اختفاء الطبقة الوسطى

معظم الناس (الذين من المحتمل أن قراءة هذا المقال) التفكير في محطة المالية والطبقة الوسطى, لذلك قد تجد أنه من الغريب أن أود أن أقول الطبقة المتوسطة تختفي. لكن الاستقطاب في توزيع ثروة العالم هو حقيقي جدا, وكان مرئيا في كل طبقات المجتمع. وأود أن اقناع لكم من الحكايات والأمثلة قبل الحصول منطقية وغير الرسمية حول هذا الموضوع.

كنت أذهب ومشاهدة سنغافورة المفتوحة الريشة قبل بضع سنوات. أسعار التذاكر المستخدمة لتكون في 40 إلى 60 مجموعة. قبل نحو عامين عندما راجعت, كان هناك لتكون فئة جديدة من تذاكر يسمى قسط, تكلف حوالي ثلاثة أضعاف التذاكر العادية. بالتأكيد, المقاعد هو على الارجح أفضل, ولكن هذا لا يبدو لتبرير ارتفاع الأسعار. يبدو لي أن ما يتم بيعه ليس ذلك بكثير المقاعد, ولكن نوع من التفرد. أولئك الذين يملكون المال هم الآن على استعداد لدفع الأقساط التي سيتم فصلها عن الجماهير.

ويمكن رؤية اتجاهات مماثلة في عادات التسوق لدينا أيضا. عندما تشتري لنفسك ساعة ليقول 10K دولار, انك لم تدفع إلا لتحقيق الكمال الميكانيكية, ولكن أيضا لحقيقة أن الناس العاديين لا يمكن امتلاكها. كنت تدفع عن التفرد. المديرين التنفيذيين العلامة التجارية داهية يعرف هذا, وندرك أن التفرد في التسعير هو كل ما يلزم لجذب العملاء الأثرياء لمنتجاتها. (أوصيت هذا استراتيجية التسعير لزوجتي في بوتيك لها, لكنها, يجري الحصيف بكثير من لي, رفض.) بالتأكيد, المنتجات يمكن أن تكون ذات جودة عالية جدا لأنه يستغرق سوى جزء بسيط من أسعارها الباهظة لضمان الجودة. ولكن الجودة ليست ما نحن ندفع ل.

عندما كنا تناول العشاء في أحد المطاعم الفاخرة أو أخذ عطلة الغريبة (ونشر الصور في الفيسبوك), نفعل الاستمتاع بتجربة, لا شك; ولكننا أيضا التمتع متعة السري الذي لا يمكن لأي شخص أن يفعل ما نقوم به.

وينعكس هذا الواقع الاقتصادي في قصة المن نشرت لي في الأسبوع الماضي. ما يجري أهلك في القصة هو الإدارة الوسطى, الطبقة الوسطى من الشركات في العالم, اذا صح التعبير. الطرف العلوي (الإدارة العليا) يحصل بدانة, ونهاية الجزء السفلي (عصارات تلك الفقيرة التي تديرها مناع) يحصل أصغر حجما.

لدي أكثر قليلا ليقول عن هذا, وكيف النمط الغربي الديمقراطية أصبح الأثرياء (كما وردت في فوكس “الأخبار” الشبكة), ولكن هذا المنصب هو بالفعل قليلا طويلة جدا. ترقبوا القادم!

Photo by Cory M. العلية cc

تعليقات

Disappearance of the Middle Class

Most people (who are likely to read this post) think of their financial station as middle class, so you might find it strange that I should say the middle class is disappearing. But the polarization in the wealth distribution of the world is very real, and it is visible at every strata of the society. I would like to convince you by anecdotes and examples before getting logical and formal about it.

I used to go and watch Singapore Open Badminton a few years ago. The ticket prices used to be in the 40 to 60 range. About two years ago when I checked, there was to be a new category of tickets called premium, costing about three times as much as the normal tickets. Sure, the seating is probably better, but that doesn’t seem to justify the high price. It seems to me that what is being sold is not so much the seats, but a kind of exclusivity. Those who have money now are willing to pay a premium to be separated from the masses.

Similar trends can be seen in our shopping habits as well. When you buy yourself a watch for say $10k, you are not only paying for mechanical perfection, but also for the fact that normal people cannot own it. You are paying for exclusivity. Shrewd brand executives know this, and realize that exclusivity in pricing is all it takes to lure wealthy clients to their products. (I recommended this pricing strategy to my wife in her boutique, but she, being far shrewder than me, declined.) Sure, the products can be of very high quality because it takes only a fraction of their exorbitant prices to ensure quality. But quality is not what we are paying for.

When we dine at a fancy restaurant or take an exotic vacation (and post the images on Facebook), we do enjoy the experience, no doubt; but we also enjoy the secret pleasure that not everyone can do what we do.

This economic reality is mirrored in the Manna story I posted last week. What is being decimated in the story is the middle-management, the middle class of the corporate world, if you will. The top end (senior management) gets fatter, and the bottom end (those poor saps managed by Manna) gets leaner.

I have a bit more to say about this, and how western style democracy has become a plutocracy (as reflected in the Fox “News” Network), but this post is already a bit too long. Stay tuned for the next one!

Photo by Cory M. Grenier cc