl in Manilla an hour or two more than it should because they don’t know that their time is a resource bought low and sold high in markets they don’t see or know of. It is from these distant places and phantom people that we pick up a couple of dollars and pass on to the equally distant corporate coffers and stock markets. We take what is not ours from the unknown owners to feed the avarice of unseen players. And, like Milo Minderbinder would say, everybody has a share. This is the modern capitalism of the corporate era, where we have all become tiny cogs in a giant wheel inexorably rolling on to nowhere in particular, but obliterating much in the process.

The problem with capitalism as an economic ideology is that it is pretty much unopposed now. Only through a conflict of ideology can a balance of some sort emerge. Every conflict, by definition, requires adversaries, at least two of them. And so does an ideological struggle. The struggle is between capitalism and communism (or socialism, I’m not sure of the difference). The former says we should lay off the markets and let greed and selfishness run its course. Well, if you don’t like the sound of “greed and selfishness,” try “ambition and drive.” Associate it with words like freedom and democracy, and this “Laissez-Faire” ideology a la Adam Smith is a winning formula.

Standing in the other corner is the opposing ideology, which says we should control the flow of money and resources, and spread happiness. Unfortunately this ideology got associated with nasty words like totalitarianism, bureaucracy, mass murder, killing fields of Cambodia etc. Little wonder that it lost, save for this economic powerhouse called China. But the victory of China is no consolation for the socialist camp because China did it by redefining socialism or communism to essentially mean capitalism. So the victory of capitalism is, to all intents and purposes, a slam dunk. To the victors belong to spoils of history. And so, the socio-politico-economic ideology of capitalism enjoys the mellifluous association of nice words like liberty, equal opportunity, democracy etc., while communism is a failed experiment relegated to the “also-ran” category of ideologies such as fascism, Nazism and other evil stuff. So the battle between capitalism and the occupy-wall-street movements is pathetically asymmetric.

A battle between two well-matched opponents is nice to watch; say, a match between Djokovic and Federer. On the other hand, a “match” between Federer and me would be exciting only to me — if that. If you are into violent entertainment, a boxing match between two heavy weights would be something interesting to watch. but a brawny boxer beating the living daylights out of a two-year-old would only fill you with revolt and disgust (which is similar to the feeling I had during the ’91 Gulf War).

Don’t worry, I’m not about to defend or try to revive socialism on this blog, because I don’t think a centrally controlled economy works either. What worries me is the fact that capitalism does not have a worthy adversary now. Shouldn’t it worry you as well? Corporate capitalism is beating the living daylights out of everything that one might call decent and human. Should we ignore and learn to love our disgust just because we got a share?

Photo by Byzantine_K cc