标记档案: iPhoto中

失踪事件和照片在iPhoto?

让我猜猜 – 你有你的新的iMac. 你有最近的Time Machine备份您的Time Capsule. 建立新的iMac是可笑容易 — 只是点到备份. 几个小时后, 新的iMac就像旧Mac, 一直到墙纸和浏览器历史记录. 你摇动你的头在怀疑和对自己说:, “男人, 这件事情只是工作! 这是它的方式被认为是!”

几天后, 你火了你的iPhoto. 它说,它需要更新数据库或任何. 无汗. 只需几分钟 — 新款iMac是快的离谱. 喂 — 什么是错的最后四项赛事? 为什么他们没有照片在其中? 好, 其实, 他们这样做有什么, 你可以看到缩略图第二, 然后他们消失. 这些事件似乎有照片的权利数量. 他们甚至连相机型号和曝光数据.

你挠你的头和对自己说, “好, 可能是Time Machine备份没有正确地解包或其他. 可能是版本升级搞砸了一些数据. 无汗. 我可以用时间机器,并找到合适的iPhoto图书馆。” 你火起来的时间机器 — 可能首次即时. 您恢复iPhoto图库的最后一个良好的备份到你的桌面, 并再次启动的iPhoto. 再次数据库更新. 焦急等待. 嘿嘿, 该死的事件仍下落不明.

恐慌开始设置. 谷歌狂答案. 行, 按住Option和Command键, 并推出的iPhoto. 重新生成缩略图. 修库. 重建数据库. 还, 该 ****** 事件拒绝回来.

我怎么知道这一切? 因为这正是我所做的. 我是幸运的,虽然. 我设法收回事件. 我恍然大悟,问题是不是与恢复过程, 也不iPhoto中的版本更新. 这是Time Machine备份过程 — 备份是不完整的. 我有旧的Mac和老iPhoto图库完好. 所以,我到新的iMac复制的旧库 (直, 通过网络; 不是从Time Machine备份). 然后我开始iPhoto中的新机. 必要的数据库更新后, 所有的活动和照片显示了. 表示不快!

那么究竟是什么出了问题? 看来,Time Machine不备份iPhoto图库正确,如果iPhoto中打开 (according to Apple). 更确切地说, 最近导入的照片和事件可能不会被备份. 此错误 (或 “特点”) 是 报道 更早 在详细地讨论.

我以为我会分享我的经验,在这里,因为它是重要的信息块,可能节省的人一些时间, 可能还有一些珍贵照片. 我觉得这是虚伪的苹果吹捧的时光机器,因为所有的备份解决方案的母亲与此明显错误. 毕竟, 您的照片是最珍贵的数据,. 如果他们不进行备份,并正确迁移, 为什么使用Time Machine打扰可言?

为了重温:

  1. 如果你发现你的照片集迁移到你闪亮的新的iMac后不完整 (使用Time Machine备份), 不要惊慌,如果你仍然有你的旧的Mac.
  2. 从iPhoto正常退出两台计算机上.
  3. 从旧的Mac复制旧的iPhoto图库转移到新的, 后从iPhoto在两台机器上正确地退出.
  4. 重新启动iPhoto中的新Mac和享受.

如何防止这种情况的发生

从旧的Mac最终Time Machine备份之前,, 确保的iPhoto未运行. 事实上, 它可能是从所有应用程序值得考虑退出决赛之前快照.

如果你想加倍确定, 考虑另一种自动化的备份解决方案,只为您的iPhoto图库. 我用碳复制克隆.

照片维克多·斯文森

如何避免重复的iPhoto进口

对于你的萌芽摄影师, iPhoto中是一个天赐良机. 它是来自于你的时髦的新款iMac或Mac书航预装iLife的照片组织方案. 事实上, 我会去尽量说的iPhoto是主要的原因之一切换到Mac. 我知道, 有替代品, 但对于无缝集成和光滑如丝的工作流程, iPhoto中至高无上.

iPhotoTagger但 (的, 总有一个 “但”), 在iPhoto中的工作流程可以创建一些问题. 它希望你拍摄的照片, 将相机连接到Mac, 从摄像机到Mac移动照片, 增强/编辑和共享 (Facebook的, Flickr的) 或打印或制作照片书. 这种流动 (一些人脸识别, 消除红眼, 事件/创作专辑等。) 就像一个魅力 — 如果你是刚开始你新的数码相机. 如果你已经有了 20,000 老照片和扫描你的旧电脑 (在 “我的图片”)?

这是我面对的时候,我开始与iPhoto玩的问题. 我非常自豪自己在期待这样的问题. 所以, 我决定非常仔细地导入我的老图书馆. 虽然进口 “我的图片” (这是相当举办开始), 我通过它去文件夹中的文件夹, 拖动 - 和 - 拖放在iPhoto中和, 同时, 他们贴标签 (而其中的照片) 与我的想法是适当的颜色. (我用了 “获取信息” 功能在Finder中的彩色标签。) 我还以为我被聪明, 但我结束了罚款 (但丰富多彩) 乱, 我的文件夹和照片运动随机颜色. 它看起来不可能比较,并找出在哪里我 20,000 照片得到了在iPhoto进口; 所以我决定写我的第一个Mac应用程序 — iPhotoTagger. 我花了大约一个星期写, 但它整理出来我的照片的忧虑. 现在我想把它卖掉,赚点钱.

这里是做什么的. 它首先通过你的iPhoto图书馆和编目你有没有. 然后,它会扫描你指定的文件夹和照片在那里与库中的比较. 如果照片中只有一次, 它会得到一个绿色标签, 使其脱颖而出,当你浏览到它在你的搜索器 (这是苹果,聊了Windows资源管理器). 同样, 如果照片中的iPhoto图库中出现多次, 它会被标记在黄. 和, 去额外英里, iPhotoTagger将彩色文件夹绿色,如果所有的照片中已导入到iPhoto图库. 已部分导入这些文件夹将被标记黄色.

使用Exif数据中的照片进行比较时, 并且是相当准确. 需要注意的是iPhotoTagger不iPhoto图库中的任何修改. 这样做是不明智的. 它只是读库收集信息.

这第一个版本 (V1.0) 被释放到测试水, 因为它是, 而售价为 $1.99. 如果有足够的兴趣, 我将努力V2.0改进的性能 (使用Perl和SQLite, 如果你一定要知道). 我会在价格呢 $2.99. 和, 如果利率不衰, 一个V3.0 (为 $3.99) 会出现一个适当的帮助文件, 性能窗格, 选项​​来选择自己的配色方案, Spotlight注释 (和, 如果你一定要知道, 可能改写在Objective-C). 之前,你赶紧去给我的钱, 请知道iPhotoTagger需要雪豹和狮子 (OS-X 10.6 和 10.7). 如有疑问, 您可以 下载精简版的版本 和它玩. 它是全功能的, 并创建照片/文件夹列表被标记为绿色,黄色, 但不会实际标记它们.

Tag Archives: iphoto

1041815367_880b482111_imac

Missing Events and Photos in iPhoto?

Let me guess – you got your new iMac. You had a recent Time Machine backup on your Time Capsule. Setting up the new iMac was ridiculously easy — just point to the backup. A few hours later, your new iMac is just like your old Mac, right down to the wall paper and browser history. You shake your head in disbelief and say to yourself, “Man, this thing just works! This is the way it is supposed to be!”

A couple of days later, you fire up your iPhoto. It says it needs to update the database or whatever. No sweat. Just a couple of minutes — the new iMac is ridiculously fast. Hullo — what is wrong with the last four events? How come they have no photos in them? Well, actually, they do have something, you can see the thumbnails for a second, and then they disappear. The events seem to have the right number of photos. They even list the camera model and exposure data.

You scratch your head and say to yourself, “Well, may be the Time Machine backup didn’t unpack properly or whatever. May be the version upgrade messed up some data. No sweat. I can use the Time Machine and find the right iPhoto Library.” You fire up the Time Machine — probably for the first time for real. You restore the last good backup of the iPhoto Library to your desktop, and launch iPhoto again. Database update again. Anxious wait. Hey, the damned events are still missing.

Panic begins to set in. Mad Google for answers. Ok, hold down the Option and Command keys, and launch iPhoto. Regenerate thumbnails. Repair the library. Rebuild the Database. Still, the ****** events refuse to come back.

How do I know all this? Because this is exactly what I did. I was lucky though. I managed to recover the events. It dawned on me that the problem was not with the restore process, nor the version update of iPhoto. It was the Time Machine backup process — the backup was incomplete. I had the old Mac and the old iPhoto library intact. So I copied the old library over to the new iMac (directly, over the network; not from the Time Machine backup). I then started iPhoto on the new machine. After the necessary database update, all the events and photos showed up. Phew!

So what exactly went wrong? It appears that Time Machine doesn’t backup the iPhoto Library properly if iPhoto is open (according to Apple). More precisely, the recently imported photos and events may not get backed up. This bug (or “feature”) was reported earlier and discussed in detail.

I thought I would share my experience here because it was important piece of information and might save somebody some time, and possibly some valuable photos. And I feel it is disingenuous of Apple to tout the Time Machine as the mother of all backup solutions with this glaring bug. After all, your photos are among the most precious of your data. If they are not backed up and migrated properly, why bother with Time Machine at all?

To recap:

  1. If you find your photo collection incomplete after migrating to your shiny new iMac (using a Time Machine backup), don’t panic if you still have your old Mac.
  2. Exit gracefully from iPhoto on both the machines.
  3. Copy your old iPhoto Library from the old Mac over to the new one, after properly exiting from iPhoto on both machines.
  4. Restart iPhoto on the new Mac and enjoy.

How to prevent this from happening

Before the final Time Machine backup from your old Mac, ensure that iPhoto is not running. In fact, it may be worth exiting from all applications before taking the final snapshot.

If you want to be doubly sure, consider another automated backup solution just for your iPhoto Library. I use Carbon Copy Cloner.

Photo by Victor Svensson

19e67a04210afd06a73c452d_640_iphoto-imports

How to Avoid Duplicate Imports in iPhoto

For the budding photographer in you, iPhoto is a godsend. It is the iLife photo organization program that comes pre-installed on your swanky new iMac or Mac Book Air. In fact, I would go as far as to say that iPhoto is one of the main reasons to switch to a Mac. I know, there are alternatives, but for seamless integration and smooth-as-silk workflow, iPhoto reigns supreme.

iPhotoTaggerBut (ah, there is always a “but”), the workflow in iPhoto can create a problem for some. It expects you to shoot pictures, connect your camera to your Mac, move the photos from the camera to the Mac, enhance/edit and share (Facebook, flickr) or print or make photo books. This flow (with some face recognition, red-eye removal, event/album creation etc.) works like a charm — if you are just starting out with your new digital camera. What if you already have 20,000 old photos and scans on your old computer (in “My Pictures”)?

This is the problem I was faced with when I started playing with iPhoto. I pride myself in anticipating such problems. So, I decided to import my old library very carefully. While importing “My Pictures” (which was fairly organized to begin with), I went through it folder by folder, dragging-and-dropping them on iPhoto and, at the same time, labeling them (and the photos therein) with what I thought were appropriate colors. (I used the “Get Info” function in Finder for color labels.) I thought I was being clever, but I ended up with a fine (but colorful) mess, with my folders and photos sporting random colors. It looked impossible to compare and figure out and where my 20,000 photos got imported to in iPhoto; so I decided to write my very first Mac App — iPhotoTagger. It took me about a week to write it, but it sorted out my photo worries. Now I want to sell it and make some money.

Here is what it does. It first goes through your iPhoto library and catalogs what you have there. It then scans the folder you specify and compares the photos in there with those in your library. If a photo is found exactly once, it will get a Green label, so that it stands out when you browse to it in your Finder (which is Mac-talk for Windows Explorer). Similarly, if the photo appears more than once in your iPhoto library, it will be tagged in Yellow. And, going the extra-mile, iPhotoTagger will color your folder Green if all the photos within have been imported into your iPhoto library. Those folders that have been partially imported will be tagged Yellow.

The photo comparison is done using Exif data, and is fairly accurate. Note that iPhotoTagger doesn’t modify anything within your iPhoto library. Doing so would be unwise. It merely reads the library to gather information.

This first version (V1.0) is released to test the waters, as it were, and is priced at $1.99. If there is enough interest, I will work on V2.0 with improved performance (using Perl and SQLite, if you must know). I will price it at $2.99. And, if the interest doesn’t wane, a V3.0 (for $3.99) will appear with a proper help file, performance pane, options to choose your own color scheme, SpotLight comments (and, if you must know, probably rewritten in Objective-C). Before you rush to send me money, please know that iPhotoTagger requires Snow Leopard and Lion (OS-X 10.6 and 10.7). If in doubt, you can download the lite version and play with it. It is fully functional, and will create lists of photos/folders to be tagged in Green and Yellow, but won’t actually tag them.