الوسم المحفوظات: فوتو

أحداث وصور المفقودين في برنامج iPhoto?

اسمحوا لي أن أخمن – حصلت إيماك الجديد. كان لديك آلة الزمن احتياطية حديثة على جهاز الكبسولة الزمنية. إنشاء وإيماك الجديد سهل يبعث على السخرية — نشير فقط إلى النسخ الاحتياطي. وبعد بضع ساعات, آي ماك الجديد الخاص بك هو تماما مثل ماك القديم, وصولا إلى ورقة جدار ومتصفح التاريخ. كنت تهز رأسك في الكفر وتقول لنفسك, “رجل, هذا الشيء يعمل فقط! هذه هي الطريقة التي يفترض أن تكون!”

وقبل بضعة أيام في وقت لاحق, كنت اطلاق النار حتى فوتو بك. وتقول انها تحتاج لتحديث قاعدة البيانات أو أيا كان. لا عرق. فقط بضع دقائق — إيماك الجديد هو سريع يبعث على السخرية. أهلا وسهلا — ما هو الخطأ مع الأحداث الأربعة الماضية? كيف تأتي ليست لديهم صور في نفوسهم? جيد, في الواقع, لديهم شيء, يمكنك مشاهدة الصور المصغرة لثانية واحدة, ثم يختفون. يبدو أن الأحداث أن يكون العدد الصحيح من الصور. حتى أنها قائمة على طراز الكاميرا وبيانات التعرض.

كنت الصفر رأسك وتقول لنفسك, “جيد, قد يكون لم آلة احتياطية الوقت لا فك صحيح أو أيا كان. قد تكون ترقية النسخة افسدت بعض البيانات. لا عرق. يمكنني استخدام آلة الزمن والبحث عن الحق في مكتبة iPhoto.” كنت اطلاق النار حتى آلة الزمن — ربما للمرة الأولى لريال مدريد. استعادة النسخة الاحتياطية جيدة الأخير من مكتبة iPhoto إلى سطح المكتب, وإطلاق برنامج iPhoto مرة أخرى. تحديث قاعدة البيانات مرة أخرى. قلق الانتظار. مهلا, لا تزال الأحداث اللعينة مفقود.

يبدأ الذعر وضع في. جنون جوجل عن أجوبة. طيب, باستمرار خيار ومفاتيح القيادة, وإطلاق برنامج iPhoto. تجديد الصور المصغرة. إصلاح المكتبة. إعادة بناء قاعدة البيانات. لا يزال, و ****** الأحداث ترفض العودة.

كيف لي أن أعرف كل هذا? لأن هذا هو بالضبط ما فعلته. كنت محظوظا رغم. تمكنت من استعادة الأحداث. اتضح لي أن المشكلة ليست مع عملية الاستعادة, ولا التحديث نسخة من برنامج iPhoto. وكانت هذه العملية آلة النسخ الاحتياطي في الوقت — كان النسخ الاحتياطي غير مكتمل. كان لي من العمر ماك ومكتبة فوتو القديمة على حالها. لذلك أنا نسخها المكتبة القديمة لأكثر من إيماك جديدة (مباشرة, عبر الشبكة; ليس من آلة النسخ الاحتياطي في الوقت). وبعد ذلك بدأ برنامج iPhoto على الجهاز الجديد. بعد تحديث قاعدة البيانات اللازمة, وأظهرت كل الأحداث والصور حتى. تفو!

ذلك ما حدث بالضبط الخطأ? يبدو أن آلة الزمن لا احتياطية مكتبة فوتو صحيح إذا فوتو مفتوح (according to Apple). أكثر دقة, قد لا تحصل على ايد الصور والأحداث المستوردة مؤخرا. هذا الخطأ (أو “ميزة”) و ذكرت في وقت سابق و ناقش بالتفصيل.

ظننت انني سوف حصة تجربتي هنا لأنه كان قطعة مهمة من المعلومات وربما انقاذ شخص بعض الوقت, وربما بعض الصور القيمة. وأشعر أنه مخادع من آبل في الترويج آلة الزمن كما أم كل حلول النسخ الاحتياطي مع هذا الخطأ الفاضح. بعد كل شيء, صورك هي من أثمن البيانات الخاصة بك. إذا لم تكن مدعومة من أجلها وهاجر صحيح, لماذا عناء مع آلة الزمن على الإطلاق?

إلى خلاصة:

  1. إذا وجدت جمع الصورة غير مكتملة بعد الهجرة إلى إيماك الخاص بك لامعة جديدة (باستخدام آلة النسخ الاحتياطي في الوقت), لا تقلق إذا كنت لا تزال لديها ماك القديم.
  2. خروج بأمان من iPhoto على كل من آلات.
  3. نسخ مكتبة iPhoto القديمة من ماك القديم لأكثر من واحد جديد, بعد الخروج بشكل صحيح من iPhoto على الجهازين.
  4. إعادة تشغيل برنامج iPhoto على ماك الجديد والتمتع.

كيفية منع هذا من الحدوث

قبل النهائي آلة الزمن احتياطية من ماك القديم, تأكد من عدم تشغيل برنامج iPhoto. في الواقع, قد يكون من المفيد الخروج من جميع التطبيقات قبل أخذ اللقطة النهائية.

إذا كنت تريد أن تتأكد من مضاعفة, النظر في حل آخر النسخ الاحتياطي الآلي لمجرد مكتبة iPhoto الخاص. أنا استخدم نسخة كربونية شبيه.

صور بواسطة فيكتور سفينسون

كيفية تجنب تكرار الواردات في برنامج iPhoto

للمصور في مهدها فيكم, فوتو هو هبة من السماء. هو برنامج منظمة آي لايف الصورة التي تأتي مثبتة مسبقا على جهاز ماك فاخر جديد أو ماك بوك اير. في الواقع, وأود أن أذهب إلى حد القول بأن فوتو هي واحدة من الأسباب الرئيسية للتبديل إلى ماك. وأنا أعلم, هناك بدائل, ولكن للاندماج وسلس كما هو والحرير سير العمل, فوتو يسود.

iPhotoTaggerلكن (من, هناك دائما “لكن”), سير العمل في برنامج iPhoto يمكن أن تخلق مشكلة للبعض. وتتوقع لك لاطلاق النار على الصور, توصيل الكاميرا إلى جهاز Mac, نقل الصور من الكاميرا إلى ماك, تعزيز / تحرير ومشاركة (الفيسبوك, فليكر) أو الطباعة أو جعل الكتب والصور. هذا التدفق (مع بعض التعرف على الوجوه, إزالة العين الحمراء, الحدث / ألبوم خلق الخ) تعمل مثل السحر — إذا كنت بدأت للتو مع الكاميرا الرقمية الجديدة. ماذا لو كان لديك بالفعل 20,000 الصور القديمة ويمسح على جهاز الكمبيوتر القديم الخاص بك (في “بلدي صور”)?

هذه هي المشكلة واجهت عندما بدأت اللعب مع فوتو. فخر لي نفسي في توقع مثل هذه المشاكل. هكذا, قررت لاستيراد مكتبتي القديمة بعناية فائقة. أثناء استيراد “بلدي صور” (الذي تم تنظيمه إلى حد ما لتبدأ), ذهبت من خلال ذلك المجلد حسب المجلد, سحب واسقاط لهم على برنامج iPhoto و, في نفس الوقت, واصفة إياهم (والصور فيها) مع ما فكرت كانت الألوان المناسبة. (لقد استخدمت “الحصول على معلومات” وظيفة في Finder للتسميات اللون.) ظننت أنني كونها ذكية, ولكن انتهى بي الأمر مع غرامة (ولكن ملونة) فوضى, مع بلدي المجلدات والصور سبورتينغ ألوان عشوائية. بدا من المستحيل مقارنة ومعرفة وحيث بلدي 20,000 حصلت على استيراد الصور إلى في آي فوتو; لذلك قررت أن أكتب بلدي الأول جدا ماك التطبيق — iPhotoTagger. استغرق مني حوالي أسبوع لأنه يكتب, ولكنه تسويتها مخاوفي الصورة. الآن أريد أن بيعه وكسب بعض المال.

هنا هو ما تقوم به. لأول مرة يذهب من خلال مكتبة فوتو الخاص بك وكتالوجات ما لديك هناك. ثم يمسح المجلد الذي تحدده ويقارن الصور في هناك مع تلك الموجودة في مكتبتك. إذا تم العثور على الصور مرة واحدة بالضبط, وسوف تحصل على تسمية الخضراء, بحيث تبرز عند استعراض إليه في Finder الخاص بك (وهو ماك الحديث لمستكشف ويندوز). وبالمثل, إذا كانت الصورة تبدو أكثر من مرة واحدة في مكتبة فوتو الخاص بك, سيتم الموسومة في الأصفر. و, الذهاب إلى الميل الإضافي, سوف iPhotoTagger لون المجلد الخاص بك إذا الخضراء داخل تم استيراد كافة الصور في مكتبة فوتو الخاص بك. سيتم الموسومة تلك المجلدات التي تم استيرادها جزئيا الأصفر.

ويتم مقارنة الصورة باستخدام بيانات كسيف, وغير دقيقة إلى حد ما. لاحظ أن iPhotoTagger لا تعديل أي شيء داخل مكتبة فوتو الخاص بك. هذا من شأنه أن يكون من الحكمة. انها مجرد يقرأ مكتبة لجمع المعلومات.

هذا الإصدار الأول (V1.0) يتم تحريرها لاختبار المياه, إذا جاز التعبير, وبسعر $1.99. إذا كان هناك ما يكفي من الاهتمام, وسأعمل على V2.0 مع تحسين الأداء (باستخدام بيرل وسكليتي, إذا يجب أن تعرف). وسوف تسعير عليه في $2.99. و, إذا كانت الفائدة لا يضعف, وV3.0 (إلى $3.99) سوف تظهر مع ملف تعليمات الصحيح, جزء الأداء, خيارات لاختيار نظام الألوان الخاصة بك, تعليقات أضواء (و, إذا يجب أن تعرف, ربما إعادة كتابة في الهدف-C). قبل أن تتسرع أن ترسل لي المال, يرجى العلم أن iPhotoTagger يتطلب سنو ليوبارد والأسد (OS-X 10.6 و 10.7). إذا كنت في شك, يمكنك تحميل النسخة لايت ولعب معها. انها تعمل بكامل طاقتها, وسوف إنشاء قوائم من الصور / المجلدات إلى أن يتم تمييز في الأخضر والأصفر, ولكن لن علامة في الواقع لهم.

Tag Archives: iphoto

1041815367_880b482111_imac

Missing Events and Photos in iPhoto?

Let me guess – you got your new iMac. You had a recent Time Machine backup on your Time Capsule. Setting up the new iMac was ridiculously easy — just point to the backup. A few hours later, your new iMac is just like your old Mac, right down to the wall paper and browser history. You shake your head in disbelief and say to yourself, “Man, this thing just works! This is the way it is supposed to be!”

A couple of days later, you fire up your iPhoto. It says it needs to update the database or whatever. No sweat. Just a couple of minutes — the new iMac is ridiculously fast. Hullo — what is wrong with the last four events? How come they have no photos in them? Well, actually, they do have something, you can see the thumbnails for a second, and then they disappear. The events seem to have the right number of photos. They even list the camera model and exposure data.

You scratch your head and say to yourself, “Well, may be the Time Machine backup didn’t unpack properly or whatever. May be the version upgrade messed up some data. No sweat. I can use the Time Machine and find the right iPhoto Library.” You fire up the Time Machine — probably for the first time for real. You restore the last good backup of the iPhoto Library to your desktop, and launch iPhoto again. Database update again. Anxious wait. Hey, the damned events are still missing.

Panic begins to set in. Mad Google for answers. Ok, hold down the Option and Command keys, and launch iPhoto. Regenerate thumbnails. Repair the library. Rebuild the Database. Still, the ****** events refuse to come back.

How do I know all this? Because this is exactly what I did. I was lucky though. I managed to recover the events. It dawned on me that the problem was not with the restore process, nor the version update of iPhoto. It was the Time Machine backup process — the backup was incomplete. I had the old Mac and the old iPhoto library intact. So I copied the old library over to the new iMac (directly, over the network; not from the Time Machine backup). I then started iPhoto on the new machine. After the necessary database update, all the events and photos showed up. Phew!

So what exactly went wrong? It appears that Time Machine doesn’t backup the iPhoto Library properly if iPhoto is open (according to Apple). More precisely, the recently imported photos and events may not get backed up. This bug (or “feature”) was reported earlier and discussed in detail.

I thought I would share my experience here because it was important piece of information and might save somebody some time, and possibly some valuable photos. And I feel it is disingenuous of Apple to tout the Time Machine as the mother of all backup solutions with this glaring bug. After all, your photos are among the most precious of your data. If they are not backed up and migrated properly, why bother with Time Machine at all?

To recap:

  1. If you find your photo collection incomplete after migrating to your shiny new iMac (using a Time Machine backup), don’t panic if you still have your old Mac.
  2. Exit gracefully from iPhoto on both the machines.
  3. Copy your old iPhoto Library from the old Mac over to the new one, after properly exiting from iPhoto on both machines.
  4. Restart iPhoto on the new Mac and enjoy.

How to prevent this from happening

Before the final Time Machine backup from your old Mac, ensure that iPhoto is not running. In fact, it may be worth exiting from all applications before taking the final snapshot.

If you want to be doubly sure, consider another automated backup solution just for your iPhoto Library. I use Carbon Copy Cloner.

Photo by Victor Svensson

19e67a04210afd06a73c452d_640_iphoto-imports

How to Avoid Duplicate Imports in iPhoto

For the budding photographer in you, iPhoto is a godsend. It is the iLife photo organization program that comes pre-installed on your swanky new iMac or Mac Book Air. In fact, I would go as far as to say that iPhoto is one of the main reasons to switch to a Mac. I know, there are alternatives, but for seamless integration and smooth-as-silk workflow, iPhoto reigns supreme.

iPhotoTaggerBut (ah, there is always a “but”), the workflow in iPhoto can create a problem for some. It expects you to shoot pictures, connect your camera to your Mac, move the photos from the camera to the Mac, enhance/edit and share (Facebook, flickr) or print or make photo books. This flow (with some face recognition, red-eye removal, event/album creation etc.) works like a charm — if you are just starting out with your new digital camera. What if you already have 20,000 old photos and scans on your old computer (in “My Pictures”)?

This is the problem I was faced with when I started playing with iPhoto. I pride myself in anticipating such problems. So, I decided to import my old library very carefully. While importing “My Pictures” (which was fairly organized to begin with), I went through it folder by folder, dragging-and-dropping them on iPhoto and, at the same time, labeling them (and the photos therein) with what I thought were appropriate colors. (I used the “Get Info” function in Finder for color labels.) I thought I was being clever, but I ended up with a fine (but colorful) mess, with my folders and photos sporting random colors. It looked impossible to compare and figure out and where my 20,000 photos got imported to in iPhoto; so I decided to write my very first Mac App — iPhotoTagger. It took me about a week to write it, but it sorted out my photo worries. Now I want to sell it and make some money.

Here is what it does. It first goes through your iPhoto library and catalogs what you have there. It then scans the folder you specify and compares the photos in there with those in your library. If a photo is found exactly once, it will get a Green label, so that it stands out when you browse to it in your Finder (which is Mac-talk for Windows Explorer). Similarly, if the photo appears more than once in your iPhoto library, it will be tagged in Yellow. And, going the extra-mile, iPhotoTagger will color your folder Green if all the photos within have been imported into your iPhoto library. Those folders that have been partially imported will be tagged Yellow.

The photo comparison is done using Exif data, and is fairly accurate. Note that iPhotoTagger doesn’t modify anything within your iPhoto library. Doing so would be unwise. It merely reads the library to gather information.

This first version (V1.0) is released to test the waters, as it were, and is priced at $1.99. If there is enough interest, I will work on V2.0 with improved performance (using Perl and SQLite, if you must know). I will price it at $2.99. And, if the interest doesn’t wane, a V3.0 (for $3.99) will appear with a proper help file, performance pane, options to choose your own color scheme, SpotLight comments (and, if you must know, probably rewritten in Objective-C). Before you rush to send me money, please know that iPhotoTagger requires Snow Leopard and Lion (OS-X 10.6 and 10.7). If in doubt, you can download the lite version and play with it. It is fully functional, and will create lists of photos/folders to be tagged in Green and Yellow, but won’t actually tag them.