الوسم المحفوظات: أخلاق

الأخلاق في الأعمال التجارية والقيادة

[This post is the speech given by Prof. Surya Sethi at World Forum for Ethics in Business – ندوة القيادة الدولية الاثنين, أبريل 2, 2012 في سنغافورة. يرد هنا بإذن.]

لقد طلب مني لتغطية مجموعة واسعة من القضايا المتعلقة بالأعمال التجارية استعادة الثقة لتحقيق الاستدامة في سياق تغير المناخ وأزمة الطاقة العالمية. الأهم, لقد طلب مني أن تفعل ذلك في 10 دقيقة تعكس كفاءة الدولة المدينة ونحن في.

اسمحوا لي أن أبدأ التفريق بين القيم المعنوية والأخلاقية. وبناء على ما سمعته هذا الصباح, يبدو أن هناك بعض الخلط بين الأخلاق والآداب العامة. تعريف السابق الطابع الفردي والقائمة على المعتقدات الشخصية من الحق والباطل أو الخير والشر. وهذه الأخيرة هي في الأساس معايير وقواعد السلوك, المتوقع في سياق محدد, من مجموعة فرد ينتمي ل. الأخلاق عادة تشمل المجتمعي, الشركة, الوطني, المواثيق المهنية أو أخرى مماثلة. بشكل فردي, نعتبر قتل خطأ اخلاقيا ولكن يعتبر جيش مما أسفر عن مقتل الآلاف الأخلاقي، وغالبا ما زينت كعمل شجاعة من أجل الخير المشترك.

مؤسسات الأعمال, اليوم, المأهولة إلى حد كبير من الناحية الأخلاقية الأفراد تستقيم يقتلون الكوكب نشترك مع ضراوة جماعي, كثافة وسرعة التصفح التي من الحرب; والحصول على مكافأة لخلق التقييمات لم يسبق لها مثيل والتفوق تنافسية. الاستهلاك من أجل الاستهلاك, النمو من أجل النمو, الربح من أجل الربح ودعم السياسات وصانعي السياسات التي تدعم كل ما سبق هي القيم الأخلاقية التي توجه هذه المؤسسات.

الضرر البشري إلى البيئة على الأرض خلال آخر 60 سنوات تجاوزت الأضرار التي سببها البشر خلال تاريخهم كله حتى 1950. التوازن الدقيق بين المادية, تم بالانزعاج العمليات الكيميائية والبيولوجية التي تدعم الأرض كنظام مترابط واحد. انتقلت الأرض جيدا خارج نطاق التقلبات الطبيعية لها عرضت خلال النصف السابق مليون سنة في أقل تقدير. التغيرات البيئية المفاجئة مع التقيمات غير الخطية في ديناميات الأرض, مما يؤدي إلى نتائج كارثية, هي إمكانية حقيقية اليوم. وينبغي أن تكون أخلاقيات السعر تحديد وليس بالسعر الذي تحدده الأسواق. وكيل تسعير رأس المال الطبيعي وتجاهل المخاطر المصاحبة تغني الازدهار الاقتصادي الاستهلاك.

الأهم, النمو, وقد تركزت الاستهلاك والفوائد في قلة المحظوظة. الأعلى 20% من يستهلك العالم 80% من انتاجها حين أن الجزء السفلي 80% يعيش على التوازن 20%. أسفل 20% يعيش في فقر مدقع في استهلاك أقل من $1.25 PPP / اليوم أو عن 50cents / يوم في سنتا الاسمية في بلد مثل الهند التي تعد موطنا لثلث هؤلاء العالمية مؤسف. الذهاب فقط عن طريق فقر الدخل, لقد حان عدد الذين يعيشون تحت هذه العتبة ماسة إلى أسفل من بعض 500 مليون - بشكل كامل تقريبا بسبب انخفاض في الصين. لكن, مؤشر الفقر متعدد الأبعاد الأوسع الذي يشمل المعلمات مثل الصحة, التعليم, المساواة بين الجنسين, وصول, التمكين الخ. يدفع حصة من هؤلاء الناس المعوزين إلى حوالي 25% من سكان العالم. الأهم, عدد الأشخاص الذين يعيشون تحت خط الفقر العالمي $2 PPP في استهلاك يوم يبقى باستمرار عند حوالي 2.5 مليار أو نحو 36 % الإنسانية.

استهلاك الطاقة الحديثة يرتبط تماما لمؤشر التنمية البشرية (HDI) لكنه لا يزال يتملص أسفل 2.5 مليار الذين ما زالوا الطاقة جوعا. بينما 1.5 مليار بينهم, بما في ذلك أكثر 500 مليون من الهند, لا يحصلون على الكهرباء, 2.2 billion, بما في ذلك بعض 850 مليون من الهند استخدام بعض شكل من الكتلة الحيوية كمصدر أساسي أو الوحيد للطاقة لطهي الطعام –ضرورة الإنسان الأساسية. ستحرم عدد أكبر صول كنا لتسعير الطاقة, واحدة من أسرع تستنزف الموارد الطبيعية للأرض, بالقيمة الحقيقية. السبب الرئيسي في ذلك هو الاستهلاك المفرط المتواصلة التي يقوم بها بشكل جيد إلى.

بلدان منظمة التعاون والتنمية, ويبلغ عدد سكانها مجتمعة أقل من الهند تتمتع بأعلى مستويات المعيشة في العالم. بعد, تدريجي استهلاك الطاقة التجارية OECD للفترة 1997-2007 (قبل الأزمة المالية); و 3.2 أمثال نظيره في الهند. خلال هذه الفترة, وارتفعت حصة الهند من الاستهلاك العالمي للطاقة التجاري من 2.9% إلى 3.6% في حين انخفضت حصة OECD من 58% إلى ما يزيد قليلا 50%. ويرجع هذا الانخفاض متفرد في نمو نصيب الصين لأنها أصبحت أكبر مستهلك للطاقة في العالم.

الاستهلاك المفرط للطاقة هو أسوأ بكثير مما تكشف الأرقام. في عالم معولم, انتقلت الأعمال التجارية الكبيرة أجزاء كبيرة من قاعدة الإنتاج OECD بحثا عن رأس المال الطبيعي أرخص بما في ذلك المشاعات البيئية, وعلى الرغم تقدر بثمن, لا تزال متاحة مجانا في الصين والعالم النامي.

وإذا نظرنا إلى انبعاث غازات الدفيئة على أساس الاستهلاك وليس الإنتاج داخل حدودها, ثم الاتحاد الأوروبي 15 الانبعاثات بنسبة 47% وارتفعت انبعاثات الولايات المتحدة 43% منذ 1990. انبعاثات جزءا لا يتجزأ من واردات الاتحاد الأوروبي ال 15 حوالي 33% من انبعاثات داخل حدودها. وهذا يترجم إلى حوالي 3 طن نصيب الفرد من انبعاثات جزءا لا يتجزأ من واردات. استيراد انبعاثات جزءا لا يتجزأ بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة هو 20% أو حول 4 طن / فرد - في 2000, كان مستوى الواردات انبعاثات جزءا لا يتجزأ في كل من الولايات المتحدة وEU15 فقط 3% . انبعاثات جزءا لا يتجزأ من وحده في واردات للولايات المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي ال 15 ومرتين و 1.6 مرات على التوالي من مجموع الهند في انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة للفرد.

أكبر كذبة أن يقال لنا من قبل الشركات الكبرى وصناع السياسات التي تدعمها هو أن كفاءة استخدام الموارد هو الحل لاستدامة. وعلى الرغم من تحقيق مكاسب ضخمة في كفاءة استخدام الموارد, العالم يستهلك المزيد من رأس المال الطبيعي اليوم من أي وقت مضى، ونحن على السيارات الرائدة على الأقل ل 3.5 درجة مئوية الاحترار. إذا IPCC هو الحق, هذا سوف يطلق العنان الأحداث الكارثية والإبادة الجماعية للفقراء العالم في في المستقبل المنظور.

ببساطة, الأنماط الحالية للاستهلاك والإنتاج, السيدات والسادة, لا يمكن احتمالها. أنشطة المسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات مثل فتح المدارس والمستشفيات أو غرف مجلس الأخضر غسل مع أضواء كفاءة هي ببساطة غير كافية. أيضا غير كافية هو عقلية الأعمال التي التأثيرات الأولى ثم مجرد يلتقي اللوائح الحالية، ويرى قيمة إلا من حيث القيمة النقدية على أساس تحليل التكاليف والمنافع التبسيط

نحن بحاجة إلى إطار السياسة التي حدودا الأولى استخدامنا للوقود الأحفوري وغيرها من أشكال رأس المال الطبيعي ومن ثم تدريجيا يقلل ذلك في المهد إلى المهد نموذج تغذيها الابتكار. يجب أن يكون نموذج النمو لدينا واحدة شاملة أن يقلل من الاستهلاك المفرط غير المستدام من قبل عدد قليل وإعادة توزيع ذلك إلى أسفل 50% هذا العالم. لا, أنا لا نسعى لجعل الأغنياء الفقراء بجعل الفقراء الأغنياء - أنا مجرد السعي للحصول على حق أسفل 50% من العالم لديهم كرامة الحياة التي يوفرها استهلاك في 50% من مستويات الفقر في OECD. الظلم الحالية حيث ثالث أكبر اقتصاد في العالم من حيث PPP (الهند) يتم وضع 134 من حيث مؤشر التنمية البشرية، ولديها أكبر تجمع في العالم من الفقراء, البالغين يعانون من سوء التغذية والأطفال دون الوزن لا يمكن لها الصمود.

قادة الأعمال المستنير يجب أن لا يحدد فقط الاستدامة من حيث ضمان المساواة الموارد بين الأجيال ولكن أيضا رؤية الاستدامة عدم رفع الظلم الأجيال داخل الحالية، وبالتالي تقديم الحد الأدنى من القدرة على التكيف إلى أسفل 2.5 مليار من بني البشر في مواجهة وشيكة الأحداث المناخية المفاجئة.

في الختام, أقتبس المهاتما غاندي الذي قال: "العالم لديه ما يكفي لتلبية حاجة الجميع ولكن لا يكفي لتلبية الجشع حتى رجل واحد!"

أشكر لك على وقتك والاهتمام.

ثنائية

بعد أن دعا أحد أعلى 50 المدونين الفلسفة, أجد نفسي مضطرا تقريبا لكتابة وظيفة أخرى في الفلسفة. هذا قد يضايق جات الذين, في حين تقدر مشاركة في سيارتي الأولى, كان أقل نوعا ما من متحمسا الأفكار أعمق بلدي. أيضا تبحث شزرا في بلدي المساعي الفلسفية سيكون رفيق الريشة من الألغام الذين اشتكوا من أن بلدي وظائف على الموت خائفة من bejesus أصل له. لكن, ماذا يمكنني أن أقول, لقد تم الاستماع إلى الكثير من الفلسفة. لقد استمعت إلى المحاضرات التي يلقيها شيلي كاغان فقط على هذا الموضوع اللعين الموت, وجون سيرل (مرة أخرى) في فلسفة العقل.

الاستماع إلى هذه المحاضرات شغل لي مع نوع آخر من الفزع. أدركت مرة أخرى كيف يجهل أنا, وكم هناك لمعرفة, التفكير ومعرفة, وكيف الوقت اليسير المتبقى للقيام بكل ذلك. ولعل هذا الاعتراف جهلي هو علامة من الحكمة متزايد, إذا كان لنا أن نؤمن سقراط. على الأقل آمل أن يكون.

شيء واحد كان لي بعض المفاهيم الخاطئة حول (أو إلى فهم تام لل) وكان هذا مفهوم الثنائية. ينشأون في الهند, سمعت الكثير عن فلسفة الأحادية يسمى أدفياتا. كلمة لا تعني اثنين, وفهمت على أنها رفض للتمييز البراهمي ومايا. To illustrate it with an example, أقول لك الشعور شيء — كما ترى هذه الكلمات أمامك على شاشة الكمبيوتر. هل هذه الكلمات وشاشة الكمبيوتر هناك حقا? إذا كان لي أن تولد بطريقة أو بأخرى أنماط إطلاق الخلايا العصبية التي تخلق هذا الإحساس فيكم, كنت انظر هذه الكلمات حتى لو لم تكن هناك. هذا من السهل أن نفهم; بعد كل شيء, هذه هي الرسالة الرئيسية للفيلم ماتريكس. لذلك ما تراه هو مجرد بناء في الدماغ; فمن مايا أو جزء من مصفوفة. ما هو الذي يسبب المدخلات الحسية هي البراهمي يفترض. هكذا, لي, الأدفايتا يعني الثقة فقط الواقعية من البراهمي في حين رفض مايا. الآن, بعد قراءة أكثر قليلا, أنا لست متأكدا من ان كان وصفا دقيقا على الإطلاق. ولعل هذا هو لماذا انتقد رانجا منذ لي وقت طويل.

في الفلسفة الغربية, هناك نوع مختلف وأكثر وضوحا من الثنائية. هو الشيخوخة، العقل والنظر تميز. ما هو العقل مصنوعة من? معظمنا يفكر العقل (أولئك الذين يعتقدون منه, هذا هو) كبرنامج كمبيوتر يعمل على دماغنا. وبعبارة أخرى, العقل هو البرمجيات, الدماغ هو الجهاز. هم مختلفين أنواع من الاشياء. بعد كل شيء, نحن ندفع بشكل منفصل عن الأجهزة (ديل) والبرمجيات (مايكروسوفت). وبما أننا نفكر بها اثنين, لنا هو ثنائي بالنظر بطبيعتها. قبل وقت من أجهزة الكمبيوتر, يعتقد ديكارت من هذه المشكلة وقال ان هناك مادة العقلية ومادة البدنية. لذلك يسمى هذا الرأي الثنائية الديكارتية. (بالمناسبة, وجاءت الإحداثيات الديكارتية في الهندسة التحليلية من ديكارت وكذلك — وهذه حقيقة قد تعزز احترامنا له.) فمن وجهة النظر التي لديها تشعبات واسعة في جميع فروع الفلسفة, من الميتافيزيقيا لاهوت. أنه يؤدي إلى مفاهيم الروح والنفوس, الله, الحياة الاخرة, التناسخ الخ, مع تداعيات لا مفر منها على الأخلاق.

هناك الفلاسفة الذين يرفضون هذه الفكرة من الثنائية الديكارتية. جون سيرل هو واحد منهم. أنها تبني الرأي القائل بأن العقل هو خاصية الناشئة من الدماغ. خاصية الناشئة (دعا أكثر fancily ظاهرة عارضة) شيء ما يحدث بالمناسبة جنبا إلى جنب مع ظاهرة الرئيسية, ولكن ليست السبب ولا تأثير ذلك. خاصية الناشئة في الفيزياء التي نحن على دراية هو درجة الحرارة, وهو مقياس لمتوسط ​​سرعة حفنة من جزيئات. لا يمكنك تحديد درجة الحرارة إلا إذا كان لديك مجموعة من الجزيئات ذات دلالة إحصائية. يستخدم سيرل البلل من المياه كما مثاله لتوضيح ظهور خصائص. لا يمكن أن يكون جزيء الماء الرطب أو الجاف واحدة, ولكن عندما كنت وضعت الكثير من جزيئات الماء معا تحصل البلل. وبالمثل, العقل يخرج من مادة الفيزيائية للدماغ من خلال عمليات فيزيائية. لذلك كل الخصائص التي نعزو إلى الذهن هي أن أوضح بعيدا عن التفاعلات الفيزيائية. هناك نوع واحد فقط من مادة, وهو البدنية. لذلك تسمى هذه الفلسفة الأحادية الفيزيائي physicalism. الفيزيائي physicalism هو جزء من المادية (وينبغي عدم الخلط مع معناها الحالي — ما نعنيه فتاة مادية, على سبيل المثال).

تعلمون, و مشكلة مع الفلسفة غير أن هناك الكثير من المذهبين أن تفقد مسار ما يجري في هذه الغابة البرية من jargonism. إذا كنت صاغ كلمة unrealism للذهاب مع بلدي بلوق والترويج لها على أنها فرع من فروع الفلسفة, أو الأفضل من ذلك, مدرسة السنغافورية الفكر, أنا على يقين من أنني يمكن أن تجعل من العصا. أو ربما هو بالفعل مجال مقبول?

جميع المزاح جانبا, ويرى أن كل شيء على الجانب العقلي من الحياة, مثل الوعي, أفكار, المثل الخ, هو مظهر من مظاهر التفاعل البدنية (أنا إعادة صياغة تعريف الفيزيائي physicalism هنا, كما ترون) تتمتع عملة معينة بين الفلاسفة المعاصرين. كلا كاغان وسيرل تقبل بسهولة هذا الرأي, مثلا. ولكن هذا الرأي يتعارض مع ما الفلاسفة اليونانية القديمة مثل سقراط, فكر أفلاطون وأرسطو. أنهم جميعا يؤمنون شكلا من أشكال استمرار وجود مادة العقلية, سواء كان ذلك الروح, روح أو أيا كان. جميع الديانات الكبرى لديها بعض البديل من هذه الازدواجية جزءا لا يتجزأ من معتقداتهم. (أعتقد ثنائية أفلاطون هو من نوع مختلف — حقيقي, عالم غير كامل المكان الذي نعيش فيه من جهة, والعالم المثالي المثالي من الأشكال من جهة أخرى حيث يعيش النفوس والآلهة. أكثر على ذلك لاحقا.) بعد كل شيء, له الله أن تتكون من روحية “مادة” البعض من مادة المادية البحتة. أو كيف يمكن أن لا تكون خاضعة للقوانين المادية التي نحن, المزيد من البشر, يمكن فهمه?

لا شيء في الفلسفة مفصول تماما عن بعضها البعض. A موقف أساسي مثل ثنائية أو احديه أن تأخذ في التعامل مع الأسئلة على وعيه, الإدراك والعقل لها تداعيات في ما نوع الحياة التي تعيشها (أخلاق), كيف عليك تحديد واقع (الميتافيزيقيا), وكيف كنت تعرف هذه الأشياء (نظرية المعرفة). من خلال تأثيره على الأديان, قد تؤثر حتى لدينا السياسية الصراع على السلطة من الأوقات العصيبة لدينا. إذا كنت تفكر في ذلك فترة كافية, يمكنك الاتصال الثنائي / تمييز الأحادي حتى جماليات. بعد كل شيء, فعل ريتشارد Pirsig مجرد أن في بلده زن والفن من صيانة للدراجات النارية.

كما يقولون, إذا كانت الأداة الوحيدة لديك هي المطرقة, جميع المشاكل تبدأ لتبدو وكأنها مسامير. أداة بلدي الآن هو الفلسفة, لذلك أرى المسامير الفلسفية قليلا في كل مكان.

كيف تعيش حياتك

I think the whole philosophical school of ethics serves but one purpose — to tell use how to live our lives. Most religions do it too, at some level, and define what morality is. These prescriptions and teachings always bothered me a little. Why should I let anybody else decide for me what is good and what is not? و, by the same token, how can I tell you these things?

Despite such reservations, I decided to write this post on how to live your life — بعد كل شيء, this is my blog, and I can post anything I want. So today, I will talk about how to lead a good life. The first thing to do is to define what “جيدة” هو. What do we mean when we call something good? We clearly refer to different attributes by the same word when we apply it to different persons or objects, which is why a good girl is very different from a good lay. واحد “جيدة” refers to morality while the other, to performance in some sense. When applied to something already nebulous such as life, “جيدة” can mean practically anything. في هذا المعنى, defining the word good in the context of life is the same as defining how to lead a good life. Let’s try a few potential definitions of a good life.

Let’s first think of life as a race — a race to amass material wealth because this view enjoys a certain currency in these troubled times that we live in. This view, it must be said, is only a passing fad, no matter how entrenched it looks right now. It was only about fifty years ago that a whole hippie generation rebelled against another entrenched drive for material comforts of the previous generation. In the hazy years that followed, the materialistic view bounced back with a vengeance and took us all hostage. After its culmination in the obscenities of the Madoffs and the Stanfords, and the countless, less harmful parasites of their kind, we are perhaps at the beginning stages of another pendulum swing. This post is perhaps a reflection of this swing.

The trouble with a race-like, competitive or combative view of life is that the victory always seems empty to the victors and bitter to the vanquished. It really is not about winning at all, which is why the Olympian sprinter who busted up his knee halfway through the race hobbled on with his dad’s help (and why it moved those who watched the race). The same reason why we read and quote the Charge of the Light Brigade. It was never about winning. And there is a deep reason behind why a fitting paradigm of life cannot be that a race, which is that life is ultimately an unwinnable race. If the purpose of life is to live a little longer (as evolutionary biology teaches us), we will all fail when we die. With the trials and tribulations of life volleying and thundering all around us, we still ride on, without reasoning why, on to our certain end. Faced with such a complete and inevitable defeat, our life just cannot be about winning.

We might then think that it is some kind of glory that we are or should be after. If a life leads to glory during or after death, it perhaps is (or was) a good life. Glory doesn’t have to be a public, popular glory as that of a politician or a celebrity; it could be a small personal glory, as in the good memories we leave behind in those dear to us.

What will make a life worthy of being remembered? Where does the glory come from? For wherever it is, that is what would make a life a good life. I think the answer lies in the quality with which we do the little things in life. The perfection in big things will then follow. How do you paint a perfect picture? سهل, just be perfect first and then paint anything. And how do you live a perfect life? Easy again. Just be perfect in everything, especially the little things, أن تفعل. For life is nothing but the series of little things that you do now, now and now.

Image By Richard Caton Woodville, Jr. – Transferred from en.wikipedia to Commons by Melesse using CommonsHelper., Public Domain

Tag Archives: ethics

Ethics In Business and Leadership

[This post is the speech given by Prof. Surya Sethi at World Forum for Ethics in Business – International Leadership Symposium Monday, April 2, 2012 in Singapore. Reproduced here with permission.]

I have been asked to cover a broad spectrum of issues relating to business regaining trust for sustainability within the context of climate change and the global energy crisis. Importantly, I have been asked to do so in 10 minutes reflecting the efficiency of the city-state we are in.

Let me begin by differentiating between moral and ethical values. Based on what I heard this morning, there appears to be some confusion between morals and ethics. The former define individual character and are based on personal beliefs of right and wrong or good and bad. The latter are essentially standards and codes of conduct, expected in a specific context, from the group an individual belongs to. Ethics typically encompass societal, corporate, national, professional or other similar compacts. Individually, we consider killing as morally wrong but an army killing thousands is considered ethical and is often decorated as an act of bravery for common good.

Business enterprises, today, manned largely by morally upright individuals are collectively killing the planet we share with a ferocity, intensity and speed matching that of war; and getting rewarded for creating unprecedented valuations and competitive supremacy. Consumption for the sake of consumption, growth for the sake of growth, profit for the sake of profit and support for policies and policy makers that uphold all of the foregoing are the ethical values guiding these enterprises.

The anthropogenic damage to the earth’s ecology over the last 60 years exceeds the damage done by humans over their entire history up to 1950. The fine balance between physical, chemical and biological processes that sustain the earth as a single interdependent system has been disturbed. The earth has moved well outside the range of her natural variability exhibited over the previous half a million years in the very least. Abrupt ecological changes with non-linear feedbacks in the earth’s dynamics, leading to catastrophic outcomes, are a real possibility today. Ethics should be price determining and not price determined by markets. Under-pricing natural capital and ignoring concomitant risks is fuelling the consumption boom.

Importantly, the growth, the consumption and the benefits have been concentrated in the privileged few. The top 20% of the world consumes 80% of its output while the bottom 80% lives on the balance 20%. The bottom 20% lives in dire poverty at a consumption of less than $1.25 PPP/day or about 50cents/day in nominal cents in a country such as India which is home to a third of these global unfortunate. Going just by income poverty, the number living below this dire threshold has come down by some 500 million – almost entirely because of a reduction in China. However, the broader multidimensional poverty index that includes parameters such as health, education, gender equality, access, empowerment etc. pushes the share of these destitute people to about 25% of the global population. Importantly, the number of people below the global poverty line of $2 PPP per day consumption remains stubbornly at about 2.5 billion or about 36 % of humanity.

Modern energy consumption is perfectly correlated to the Human Development Index (HDI) but it still eludes the bottom 2.5 billion who remain energy starved. While 1.5 billion among them, including over 500 million from India, have no access to electricity, 2.2 billion, including some 850 million from India use some form of biomass as their primary or only source of energy for cooking food –the most basic human necessity. A larger number would be denied access were we to price energy, one of earth’s fastest depleting natural resource, at its true value. The primary reason for this is the continuing disproportionate consumption by the well-to-do.

OECD countries, with a combined population less than India enjoy the world’s highest living standards. Yet, OECD’s incremental commercial energy consumption for the period 1997-2007 (before the financial crisis); was 3.2 times that of India. During this period, India’s share of global commercial energy consumption rose from 2.9% to 3.6% while OECD’s share fell from 58% to just over 50%. This drop was singularly due to the growth of China’s share as it became the world’s largest energy consumer.

The disproportionate consumption of energy is far worse than the figures reveal. In a globalized world, big business has moved significant parts of OECD’s production base in search of cheaper natural capital including the environmental commons, which though priceless, is still available for free in China and the developing world.

If one looks at GHG emission on a consumption basis and not production within their borders, then EU 15 emissions are up by 47% and the US emissions have risen 43% since 1990. The embedded emissions in imports of EU-15 are about 33% of emissions within their borders. This translates to about 3 tons per capita of embedded emissions in imports. The embedded emissions import for the US is 20% or about 4 tons/capita – In 2000, the level of embedded emissions imports in both the US and EU15 were only 3% . The embedded emissions alone in imports for US and EU-15 are twice and 1.6 times respectively of India’s total per capita GHG emissions.

The greatest lie that we are being told by big business and the policy makers supported by them is that resource efficiency is the answer to sustainability. Despite huge gains in resource use efficiency, the world is consuming more natural capital today than ever before and we are on auto pilot to at least a 3.5 degree Celsius warming. If IPCC is right, this will unleash catastrophic events and mass annihilation of the world’s poor in the foreseeable future.

Simply stated, current patterns of consumption and production, ladies and gentlemen, are unsustainable. CSR activities such as opening schools and hospitals or green-washing board rooms with efficient lights are simply inadequate. Also inadequate is a business mindset that first influences and then merely meets current regulations and sees value only in monetary terms based on a simplistic cost-benefit analysis

We need a policy framework that first limits our use of fossil fuels and other forms of natural capital and then gradually reduces it in a cradle to cradle paradigm fuelled by innovation. Our growth model must be an inclusive one that reduces unsustainable overconsumption by a few and redistributes that to the bottom 50% of this world. No, I do not seek to make the poor rich by making the rich poor – I simply seek the right of the bottom 50% of the world to have a dignity of life afforded by consumption at 50% of the poverty levels within the OECD. The current inequities whereby the world’s third largest economy in PPP terms (India) is placed 134th in terms of its HDI and has the world’s largest concentration of poor, malnourished adults and under-weight children are unsustainable.

Enlightened business leaders must not only define sustainability in terms of guaranteeing inter-generational resource equity but also see the unsustainability of not removing current intra generational inequities and thereby delivering the minimal adaptive capacity to the bottom 2.5 billion of fellow humans in the face of impending abrupt climate events.

In closing, I quote Mahatma Gandhi who said: “The world has enough to meet everyone’s need but not enough to satisfy even one man’s greed!

I thank you for your time and attention.

Dualism

After being called one of the top 50 philosophy bloggers, I feel almost obliged to write another post on philosophy. This might vex Jat who, while appreciating the post on my first car, was somewhat less than enthusiastic about my deeper thoughts. Also looking askance at my philosophical endeavors would be a badminton buddy of mine who complained that my posts on death scared the bejesus out of him. But, what can I say, I have been listening to a lot of philosophy. I listened to the lectures by Shelly Kagan on just that dreaded topic of death, and by John Searle (again) on the philosophy of mind.

Listening to these lectures filled me with another kind of dread. I realized once again how ignorant I am, and how much there is to know, think and figure out, and how little time is left to do all that. Perhaps this recognition of my ignorance is a sign of growing wisdom, if we can believe Socrates. At least I hope it is.

One thing I had some misconceptions about (or an incomplete understanding of) was this concept of dualism. Growing up in India, I heard a lot about our monistic philosophy called Advaita. The word means not-two, and I understood it as the rejection of the Brahman and Maya distinction. To illustrate it with an example, say you sense something — like you see these words in front of you on your computer screen. Are these words and the computer screen out there really? If I were to somehow generate the neuronal firing patterns that create this sensation in you, you would see these words even if they were not there. This is easy to understand; after all, this is the main thesis of the movie Matrix. So what you see is merely a construct in your brain; it is Maya or part of the Matrix. What is causing the sensory inputs is presumably Brahman. So, to me, Advaita meant trusting only the realness of Brahman while rejecting Maya. Now, after reading a bit more, I’m not sure that was an accurate description at all. Perhaps that is why Ranga criticized me long time ago.

In Western philosophy, there is a different and more obvious kind of dualism. It is the age-old mind-matter distinction. What is mind made of? Most of us think of mind (those who think of it, that is) as a computer program running on our brain. In other words, mind is software, brain is hardware. They are two different kinds of things. After all, we pay separately for hardware (Dell) and software (Microsoft). Since we think of them as two, ours is an inherently dualistic view. Before the time of computers, Descartes thought of this problem and said there was a mental substance and a physical substance. So this view is called Cartesian Dualism. (By the way, Cartesian coordinates in analytic geometry came from Descartes as well — a fact that might enhance our respect for him.) It is a view that has vast ramifications in all branches of philosophy, from metaphysics to theology. It leads to the concepts of spirit and souls, God, afterlife, reincarnation etc., with their inescapable implications on morality.

There are philosophers who reject this notion of Cartesian dualism. John Searle is one of them. They embrace a view that mind is an emergent property of the brain. An emergent property (more fancily called an epiphenomenon) is something that happens incidentally along with the main phenomenon, but is neither the cause nor the effect of it. An emergent property in physics that we are familiar with is temperature, which is a measure of the average velocity of a bunch of molecules. You cannot define temperature unless you have a statistically significant collection of molecules. Searle uses the wetness of water as his example to illustrate emergence of properties. You cannot have a wet water molecule or a dry one, but when you put a lot of water molecules together you get wetness. Similarly, mind emerges from the physical substance of the brain through physical processes. So all the properties that we ascribe to mind are to be explained away as physical interactions. There is only one kind of substance, which is physical. So this monistic philosophy is called physicalism. Physicalism is part of materialism (not to be confused with its current meaning — what we mean by a material girl, for instance).

You know, the trouble with philosophy is that there are so many isms that you lose track of what is going on in this wild jungle of jargonism. If I coined the word unrealism to go with my blog and promoted it as a branch of philosophy, or better yet, a Singaporean school of thought, I’m sure I can make it stick. Or perhaps it is already an accepted domain?

All kidding aside, the view that everything on the mental side of life, such as consciousness, thoughts, ideals etc., is a manifestation of physical interactions (I’m restating the definition of physicalism here, as you can see) enjoys certain currency among contemporary philosophers. Both Kagan and Searle readily accept this view, for example. But this view is in conflict with what the ancient Greek philosophers like Socrates, Plato and Aristotle thought. They all believed in some form of continued existence of a mental substance, be it the soul, spirit or whatever. All major religions have some variant of this dualism embedded in their beliefs. (I think Plato’s dualism is of a different kind — a real, imperfect world where we live on the one hand, and an ideal perfect world of forms on the other where the souls and Gods live. More on that later.) After all, God has to be made up of a spiritual “substance” other than a pure physical substance. Or how could he not be subject to the physical laws that we, mere mortals, can comprehend?

Nothing in philosophy is totally disconnected from one another. A fundamental stance such as dualism or monism that you take in dealing with the questions on consciousness, cognition and mind has ramifications in what kind of life you lead (Ethics), how you define reality (Metaphysics), and how you know these things (Epistemology). Through its influence on religions, it may even impact our political power struggles of our troubled times. If you think about it long enough, you can connect the dualist/monist distinction even to aesthetics. After all, Richard Pirsig did just that in his Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.

As they say, if the only tool you have is a hammer, all problems begin to look like nails. My tool right now is philosophy, so I see little philosophical nails everywhere.