الاستيلاء الروبوتية

منذ سنوات, قرأت هذه القصة الخيالية التي كتبها مارشال الدماغ دعا الإنسان. انها تحدثت عن استيلاء الروبوتية من سلسلة الوجبات السريعة من قبل نظام ذكي.

مارشال الدماغ, كما تعلمون, هو مؤسس HowStuffWorks.com ومتحدث معروف, المعلم, الكاتب الخ. على الرغم من انه كتب مناع والخيال, كان متأكدا حتى أنه كان الطريق لمستقبلنا انه فعلا على براءة اختراع نظام وصفه (إذا أسعفتني الذاكرة). بالطبع, كان على حق. أنا فقط حصلت على هذا الرابط من صديق حول عمل المراكز كيف فاء — كيف تحصل على نفس اليوم أو اليوم التالي التسليم على جميع تلك الجبال من الأشياء التي كنت امر من الإنترنت? هنا هو كيف. ومن المدهش كيف تشبه هذا السيناريو هو ما وصفه مارشال في الدماغ مناع.

موضوع مناع هو كيف يمكن لنظام الكمبيوتر يمكن اجهاض كفاءة العمال من سلسلة الوجبات السريعة. ما فإنه يستبدل هي مديري المستوى المتوسط, مثل مدير المحل أو المشرف. بعد كل شيء, فمن ظائفهم لاجهاض القوى العاملة. ولكن سرعان النظام يتحرك صعودا في سلسلة القيمة, إلى المزيد من الوظائف التي تتطلب مهارات عالية مثل الطيارون والجراحين. أي شيء يمكن تقسيمها إلى سلسلة من التعليمات (أي, أي شيء يمكن تكرارها في نظام خبير) يمكن, من حيث المبدأ, يتم تنفيذها على مناع.

هذا يذكرني سباق نحو القاع من مبرمجي الكمبيوتر. كان عليه أن يكون واحدة من تلك الوظائف الحلم عندما بدأت دراستي الجامعية قبل ثلاثين سنة أو نحو ذلك. ولكن الآن, مع تلك جحافل كبيرة من المبرمجين جافا يجري مخضخض من الهندسة المدارس / مصانع في الهند والصين, البرمجة هي العمل ضيعة حقا. بالتأكيد, نوعية البرامج التي وضعتها هذه الجيوش جاوا قد لا تكون مؤثرة مثل التي وضعت من قبل أولئك المهندسين نجم الجيل السابق. ولكن ماذا يهم? ما كنت تفتقر في الجودة (الأمثل, على سبيل المثال) يمكن أكثر من تعويض في كمية (قوة الحوسبة). بالإضافة إلى, يمكن ممارسات التنمية جامدة بمساعدة بيئات التطوير أكثر ذكاء في الواقع ضمان جودة مقبولة — مثل الكثير مناع يمكن ضمان الجودة على مستوى القاعدة في جراح.

أنه أمر مخيف كيف يمكن للعالم يتطور. بينما مناع والمصانع المستغلة للعمال الإنترنت قصصا من القيم الإنسانية تقلص, يشيرون أيضا إلى التحول الاقتصادي من نوع مثير للقلق. هذا هو موضوع آخر القادمة.

الصورة من قبل وروسكو cc

تعليقات

Robotic Takeover

Years ago, I read this fictional story by Marshall Brain called Manna. It talked about the robotic takeover of a fast food chain by an intelligent system.

Marshall Brain, as you may know, is the founder of and a well known speaker, teacher, writer etc. Although he wrote Manna as fiction, he was so certain that it was the way of our future that he actually patented the system he described (if memory serves). Of course, he was right. I just got this link from a friend about how fulfillment centers work — how do you get the same-day or next day delivery on all those mountains of things that you order from the Internet? Here is how. It is astonishing how similar this scenario is to what Marshall Brain described in Manna.

The theme of Manna is how a computer system can efficiently micromanage the workers of a fast food chain. What it replaces are the middle level managers, like the store manager or the supervisor. After all, it is their job to micromanage the workforce. But soon the system moves up the value chain, to more highly skilled jobs such as airline pilots and surgeons. Anything that can be broken down to a series of instructions (i.e., anything that can be replicated in an expert system) can, in principle, be implemented on Manna.

This reminds me of the race to the bottom of computer programmers. It used to be one of those dream jobs when I started my undergraduate degree thirty or so years ago. But now, with those large hordes of Java programmers being churned out from engineering schools/factories in India and China, programming is really menial labor. Sure, the quality of the software developed by these Java armies may not be as impressive as that developed by those star engineers of the previous generation. But what does it matter? What you lack in quality (optimization, for instance) can be more than compensated for in quantity (computing power). Besides, rigid development practices aided by smarter development environments can in fact ensure acceptable quality — much like Manna can ensure a base-level quality in a surgeon.

It is scary how the world is evolving. While Manna and the Internet sweatshops tell stories of diminished human values, they also point to an economic transformation of a disturbing kind. That is the topic of the next post.

Photo by Dan Ruscoe cc