好的和坏的性别平等

性别平等已经取得了一些长足的进步. 约百年前, 大多数妇女在世界上没有投票权 — 没有选举权, 使用正确的术语. 现在, 我们有一个女人逐日比以往美国总统的办公室, 被认为是最强大的 “人” 在地球上. 在企业现场太, 我们现在看到很多女性在强大的位置.

但, 即使是我们当中最乐观也不会认为性别平等是一个现实,那女人已经抵达. 这是为什么? 究竟什么是实现这一神圣的平等大盘的难度?

我认为难就难在我们的定义, 在我们所说的妇女平等. 当然, 整平等问题是一个雷区,只要政治上的正确性关注. 而且我过驳到薄冰在没有理智的人会梦见加强在. 但专栏作家允许自以为是和, 让我们面对现实吧, 有点厌恶. 所以在这里,我们去…

我觉得有平等好坏的参数. 让我们的网球大满贯赛事的情况下,, 在那里 “实现” 通过均衡奖金款项平等. 这个论点很简单,男女是平等的,他们应该得到同样的奖金.

对我来说,, 这是没有太大的争论在所有. 这是屈尊的一种形式. 这是一个有点像居高临下 (虽然, 毫无疑问, 善意) 母语提供的鼓励,当你学习他们的母语. 对我五岁旅居法国的结束, 我能说不错的法国,人们曾经告诉我, 令人鼓舞的是,当然, 我讲好. 对我来说,, 它总是意味着我没有说话不够好, 如果我这样做了, 他们只是不会注意到它在所有, 他们会? 毕竟, 他们不会到处去祝贺对方在自己的完美法国!

同样, 如果男女网球选手真的等于, 没有人会讲平等. 就不会有 “男装” 单打和 “女士的” 单打开始 — 会有公正选拔! 所以这种说法,在奖金平等是坏的.

有一个更好的说法. 奖金由企业赞助的机构热衷于推广自己的产品. 赞助商,因此在电视收视兴趣. 由于女单吸引尽可能多的观众是男性的, 奖金应该是平等的. 现在, 这是一个坚实的论据. 我们要寻找的尺寸相等的地方真的存在,而不是试图人为地强加于.

当平等的这样的尺寸涵盖了生活的方方面面, 我们可以有把握地说,性别平等已经到来. 我们不应该寻找睾丸激素驱动的运动场平等, 哪, 顺便说说, 包括企业金字塔的高层. 我们应该归咎于足够的尊重和价值的自然差异被贬谪的平等辩论无关.

一名男子铰接式, 我的这个声明, 当然, 是有点怀疑. 我会不会想为他们提供无用的尊重,而不是真正的平等奸商女性?

我曾经听说过一个类似的交流时,有人认为,女性在喀拉拉邦我的家乡的土地所享有的,因为性别平等更高层次, 从母系系统来, 他们统治的家庭. 的精辟反驳这样的说法来自一个喀拉拉的女人, “男人也乐得让女人统治他们的家庭,只要他们获得统治世界!”

然后再, 我们是非常接近让希拉里·克林顿统治世界只有两个人站在她的方式. 因此,或许男女平等终于到来毕竟.

评论

c86d8fce215a2f4cb95b7cda_640_equality

Good and Bad Gender Equality

Gender equality has made some great strides. About one hundred years ago, most women in the world didn’t have the right to vote — no suffrage, to use the correct term. Right now, we have a woman inching closer than ever to the office of President of the United States, considered the most powerful “man” on earth. In the corporate scene too, we now see many women in powerful positions.

But, even the most optimistic among us wouldn’t argue that gender equality is a reality and that women have arrived. Why is that? What exactly is the difficulty in achieving this holy grail of equality?

I think that the difficulty lies in our definition, in what we mean by women’s equality. Of course, the whole equality issue is a minefield as far as political correctness is concerned. And I’m barging on to thin ice where no sane person would dream of stepping in. But a columnist is allowed to be opinionated and, let’s face it, a bit obnoxious. So here we go…

I feel that there are good and bad arguments for equality. Let’s take the case of tennis Grand Slams, where they “achieved” equality by equalizing the prize moneys. The argument was simply that women and men were equal and they deserved the same prize money.

To me, it wasn’t much of an argument at all. It was a form of condescension. It is a bit like the condescending (though, no doubt, well-meaning) encouragements offered by native speakers when you learn their tongue. Towards the end of my five year sojourn in France, I could speak pretty good French and people used to tell me, encouragingly of course, that I spoke well. To me, it always meant that I didn’t speak well enough, for if I did, they just wouldn’t notice it at all, would they? After all, they don’t go around congratulating each other on their perfect French!

Similarly, if men and women tennis players were really equal, nobody would speak of equality. There wouldn’t be “men’s” singles and “women’s” singles to begin with — there would be just singles! So this argument for equality in prize money is bad one.

There is a much better argument. Prize money is sponsored by corporate bodies bent on promoting their products. The sponsors are therefore interested in TV viewership. Given that women’s singles draws in as many viewers as men’s, the prize money should be equal. Now, that is a solid argument. We should be looking at dimensions where equality really does exist rather than trying to artificially impose it.

When such dimensions of equality encompass all aspects of our lives, we will be able to safely say that gender equality has arrived. We should not be looking for equality in testosterone-driven playing fields, which, by the way, may include higher echelons of the corporate pyramid. We should be relegating debates on equality to irrelevance by attributing enough respect and value to natural differences.

Articulated by a man, this statement of mine, of course, is a bit suspect. Aren’t I trying to shortchange women by offering them useless respect rather than real equality?

I once heard a similar exchange when someone argued that women in my native land of Kerala enjoyed higher level of gender equality because, coming from a matrilineal system, they ruled the household. The pithy rebuttal to that argument came from a Keralite woman, “Men are perfectly happy to let women rule their households as long as they get to rule the world!”

Then again, we are pretty close to letting Hillary Clinton rule the world with just two men standing in her way. So perhaps gender equality has finally arrived after all.

Comments