凡何去何从?

The safer, easier way to pay online. 本系列 ("创贸易的人生") 和最后 ("如何做了银行工作?") 可作为一个设计精美的打印电子书与移动设备兼容. 你可以得到它在网上的 $5.49 立即下载.
可作为电子书.

现在购买!

我们开始了这漫长的系列我的书间距, 定量发展的原则. 本系列, 和相关的电子书, 是书的非技术介绍章节的扩大版 — 什么是我们需要记住,在设计一个交易平台的事情? 为什么它重要的是要了解金融和银行业的大图? 希望, 这些职位给你它的味道在这里. 如果您想保留系列得心应手的副本, 您可以购买并下载 制作精美的电子书 版本.

Further steps

我们通过银行的结构,从充满异国情调和结构​​性交易的角度去. 我们谈到了各办事处 (前台, 中台和后台) 并指出了工作机会的数量范围内的专业人士. 银行的组织结构是处理行业的动态生命周期的设备.

如果银行的结构是类似的空间组织, 行业的生命周期是时间变化; 他们的关系是这样的铁轨和列车. 我们花了相当多的时间在行业的前端办公和中台球队之间的流动, 如何交易获得批准, 处理, 监测, 结算及托管. 每个团队都有自己的观点和工作模式,帮助他们有效地执行任务.

贸易前景是我们谈到的最后一个重大课题. 正如我们所看到, 这些观点是基于这样银行的各个团队执行任务. 他们形成行话的背景下, 并且是重要的,如果我们要发展的方式大局的认识银行工作. 最少数, 特别是在初级水平, 鄙视大图. 他们认为它是从他们的实际结婚随机微积分到C的工作分心 . 但对于一个交易者, 在世界上最好的模型是毫无价值的,除非它可以部署. 当我们改变我们的窄, 虽然有效, 专注于手头的工作,我们的作用,在组织的理解和价值, 我们将看到的系统和过程的失败的可能点以及有所作为的机会. 然后,我们将能够更好地把我们的事业,以充分发挥其潜力.

评论

Where to Go from Here?

The safer, easier way to pay online. This series ("Life of a Trade") and the last ("How Does a Bank Work?") are available as a beautifully designed printable eBook compatible with mobile devices. You can get it online for $5.49 for immediate download.
Available as an eBook.

Buy it now!

We started this long series with a pitch for my book, Principles of Quantitative Development. This series, and the associated eBook, is an expanded version of the non-technical introductory chapters of the book — what are the things we need to keep in mind while designing a trading platform? Why is it important to know the big picture of finance and banking? Hopefully, these posts have given you a taste of it here. If you would keep a copy of the series handy, you can purchase and download the beautifully crafted eBook version.

Further steps

We went through the structure of the bank from the exotic and structured trading perspective. We talked about the various offices (Front Office, Middle Office and Back Office) and pointed out the career opportunities for quantitative professionals within. The organizational structure of the bank is the apparatus that processes the dynamic lifecycle of trades.

If the structure of the bank is akin to the spatial organization, the lifecycle of the trade is the temporal variation; their relation is like that of the rails and the trains. We spent quite a bit of time on the flow of the trades between the front office and middle office teams, how the trades get approved, processed, monitored, settled and managed. Each of these teams has their own perspective or work paradigm that helps them carry out their tasks efficiently.

Trade Perspectives was the last major topic we touched upon. As we saw, these perspectives are based on the way the various teams of the bank perform their tasks. They form the backdrop of the jargon, and are important if we are to develop a big-picture understanding of the way a bank works. Most quants, especially at junior levels, despise the big picture. They think of it as a distraction from their real work of marrying stochastic calculus to C++. But to a trader, the best model in the world is worthless unless it can be deployed. When we change our narrow, albeit effective, focus on the work at hand to an understanding of our role and value in the organization, we will see the possible points of failure of the systems and processes as well as the opportunities to make a difference. We will then be better placed to take our careers to its full potential.