Tag-Archiv: Umwelt

Environmental issues like the planet, poverty etc.

Ethik in der Wirtschaft und Führung

[Dieser Beitrag ist die Rede von Prof. Surya Sethi im World Forum für Ethik in der Wirtschaft – Internationale Leadership Symposium Montag, April 2, 2012 in Singapore. Hier mit Erlaubnis wiedergegeben.]

Ich bin gebeten worden, um ein breites Spektrum von Fragen der Unternehmenswiedererlangung Vertrauen für Nachhaltigkeit im Zusammenhang mit dem Klimawandel und der globalen Energiekrise zu decken. Wichtig, Ich wurde gebeten, dies zu tun in 10 Minuten was die Effizienz der Stadtstaat der wir uns befinden.

Lassen Sie mich zunächst die Unterscheidung zwischen moralischer und ethischer Werte beginnen. Nach dem, was ich heute Morgen gehört, scheint es einige Verwirrung zwischen Moral und Ethik zu sein. Der ehemalige definieren individuellen Charakter und sind auf persönlichen Überzeugungen von Recht und Unrecht oder gute und schlechte basiert. Letztere sind im wesentlichen Normen und Verhaltenskodizes, in einem spezifischen Kontext erwartet, aus der Gruppe, ein Individuum gehört. Ethik in der Regel umfassen gesellschaftliche, Firmen-, national, beruflichen oder anderen ähnlichen Presslingen. Einzeln, Wir halten die Tötung als moralisch falsch, sondern eine Armee tötet Tausende gilt als ethisch und wird oft als ein Akt der Tapferkeit zum Gemeinwohl dekoriert.

Wirtschaftsunternehmen, heute, weitgehend durch moralisch aufrechte Personen werden gemeinsam das Töten des Planeten, den wir mit einer Wildheit teilen besetzt, Intensität und Geschwindigkeit passenden, dass der Krieg; und immer für die Schaffung beispiellose Bewertungen und wettbewerbsfähige Überlegenheit belohnt. Verbrauch wegen des Verbrauchs, Wachstum wegen der Wachstums, Gewinn aus Gründen der Gewinn- und Unterstützung der Politik und den politischen Entscheidungsträgern, die aufrecht alledem sind die ethischen Werte Führung dieser Unternehmen.

Der anthropogene Schäden Ökologie der Erde in den letzten 60 Jahren den Schaden durch den Menschen über ihre gesamte Geschichte bis getan übersteigt 1950. Die feine Balance zwischen körperlicher, chemischen und biologischen Prozesse, die die Erde als ein einziges unabhängiges System aufrechtzuerhalten gestört wurde. Die Erde ist weit außerhalb ihres natürlichen Variabilität gegenüber der vorherigen Hälfte zeigte eine Million Jahre in dest verschoben. Abrupte ökologischen Veränderungen mit nichtlinearer Rückmeldungen in der Dynamik der Erde, was zu katastrophalen Ergebnissen, sind eine reale Möglichkeit heute. Ethik sollten Preisfeststellung und nicht auf den Preis von Märkten ermittelt werden. Underpricing Naturkapital und ignorieren damit verbundenen Risiken Betankung wird die Konsumboom.

Wichtig, die Wachstums, der Verbrauch und die Vorteile sind in der privilegierten wenige konzentriert. Die obere 20% der Welt verbraucht 80% an seinem Ausgang, während der Boden 80% lebt auf der Waage 20%. Der Boden 20% lebt in bitterer Armut bei einem Verbrauch von weniger als $1.25 PPP / Tag oder etwa 50 Cent / Tag in den Nenn Cent in einem Land wie Indien, die Heimat von ein Drittel dieser globalen bedauerlich ist,. Möchten Sie nur durch Einkommensarmut, die Zahl unter diesem entsetzlichen Grenze leben hat sich durch einige kommen 500 Millionen - nahezu ausschließlich aufgrund einer Reduktion in China. Jedoch, der breite Index für mehrdimensionale Armut, die Parameter wie Gesundheit beinhaltet, Bildung, Gleichstellung der Geschlechter, Zugriff, Empowerment etc. drückt den Anteil dieser mittellose Menschen über 25% der Weltbevölkerung. Wichtig, die Zahl der Menschen unterhalb der globalen Armutsgrenze von $2 PPP pro Tag Verbrauch hält sich hartnäckig bei etwa 2.5 Milliarden oder rund 36 % der Menschheit.

Moderne Energieverbrauch ist perfekt korrelierte mit dem Human Development Index (HDI) es gibt aber noch entzieht dem Boden 2.5 Milliarden, die Energie verhungert bleiben. Während 1.5 Milliarden unter ihnen, darunter mehr 500 Millionen aus Indien, haben keinen Zugang zu Elektrizität, 2.2 Milliarde, darunter auch einige 850 Millionen aus Indien zu verwenden irgendeine Form von Biomasse als primäre oder einzige Energiequelle zum Kochen von Speisen –die grundlegende menschliche Notwendigkeit. Eine größere Zahl würde den Zugang waren wir für die Preis Energie verweigert werden, einer der am schnellsten Abbau der natürlichen Ressourcen der Erde, in seiner wahren Wert. Der Hauptgrund dafür ist die anhalt unverhältnismäßigen Verbrauch durch die gut-to-do.

OECD-Ländern, mit einer Gesamtbevölkerung von weniger als Indien genießen den weltweit höchsten Lebensstandard. Noch, OECD inkrementelle kommerziellen Energieverbrauchs für die Periode 1997-2007 (vor der Finanzkrise); war 3.2 mal der Indiens. Während dieser Zeit, Anteil an der weltweiten kommerziellen Energieverbrauch Indiens von Rosen 2.9% zu 3.6% während der Anteil der OECD aus fiel 58% auf knapp über 50%. Dieser Rückgang war einzigartig durch das Wachstum der chinesischen Aktien, wie es der weltweit größte Energieverbraucher wurde.

Die überproportionale Energieverbrauch ist viel schlimmer als die Zahlen zeigen,. In einer globalisierten Welt, Big Business hat wesentliche Teile des OECD-Produktionsbasis auf der Suche nach preiswerter Naturkapital einschließlich der Umwelt- commons bewegt, die aber unbezahlbar, ist immer noch kostenlos in China und in den Entwicklungsländern zur Verfügung.

Wenn man innerhalb ihrer Grenzen sieht der Treibhausgasemissionen auf einem Verbrauch Basis und nicht die Produktion, dann EU 15 Emissionen von 47% und die US-Emissionen gestiegen 43% seit 1990. Die Embedded-Emissionen in die Einfuhr von EU-15 sind über 33% von Emissionen innerhalb ihrer Grenzen. Dies entspricht ca. 3 Tonnen pro Kopf von Embedded-Emissionen der Importe. Die Embedded-Emissionen zu importieren für die USA 20% oder über 4 t / Kopf - In 2000, die Höhe des Embedded-Emissionen der Einfuhr in den USA und in der EU15 waren nur 3% . Die eingebetteten allein Emissionen der Importe für die USA und der EU-15 sind doppelt und 1.6 Zeiten jeweils von Indiens gesamten Pro-Kopf-Treibhausgasemissionen.

Die größte Lüge, die wir vom Big Business und den politischen Entscheidungsträgern die von ihnen unterstützten gesagt ist, dass Ressourceneffizienz ist die Antwort auf die Nachhaltigkeit. Trotz großer Gewinne in der Effizienz der Ressourcennutzung, die Welt verbrauchen mehr natürliche Kapital als je zuvor, und wir sind auf Autopilot, um zumindest ein 3.5 Grad Celsius Erwärmung. Wenn IPCC ist richtig, dies Katastrophen und Massenvernichtung der Armen dieser Welt in absehbarer Zeit zu entfesseln.

Einfach ausgedrückt:, aktuelle Konsum- und Produktions, meine Damen und Herren, nicht nachhaltig. CSR-Aktivitäten wie das Öffnen von Schulen und Krankenhäusern oder Greenwashing Pension Zimmer mit effizienten Leuchten sind einfach unzureichend. Auch unzulänglich ist, eine Business-Mentalität, die ersten Einflüsse und dann lediglich entspricht den aktuellen Vorschriften und sieht Wert nur in finanzieller Hinsicht auf der Grundlage einer verein Kosten-Nutzen-Analyse

Wir brauchen einen politischen Rahmen, der ersten Grenzen unserer Nutzung fossiler Brennstoffe und andere Formen von Naturkapital und anschließend in einer Wiege bis zur Wiege Paradigma innovationsgetriebenen verringert sich allmählich. Unser Wachstumsmodell muss eine inklusive eines, das nicht nachhaltig Mehrverbrauch reduziert um wenige und verteilt, dass an der Unterseite sein 50% von dieser Welt. Unterlassen Sie, Ich suche nicht, um die Armen reich, indem sie die Reichen arm machen - Ich suche einfach das Recht des Bodens 50% der Welt, eine Würde des Lebens von Verbrauch gewährt haben 50% der Armutsrate in der OECD. Die derzeitigen Ungerechtigkeiten wobei der weltweit drittgrößte Volkswirtschaft in KKP (Indien) wird im Hinblick auf seine HDI 134. platziert und verfügt über die weltweit größte Konzentration von Armen, ernährten Erwachsenen und untergewichtigen Kindern nicht nachhaltig sind.

Enlightened Führungskräfte müssen nicht nur die Nachhaltigkeit zu definieren im Hinblick auf die Gewährleistung generationenübergreifende Ressource Kapital, sondern auch sehen, die mangelnde Tragfähigkeit nicht Entfernen aktuellen intragenerationelle Ungerechtigkeiten und damit die minimale Anpassungsfähigkeit liefert nach unten 2.5 Milliarden von Mitmenschen angesichts der bevorstehenden abrupten Klimaereignisse.

Zum Schluss, Ich zitiere Mahatma Gandhi, der sagte,: "Die Welt hat genug für jedermanns Wunsch zu erfüllen, aber nicht genug, um auch nur einen Mann Gier zu befriedigen!"

Ich danke Ihnen für Ihre Zeit und Aufmerksamkeit.

Menschlichen Virus

Auf der einen ergreifend schönen Tag im Herbst in Syracuse, eine Gruppe von uns Physik Studenten wurden um einen sparsamen Küchentisch versammelt. Wir hatten unsere brillanten Professor, Lee Smolin, Gespräch mit uns. Wir hielten unsere vielversprechend Mentoren in sehr hohem Ansehen. Und wir hatten große Hoffnungen für Lee.

Das Gesprächsthema an diesem Tag war ein bisschen philosophischen, und wir waren eifrig die Worte der Weisheit von Lee ausgeh absorbieren. Er beschrieb uns, wie die Erde könnte als ein lebendiger Organismus sein. Verwendung einsichtige Argumente und präzise moduliert glib Artikulation (kein Zweifel, durch Jahre des geistigen Duelle in besten Universitäten weltweit geschmiedet), Lee machte ein überzeugendes Argument, dass die Erde, tatsächlich, zufrieden alle Bedingungen des Seins ein Organismus.

Lee Smolin, Apropos, hat unsere hohen Erwartungen in späteren Jahren, Veröffentlichung hochgelobte Bücher und allgemein Verlassen einer glorreichen Spuren in der Welt der modernen Physik. Er spricht jetzt eine globale Zielgruppe durch prestigeträchtige Programme wie die BBC Hardtalk, sehr zu unserer Freude und Stolz.

Der Punkt in Lees Ansicht war nicht so sehr, ob die Erde buchstäblich am Leben war, aber das Denken der es als Organismus lebensfähig war ein geistiges Modell, um die Erde zu vertreten. Solche geistigen Akrobatik war nicht ungewöhnlich, bei uns Studierende der Physik.

In den letzten Jahren, Lee hat eigentlich diese Art der viel weiter denken, in einem seiner Bücher genommen, malte das Universum im Licht der Evolution. Wieder, Das Argument ist nicht wörtlich zu nehmen, Vorstellung einer Reihe von parallelen Universen wetteifern um das Überleben. Die Idee ist, die Denkweise tragen uns nach vorne und führen unsere Gedanken zu lassen, und sehen, welche Schlüsse können wir aus der Übung ziehen Gedanken.

Eine ähnliche Denkweise wurde in dem Film Matrix eingeführt. Tatsächlich, mehrere tiefe Modelle wurden in diesem Film vorgestellt, die wahrscheinlich angeheizt seine wilden Box-Office-Erfolg. Eine menschenverachtende Modell, das der Computer-Agent Smith vorschlägt, ist, dass der Mensch ein Virus auf unserem Planeten.

Es ist in Ordnung, wenn der Bösewicht in einem Film, um ihn vorschlagen, aber eine ganz andere Sache für Zeitungskolumnist, dies zu tun. Aber Geduld mit mir, als ich kombinieren Lees Vorstellung von der Erde als ein Organismus und Anregung des US-Agent Smith, ein Virus auf sie. Mal sehen, wohin es uns führt.

Das erste, was ein Virus tut, wenn es dringt ein Organismus ist, gedeihen unter Verwendung des genetischen Materials der Wirtskörper. Das Virus tut es mit wenig Rücksicht auf das Wohl des Gast. Von unserer Seite, wir Menschen plündern die Rohstoffe aus unseren Gast Planeten mit so aufzugeben, dass die Ähnlichkeit ist kaum zu übersehen.

Aber die Ähnlichkeit ist nicht zu Ende. Was sind die typischen Symptome einer Virusinfektion auf dem Host? Ein Symptom ist ein Fieberanfall. Ähnlich, Durch unsere Aktivitäten auf unserer Gastgeber Planeten, Wir werden durch ein Kampf der globalen Erwärmung gehen. Unheimlich ähnlich, meiner Meinung nach.

Die viralen Symptome könnten auf Wunden und Blasen sowie verlängern. Vergleicht man die Städte und andere Augen Wunden, die wir stolz zu unberührten Wäldern und Naturlandschaften zu erstellen, es ist nicht schwer sich vorzustellen, dass wir in der Tat zuzufügen stinkenden Grausamkeiten an unsere Gastgeber Erde. Können wir nicht sehen, die Stadt die Kanalisation und die verschmutzte Luft wie die stinkenden, Nässen Geschwüre auf seinem Körper?

Einen Schritt weiter gehen, könnten wir auch vorstellen, dass Naturkatastrophen wie Katrina und dem Tsunami in Asien sind natürliche Immunsystem des Planeten treten auf Hochtouren?

Ich weiß, dass es höchst zynisch, diesen Vergleich zu diesen extremen Grenzen gehen. Mit Blick auf die unschuldigen Gesichter Ihrer Lieben, Sie können zu Recht wütend auf diesen Vergleich fühlen. Wie darf ich nennen sie ein böser Virus? Dann wieder, wenn ein Virus denken konnte,, wäre es seiner Tätigkeit zu denken auf einem Wirtskörper als böse?

Wenn das nicht Ihr Gefühl der Empörung zu beschwichtigen, daran erinnern, dass dieses Virus Analogie ist ein Modus des Denkens und nicht als wörtliche Anklage. Eine solche Denkweise ist nur sinnvoll, wenn sie einige Schlussfolgerungen ergeben. Was sind die Schlussfolgerungen aus dieser menschlichen virale Vergleich?

Das Ergebnis einer Virusinfektion ist immer düster. Entweder der Host erliegt oder das Virus wird durch das Immunsystem des Wirts geschlagen. Wenn wir das Virus, Diese beiden Fälle sind ungenießbar. Wir wollen nicht, um die Erde zu töten. Und wir wollen sicher nicht, um von der Erde ausgerottet werden. Aber das sind die einzigen möglichen Ergebnisse unserer Virus-ähnliche Aktivität hier. Es ist unwahrscheinlich, dass wir ausgerottet zu werden; wir sind viel zu anspruchsvoll für die. Aller Wahrscheinlichkeit nach, werden wir unseren Planeten unbewohnbar machen. Wir können, bis dahin, haben unsere technischen Mittel für die Migration auf andere Planetensysteme. Mit anderen Worten, wenn wir Glück, können wir ansteckend sein! Das ist die unausweichliche Schlussfolgerung dieser intellektuelle Übung.

Es ist ein weniger wahrscheinliches Szenario — eine symbiotische virale Existenz in einer Wirtskörper. Es ist die Art von gutartigen Lebensstil, dass Al Gore und anderen empfehlen uns. Aber, Bestandsaufnahme der Aktivitäten auf dem Planeten, meine Weltuntergangsblick ist, dass es für eine friedliche Symbiose zu spät ist. Was denken Sie?

Happy New Year!

Here’s wishing you a Happy 2010… May your resolutions hold up longer than those of the years past. And may you find peace, happiness, good health and prosperity.

I started this new year with Avatar. And its no-so-subtle anti-neo-con messages fill me with a bit of optimism despite all the carnage all around us. May be there will be a bit more patience and understanding this year. A bit more sharing and caring. A bit less avarice and grabbing. May be all is not lost yet. Or is it just that this frog is getting used to the world slowly boiling me alive?

My resolution this year is to do a lot more light writing. Blogging and column-writing, das heißt. And to spend more time with the kids. Having just finished my second book, I feel I will have more time, and won’t have to shoo them away. May be I can now patiently listen to all their silliness. Wie my dad used to listen to mine.

Evolution–Inverted Logic

Evolution is usually described as “the survival of the fittest,” or as species evolving to adapt to the environment. To survive, to evolve, to adapt—these are action verbs, implying some kind of intention or general plan. But there is a curious inversion of logic, or reversal of causality in the theory of evolution. This is almost the opposite of intention or plan.

It is easiest to illustrate this inverted logic using examples. Suppose you are on a tropical island, enjoying the nice weather and the beautiful beach. You say to yourself, “This is perfect. This is paradise!” Natürlich, there is some specific gene containing the blue print of your brain process that leads you to feel this way. It stands to reason that there may have been genetic mutations at some point, which made some people hate this kind of paradise. They may have preferred Alaska in winter. Evidently, such genes had a slightly lower chance of survival because Alaskan winters are not as healthy as tropical paradises. Over millions of years, these genes got all but wiped out.

What this means is that the tropical paradise does not have an intrinsic beauty. It is not even that you happen to find it beautiful. Beauty does not necessarily lie in the eyes of the beholder. It is more like the eyes exist because we are the kind of people who would find such hospitable environments beautiful.

Another example of the inversion of logic in evolution is the reason we find cute babies cute. Our genes survived, and we are here because we are the kind of people who would find healthy babies cute. This reversal of causality has implications in every facet of our existence, all the way up to our notion of free will.

Ref: This post is an excerpt from my book, Die Unreal Universe.

Tsunami

Der Tsunami in Asien vor zweieinhalb Jahren entfesselt gewaltige Menge Energie auf die Küstenregionen rund um den Indischen Ozean. Was denken Sie, hätte für diese Energie passiert, wenn es war kein Wasser war, um es von dem Erdbeben wegtragen? Ich meine, wenn das Erdbeben (der gleichen Art und Umfang) Ort, an Land, anstatt dem Meeresboden genommen hatte wie damals,, vermutlich würde diese Energie vorhanden waren. Wie würde es sich manifestiert haben? Als ein heftiger Erdbeben? Oder eine längere?

Ich stelle mir das Erdbeben (im Querschnitt) als eine Auslegerfeder gedrückt gehalten und dann freigelassen. Die Feder überträgt dann die Energie, um den Tsunami in Form von potentieller Energie, als eine Erhöhung des Wasserstandes. Als der Tsunami strahlt, es ist nur die potentielle Energie, die übertragen wird,; das Wasser nicht seitlich bewegen, nur vertikal. Da trifft es die Küste, die potentielle Energie in kinetische Energie der Wellen an der Küste über (Wasser seitlich zu bewegen, dann).

Angesichts der Größe der Energie aus dem Epizentrum transferiert, Ich bin zu spekulieren, was passiert wäre, wenn es keinen Mechanismus für die Übertragung. Irgendwelche Gedanken?

Tag Archives: environment

Environmental issues like the planet, poverty etc.

Ethics In Business and Leadership

[This post is the speech given by Prof. Surya Sethi at World Forum for Ethics in Business - International Leadership Symposium Monday, April 2, 2012 in Singapore. Reproduced here with permission.]

I have been asked to cover a broad spectrum of issues relating to business regaining trust for sustainability within the context of climate change and the global energy crisis. Importantly, I have been asked to do so in 10 minutes reflecting the efficiency of the city-state we are in.

Let me begin by differentiating between moral and ethical values. Based on what I heard this morning, there appears to be some confusion between morals and ethics. The former define individual character and are based on personal beliefs of right and wrong or good and bad. The latter are essentially standards and codes of conduct, expected in a specific context, from the group an individual belongs to. Ethics typically encompass societal, corporate, national, professional or other similar compacts. Individually, we consider killing as morally wrong but an army killing thousands is considered ethical and is often decorated as an act of bravery for common good.

Business enterprises, today, manned largely by morally upright individuals are collectively killing the planet we share with a ferocity, intensity and speed matching that of war; and getting rewarded for creating unprecedented valuations and competitive supremacy. Consumption for the sake of consumption, growth for the sake of growth, profit for the sake of profit and support for policies and policy makers that uphold all of the foregoing are the ethical values guiding these enterprises.

The anthropogenic damage to the earth’s ecology over the last 60 years exceeds the damage done by humans over their entire history up to 1950. The fine balance between physical, chemical and biological processes that sustain the earth as a single interdependent system has been disturbed. The earth has moved well outside the range of her natural variability exhibited over the previous half a million years in the very least. Abrupt ecological changes with non-linear feedbacks in the earth’s dynamics, leading to catastrophic outcomes, are a real possibility today. Ethics should be price determining and not price determined by markets. Under-pricing natural capital and ignoring concomitant risks is fuelling the consumption boom.

Importantly, the growth, the consumption and the benefits have been concentrated in the privileged few. The top 20% of the world consumes 80% of its output while the bottom 80% lives on the balance 20%. The bottom 20% lives in dire poverty at a consumption of less than $1.25 PPP/day or about 50cents/day in nominal cents in a country such as India which is home to a third of these global unfortunate. Going just by income poverty, the number living below this dire threshold has come down by some 500 million – almost entirely because of a reduction in China. However, the broader multidimensional poverty index that includes parameters such as health, education, gender equality, access, empowerment etc. pushes the share of these destitute people to about 25% of the global population. Importantly, the number of people below the global poverty line of $2 PPP per day consumption remains stubbornly at about 2.5 billion or about 36 % of humanity.

Modern energy consumption is perfectly correlated to the Human Development Index (HDI) but it still eludes the bottom 2.5 billion who remain energy starved. While 1.5 billion among them, including over 500 million from India, have no access to electricity, 2.2 billion, including some 850 million from India use some form of biomass as their primary or only source of energy for cooking food –the most basic human necessity. A larger number would be denied access were we to price energy, one of earth’s fastest depleting natural resource, at its true value. The primary reason for this is the continuing disproportionate consumption by the well-to-do.

OECD countries, with a combined population less than India enjoy the world’s highest living standards. Yet, OECD’s incremental commercial energy consumption for the period 1997-2007 (before the financial crisis); was 3.2 times that of India. During this period, India’s share of global commercial energy consumption rose from 2.9% to 3.6% while OECD’s share fell from 58% to just over 50%. This drop was singularly due to the growth of China’s share as it became the world’s largest energy consumer.

The disproportionate consumption of energy is far worse than the figures reveal. In a globalized world, big business has moved significant parts of OECD’s production base in search of cheaper natural capital including the environmental commons, which though priceless, is still available for free in China and the developing world.

If one looks at GHG emission on a consumption basis and not production within their borders, then EU 15 emissions are up by 47% and the US emissions have risen 43% since 1990. The embedded emissions in imports of EU-15 are about 33% of emissions within their borders. This translates to about 3 tons per capita of embedded emissions in imports. The embedded emissions import for the US is 20% or about 4 tons/capita – In 2000, the level of embedded emissions imports in both the US and EU15 were only 3% . The embedded emissions alone in imports for US and EU-15 are twice and 1.6 times respectively of India’s total per capita GHG emissions.

The greatest lie that we are being told by big business and the policy makers supported by them is that resource efficiency is the answer to sustainability. Despite huge gains in resource use efficiency, the world is consuming more natural capital today than ever before and we are on auto pilot to at least a 3.5 degree Celsius warming. If IPCC is right, this will unleash catastrophic events and mass annihilation of the world’s poor in the foreseeable future.

Simply stated, current patterns of consumption and production, ladies and gentlemen, are unsustainable. CSR activities such as opening schools and hospitals or green-washing board rooms with efficient lights are simply inadequate. Also inadequate is a business mindset that first influences and then merely meets current regulations and sees value only in monetary terms based on a simplistic cost-benefit analysis

We need a policy framework that first limits our use of fossil fuels and other forms of natural capital and then gradually reduces it in a cradle to cradle paradigm fuelled by innovation. Our growth model must be an inclusive one that reduces unsustainable overconsumption by a few and redistributes that to the bottom 50% of this world. No, I do not seek to make the poor rich by making the rich poor – I simply seek the right of the bottom 50% of the world to have a dignity of life afforded by consumption at 50% of the poverty levels within the OECD. The current inequities whereby the world’s third largest economy in PPP terms (India) is placed 134th in terms of its HDI and has the world’s largest concentration of poor, malnourished adults and under-weight children are unsustainable.

Enlightened business leaders must not only define sustainability in terms of guaranteeing inter-generational resource equity but also see the unsustainability of not removing current intra generational inequities and thereby delivering the minimal adaptive capacity to the bottom 2.5 billion of fellow humans in the face of impending abrupt climate events.

In closing, I quote Mahatma Gandhi who said: “The world has enough to meet everyone’s need but not enough to satisfy even one man’s greed!

I thank you for your time and attention.

Human Virus

On one poignantly beautiful autumn day in Syracuse, a group of us physics graduate students were gathered around a frugal kitchen table. We had our brilliant professor, Lee Smolin, talking to us. We held our promising mentors in very high regard. And we had high hopes for Lee.

The topic of conversation on that day was a bit philosophical, and we were eagerly absorbing the words of wisdom emanating from Lee. He was describing to us how the Earth could be considered a living organism. Using insightful arguments and precisely modulated glib articulation (no doubt, forged by years of intellectual duels in world’s best universities), Lee made a compelling case that the Earth, in fact, satisfied all the conditions of being an organism.

Lee Smolin, by the way, lived up to our great expectations in later years, publishing highly acclaimed books and generally leaving a glorious imprint in the world of modern physics. He now talks to global audiences through prestigious programmes such as the BBC Hardtalk, much to our pride and joy.

The point in Lee’s view was not so much whether or the Earth was literally alive, but that thinking of it as an organism was a viable intellectual model to represent the Earth. Such intellectual acrobatics was not uncommon among us physics students.

In the last few years, Lee has actually taken this mode of thinking much farther in one of his books, picturing the universe in the light of evolution. Again, the argument is not to be taken literally, imagining a bunch of parallel universes vying for survival. The idea is to let the mode of thinking carry us forward and guide our thoughts, and see what conclusions we can draw from the thought exercise.

A similar mode of thinking was introduced in the movie Matrix. In fact, several profound models were introduced in that movie, which probably fuelled its wild box-office success. One misanthropic model that the computer agent Smith proposes is that human beings are a virus on our planet.

It is okay for the bad guy in a movie to suggest it, but an entirely different matter for newspaper columnist to do so. But bear with me as I combine Lee’s notion of the Earth being an organism and Agent Smith’s suggestion of us being a virus on it. Let’s see where it takes us.

The first thing a virus does when it invades an organism is to flourish using the genetic material of the host body. The virus does it with little regard for the well-being of the host. On our part, we humans plunder the raw material from our host planet with such abandon that the similarity is hard to miss.

But the similarity doesn’t end there. What are the typical symptoms of a viral infection on the host? One symptom is a bout of fever. Similarly, due to our activities on our host planet, we are going through a bout of global warming. Eerily similar, in my view.

The viral symptoms could extend to sores and blisters as well. Comparing the cities and other eye sores that we proudly create to pristine forests and natural landscapes, it is not hard to imagine that we are indeed inflicting fetid atrocities to our host Earth. Can’t we see the city sewers and the polluted air as the stinking, oozing ulcers on its body?

Going one step further, could we also imagine that natural calamities such as Katrina and the Asian tsunami are the planet’s natural immune systems kicking into high gear?

I know that it is supremely cynical to push this comparison to these extreme limits. Looking at the innocent faces of your loved ones, you may feel rightfully angry at this comparison. How dare I call them an evil virus? Then again, if a virus could think, would it think of its activities on a host body as evil?

If that doesn’t assuage your sense of indignation, remember that this virus analogy is a mode of thinking rather than a literal indictment. Such a mode of thinking is only useful if it can yield some conclusions. What are the conclusions from this human-viral comparison?

The end result of a viral infection is always gloomy. Either the host succumbs or the virus gets beaten by the host’s immune systems. If we are the virus, both these eventualities are unpalatable. We don’t want to kill the Earth. And we certainly don’t want to be exterminated by the Earth. But those are the only possible outcomes of our viral-like activity here. It is unlikely that we will get exterminated; we are far too sophisticated for that. In all likelihood, we will make our planet uninhabitable. We may, by then, have our technological means of migrating to other planetary systems. In other words, if we are lucky, we may be contagious! This is the inescapable conclusion of this intellectual exercise.

There is a less likely scenario — a symbiotic viral existence in a host body. It is the kind of benign life style that Al Gore and others recommend for us. But, taking stock of our activities on the planet, my doomsday view is that it is too late for a peaceful symbiosis. What do you think?

Happy New Year!

Here’s wishing you a Happy 2010… May your resolutions hold up longer than those of the years past. And may you find peace, happiness, good health and prosperity.

I started this new year with Avatar. And its no-so-subtle anti-neo-con messages fill me with a bit of optimism despite all the carnage all around us. May be there will be a bit more patience and understanding this year. A bit more sharing and caring. A bit less avarice and grabbing. May be all is not lost yet. Or is it just that this frog is getting used to the world slowly boiling me alive?

My resolution this year is to do a lot more light writing. Blogging and column-writing, that is. And to spend more time with the kids. Having just finished my second book, I feel I will have more time, and won’t have to shoo them away. May be I can now patiently listen to all their silliness. Like my dad used to listen to mine.

Evolution–Inverted Logic

Evolution is usually described as “the survival of the fittest,” or as species evolving to adapt to the environment. To survive, to evolve, to adapt—these are action verbs, implying some kind of intention or general plan. But there is a curious inversion of logic, or reversal of causality in the theory of evolution. This is almost the opposite of intention or plan.

It is easiest to illustrate this inverted logic using examples. Suppose you are on a tropical island, enjoying the nice weather and the beautiful beach. You say to yourself, “This is perfect. This is paradise!” Of course, there is some specific gene containing the blue print of your brain process that leads you to feel this way. It stands to reason that there may have been genetic mutations at some point, which made some people hate this kind of paradise. They may have preferred Alaska in winter. Evidently, such genes had a slightly lower chance of survival because Alaskan winters are not as healthy as tropical paradises. Over millions of years, these genes got all but wiped out.

What this means is that the tropical paradise does not have an intrinsic beauty. It is not even that you happen to find it beautiful. Beauty does not necessarily lie in the eyes of the beholder. It is more like the eyes exist because we are the kind of people who would find such hospitable environments beautiful.

Another example of the inversion of logic in evolution is the reason we find cute babies cute. Our genes survived, and we are here because we are the kind of people who would find healthy babies cute. This reversal of causality has implications in every facet of our existence, all the way up to our notion of free will.

Ref: This post is an excerpt from my book, The Unreal Universe.

Tsunami

The Asian Tsunami two and a half years ago unleashed tremendous amount energy on the coastal regions around the Indian ocean. What do you think would’ve have happened to this energy if there had been no water to carry it away from the earthquake? I mean, if the earthquake (of the same kind and magnitude) had taken place on land instead of the sea-bed as it did, presumably this energy would’ve been present. How would it have manifested? As a more violent earthquake? Or a longer one?

I picture the earthquake (in cross-section) as a cantilever spring being held down and then released. The spring then transfers the energy to the tsunami in the form of potential energy, as an increase in the water level. As the tsunami radiates out, it is only the potential energy that is transferred; the water doesn’t move laterally, only vertically. As it hits the coast, the potential energy is transferred into the kinetic energy of the waves hitting the coast (water moving laterally then).

Given the magnitude of the energy transferred from the epicenter, I am speculating what would’ve happened if there was no mechanism for the transfer. Any thoughts?