فيروس البشري

في أحد أيام الخريف جميلة مؤثرة في سيراكيوز, جمعت مجموعة منا الفيزياء طلاب الدراسات العليا حول طاولة المطبخ مقتصد. كان لدينا أستاذ باهر, لي سمولين, يتحدث إلينا. عقدنا الموجهين واعد لدينا في هذا الصدد عالية جدا. وكان لدينا آمال كبيرة للي.

وكان موضوع الحديث في ذلك اليوم الفلسفي قليلا, وكنا استيعاب بشغف كلمات الحكمة النابعة من لي. وكان يصف لنا كيف يمكن اعتبار الأرض كائن حي. باستخدام الحجج الثاقبة ومنظم بدقة التعبير سطحي (لا شك, مزورة سنوات من المبارزات الفكرية في أفضل الجامعات في العالم), جعلت لي حجة مقنعة بأن الأرض, في الواقع, راضية كل الظروف كونها كائن حي.

لي سمولين, بالمناسبة, ترق إلى مستوى توقعاتنا كبيرة في السنوات اللاحقة, نشر الكتب نالت استحسانا كبيرا وترك بصمة المجيدة عموما في عالم الفيزياء الحديثة. الآن يتحدث إلى الجماهير العالمية المرموقة من خلال برامج مثل بي بي سي Hardtalk, لدينا الكثير من الفخر والفرح.

كانت نقطة نظرا لي ليست ما إذا كانت الأرض أو على قيد الحياة حرفيا, إلا أن التفكير في الأمر باعتباره كائن كان نموذجا قابلا للتطبيق الفكري لتمثيل الأرض. كان هذا البهلوانية الفكري غير المألوف بيننا طلاب الفيزياء.

في السنوات القليلة الماضية, لي اتخذت بالفعل هذا النمط من التفكير أبعد من ذلك بكثير في أحد كتبه, تصوير الكون في ضوء تطور. مرة أخرى, لا ينبغي أن تؤخذ حرفيا حجة, تخيل مجموعة من الأكوان المتوازية التي تتنافس من أجل البقاء. والفكرة هي السماح للوضع في التفكير تحمل بنا إلى الأمام وتوجيه أفكارنا, ونرى ما هي الاستنتاجات التي يمكن أن نستخلصها من ممارسة الفكر.

تم استحداث وضع مماثل للتفكير في فيلم ماتريكس. في الواقع, وأدخلت عدة نماذج عميقة في هذا الفيلم, الأمر الذي غذى ربما البرية نجاح شباك التذاكر في. نموذج واحد كاره للبشر أن وكيل جهاز الكمبيوتر سميث يقترح هو أن البشر هم فيروس على كوكبنا.

أنها على ما يرام لشخص سيء في فيلم تشير إلى أنه, لكن مسألة مختلفة تماما عن مقال للكاتب للقيام بذلك. لكن تتحمل معي وأنا الجمع بين فكرة لي الأرض كونه كائن واقتراح كيل سميث منا يكون الفيروس على ذلك. دعونا نرى أين يأخذنا.

أول شيء فيروس يفعل عندما يغزو كائن حي أن تزدهر باستخدام المادة الوراثية للجسم المضيف. الفيروس يفعل ذلك مع قليل من الاعتبار لرفاه للمضيف. من جانبنا, نحن البشر نهب المواد الخام من كوكبنا المضيف مع مثل التخلي عن هذا التشابه من الصعب أن تفوت.

ولكن التشابه لا ينتهي هناك. ما هي أعراض نموذجية من عدوى فيروسية على المضيف? هو واحد من أعراض نوبة من الحمى. وبالمثل, بسبب أنشطتنا على كوكبنا المضيف, نحن نذهب من خلال نوبة من ظاهرة الاحتباس الحراري. تشبه بشكل مخيف, من وجهة نظري.

الأعراض الفيروسية قد تمتد إلى القروح والبثور وكذلك. المقارنة بين المدن والقروح العين الأخرى أن نخلق بفخر إلى الغابات البكر والمناظر الطبيعية, ليس من الصعب أن نتصور أننا في الواقع إلحاق الفظائع نتنة إلى الأرض مضيفنا. لا يمكننا أن نرى المجاري المدينة وهواء ملوثا مثل كريه الرائحة, ناز القرحة على الجسم?

يذهب خطوة أبعد, يمكن أن نتصور أيضا أن الكوارث الطبيعية مثل إعصار كاترينا وكارثة تسونامي الآسيوية هي أنظمة المناعة الطبيعية لكوكب الأرض والركل في حالة تأهب قصوى?

وأنا أعلم أنه ساخر بامتياز لدفع هذه المقارنة إلى هذه الحدود القصوى. أبحث في وجوه الأبرياء من أحبائك, قد تشعر بالغضب حق في هذه المقارنة. كيف أجرؤ على تسميتها فيروس الشر? ثم مرة أخرى, إذا كان الفيروس قد يظن, سيكون التفكير في أنشطتها على الجسم المضيف والشر?

إذا كان هذا لا تهدئة تتحلون به من السخط, نتذكر أن هذا التشبيه الفيروس هو طريقة التفكير بدلا من اتهام الحرفي. هذا نمط من التفكير هو مفيد فقط إذا كان يمكن أن تسفر عن بعض الاستنتاجات. ما هي الاستنتاجات من المقارنة للفيروسات الإنسان هذا?

النتيجة النهائية لعدوى فيروسية دائما قاتمة. إما المضيف يستسلم أو يحصل ضرب الفيروس عن طريق الجهاز المناعي للمضيف. إذا أردنا الفيروس, كل من هذه الاحتمالات هي غير مستساغة. نحن لا نريد لقتل الأرض. ونحن بالتأكيد لا تريد للابادة من قبل الأرض. ولكن هذه هي النتائج المحتملة الوحيدة لدينا مثل الفيروسية النشاط هنا. فإنه من غير المحتمل أننا سوف تحصل على إبادتهم; نحن بعيدون متطورة جدا لذلك. في جميع الاحتمالات, ونحن سوف تجعل كوكبنا غير صالحة للسكن. ربما علينا, بحلول ذلك الوقت, لدينا الوسائل التكنولوجية لدينا من الهجرة إلى الأنظمة الكوكبية الأخرى. وبعبارة أخرى, إذا كنا محظوظين, نحن قد تكون معدية! هذا هو الاستنتاج الذي لا مفر منه من هذا التمرين الفكرية.

هناك سيناريو أقل احتمالا — وجود فيروسي التكافلية في الجسم المضيف. هو نوع من أسلوب الحياة حميدة أن آل غور وغيرهم يوصي بالنسبة لنا. لكن, حصر أنشطتنا على هذا الكوكب, وجهة نظري هو أن يوم القيامة فوات الأوان للتكافل السلمي. ما رأيك?

تعليقات

Human Virus

On one poignantly beautiful autumn day in Syracuse, a group of us physics graduate students were gathered around a frugal kitchen table. We had our brilliant professor, Lee Smolin, talking to us. We held our promising mentors in very high regard. And we had high hopes for Lee.

The topic of conversation on that day was a bit philosophical, and we were eagerly absorbing the words of wisdom emanating from Lee. He was describing to us how the Earth could be considered a living organism. Using insightful arguments and precisely modulated glib articulation (no doubt, forged by years of intellectual duels in world’s best universities), Lee made a compelling case that the Earth, in fact, satisfied all the conditions of being an organism.

Lee Smolin, by the way, lived up to our great expectations in later years, publishing highly acclaimed books and generally leaving a glorious imprint in the world of modern physics. He now talks to global audiences through prestigious programmes such as the BBC Hardtalk, much to our pride and joy.

The point in Lee’s view was not so much whether or the Earth was literally alive, but that thinking of it as an organism was a viable intellectual model to represent the Earth. Such intellectual acrobatics was not uncommon among us physics students.

In the last few years, Lee has actually taken this mode of thinking much farther in one of his books, picturing the universe in the light of evolution. Again, the argument is not to be taken literally, imagining a bunch of parallel universes vying for survival. The idea is to let the mode of thinking carry us forward and guide our thoughts, and see what conclusions we can draw from the thought exercise.

A similar mode of thinking was introduced in the movie Matrix. In fact, several profound models were introduced in that movie, which probably fuelled its wild box-office success. One misanthropic model that the computer agent Smith proposes is that human beings are a virus on our planet.

It is okay for the bad guy in a movie to suggest it, but an entirely different matter for newspaper columnist to do so. But bear with me as I combine Lee’s notion of the Earth being an organism and Agent Smith’s suggestion of us being a virus on it. Let’s see where it takes us.

The first thing a virus does when it invades an organism is to flourish using the genetic material of the host body. The virus does it with little regard for the well-being of the host. On our part, we humans plunder the raw material from our host planet with such abandon that the similarity is hard to miss.

But the similarity doesn’t end there. What are the typical symptoms of a viral infection on the host? One symptom is a bout of fever. Similarly, due to our activities on our host planet, we are going through a bout of global warming. Eerily similar, in my view.

The viral symptoms could extend to sores and blisters as well. Comparing the cities and other eye sores that we proudly create to pristine forests and natural landscapes, it is not hard to imagine that we are indeed inflicting fetid atrocities to our host Earth. Can’t we see the city sewers and the polluted air as the stinking, oozing ulcers on its body?

Going one step further, could we also imagine that natural calamities such as Katrina and the Asian tsunami are the planet’s natural immune systems kicking into high gear?

I know that it is supremely cynical to push this comparison to these extreme limits. Looking at the innocent faces of your loved ones, you may feel rightfully angry at this comparison. How dare I call them an evil virus? Then again, if a virus could think, would it think of its activities on a host body as evil?

If that doesn’t assuage your sense of indignation, remember that this virus analogy is a mode of thinking rather than a literal indictment. Such a mode of thinking is only useful if it can yield some conclusions. What are the conclusions from this human-viral comparison?

The end result of a viral infection is always gloomy. Either the host succumbs or the virus gets beaten by the host’s immune systems. If we are the virus, both these eventualities are unpalatable. We don’t want to kill the Earth. And we certainly don’t want to be exterminated by the Earth. But those are the only possible outcomes of our viral-like activity here. It is unlikely that we will get exterminated; we are far too sophisticated for that. In all likelihood, we will make our planet uninhabitable. We may, by then, have our technological means of migrating to other planetary systems. In other words, if we are lucky, we may be contagious! This is the inescapable conclusion of this intellectual exercise.

There is a less likely scenario — a symbiotic viral existence in a host body. It is the kind of benign life style that Al Gore and others recommend for us. But, taking stock of our activities on the planet, my doomsday view is that it is too late for a peaceful symbiosis. What do you think?


2 thoughts on “Human Virus”

Comments are closed.