الأخلاق في الأعمال التجارية والقيادة

[This post is the speech given by Prof. Surya Sethi at World Forum for Ethics in Business – ندوة القيادة الدولية الاثنين, أبريل 2, 2012 في سنغافورة. يرد هنا بإذن.]

لقد طلب مني لتغطية مجموعة واسعة من القضايا المتعلقة بالأعمال التجارية استعادة الثقة لتحقيق الاستدامة في سياق تغير المناخ وأزمة الطاقة العالمية. الأهم, لقد طلب مني أن تفعل ذلك في 10 دقيقة تعكس كفاءة الدولة المدينة ونحن في.

اسمحوا لي أن أبدأ التفريق بين القيم المعنوية والأخلاقية. وبناء على ما سمعته هذا الصباح, يبدو أن هناك بعض الخلط بين الأخلاق والآداب العامة. تعريف السابق الطابع الفردي والقائمة على المعتقدات الشخصية من الحق والباطل أو الخير والشر. وهذه الأخيرة هي في الأساس معايير وقواعد السلوك, المتوقع في سياق محدد, من مجموعة فرد ينتمي ل. الأخلاق عادة تشمل المجتمعي, الشركة, الوطني, المواثيق المهنية أو أخرى مماثلة. بشكل فردي, نعتبر قتل خطأ اخلاقيا ولكن يعتبر جيش مما أسفر عن مقتل الآلاف الأخلاقي، وغالبا ما زينت كعمل شجاعة من أجل الخير المشترك.

مؤسسات الأعمال, اليوم, المأهولة إلى حد كبير من الناحية الأخلاقية الأفراد تستقيم يقتلون الكوكب نشترك مع ضراوة جماعي, كثافة وسرعة التصفح التي من الحرب; والحصول على مكافأة لخلق التقييمات لم يسبق لها مثيل والتفوق تنافسية. الاستهلاك من أجل الاستهلاك, النمو من أجل النمو, الربح من أجل الربح ودعم السياسات وصانعي السياسات التي تدعم كل ما سبق هي القيم الأخلاقية التي توجه هذه المؤسسات.

الضرر البشري إلى البيئة على الأرض خلال آخر 60 سنوات تجاوزت الأضرار التي سببها البشر خلال تاريخهم كله حتى 1950. التوازن الدقيق بين المادية, تم بالانزعاج العمليات الكيميائية والبيولوجية التي تدعم الأرض كنظام مترابط واحد. انتقلت الأرض جيدا خارج نطاق التقلبات الطبيعية لها عرضت خلال النصف السابق مليون سنة في أقل تقدير. التغيرات البيئية المفاجئة مع التقيمات غير الخطية في ديناميات الأرض, مما يؤدي إلى نتائج كارثية, هي إمكانية حقيقية اليوم. وينبغي أن تكون أخلاقيات السعر تحديد وليس بالسعر الذي تحدده الأسواق. وكيل تسعير رأس المال الطبيعي وتجاهل المخاطر المصاحبة تغني الازدهار الاقتصادي الاستهلاك.

الأهم, النمو, وقد تركزت الاستهلاك والفوائد في قلة المحظوظة. الأعلى 20% من يستهلك العالم 80% من انتاجها حين أن الجزء السفلي 80% يعيش على التوازن 20%. أسفل 20% يعيش في فقر مدقع في استهلاك أقل من $1.25 PPP / اليوم أو عن 50cents / يوم في سنتا الاسمية في بلد مثل الهند التي تعد موطنا لثلث هؤلاء العالمية مؤسف. الذهاب فقط عن طريق فقر الدخل, لقد حان عدد الذين يعيشون تحت هذه العتبة ماسة إلى أسفل من بعض 500 مليون - بشكل كامل تقريبا بسبب انخفاض في الصين. لكن, مؤشر الفقر متعدد الأبعاد الأوسع الذي يشمل المعلمات مثل الصحة, التعليم, المساواة بين الجنسين, وصول, التمكين الخ. يدفع حصة من هؤلاء الناس المعوزين إلى حوالي 25% من سكان العالم. الأهم, عدد الأشخاص الذين يعيشون تحت خط الفقر العالمي $2 PPP في استهلاك يوم يبقى باستمرار عند حوالي 2.5 مليار أو نحو 36 % الإنسانية.

استهلاك الطاقة الحديثة يرتبط تماما لمؤشر التنمية البشرية (HDI) لكنه لا يزال يتملص أسفل 2.5 مليار الذين ما زالوا الطاقة جوعا. بينما 1.5 مليار بينهم, بما في ذلك أكثر 500 مليون من الهند, لا يحصلون على الكهرباء, 2.2 billion, بما في ذلك بعض 850 مليون من الهند استخدام بعض شكل من الكتلة الحيوية كمصدر أساسي أو الوحيد للطاقة لطهي الطعام –ضرورة الإنسان الأساسية. ستحرم عدد أكبر صول كنا لتسعير الطاقة, واحدة من أسرع تستنزف الموارد الطبيعية للأرض, بالقيمة الحقيقية. السبب الرئيسي في ذلك هو الاستهلاك المفرط المتواصلة التي يقوم بها بشكل جيد إلى.

بلدان منظمة التعاون والتنمية, ويبلغ عدد سكانها مجتمعة أقل من الهند تتمتع بأعلى مستويات المعيشة في العالم. بعد, تدريجي استهلاك الطاقة التجارية OECD للفترة 1997-2007 (قبل الأزمة المالية); و 3.2 أمثال نظيره في الهند. خلال هذه الفترة, وارتفعت حصة الهند من الاستهلاك العالمي للطاقة التجاري من 2.9% إلى 3.6% في حين انخفضت حصة OECD من 58% إلى ما يزيد قليلا 50%. ويرجع هذا الانخفاض متفرد في نمو نصيب الصين لأنها أصبحت أكبر مستهلك للطاقة في العالم.

الاستهلاك المفرط للطاقة هو أسوأ بكثير مما تكشف الأرقام. في عالم معولم, انتقلت الأعمال التجارية الكبيرة أجزاء كبيرة من قاعدة الإنتاج OECD بحثا عن رأس المال الطبيعي أرخص بما في ذلك المشاعات البيئية, وعلى الرغم تقدر بثمن, لا تزال متاحة مجانا في الصين والعالم النامي.

وإذا نظرنا إلى انبعاث غازات الدفيئة على أساس الاستهلاك وليس الإنتاج داخل حدودها, ثم الاتحاد الأوروبي 15 الانبعاثات بنسبة 47% وارتفعت انبعاثات الولايات المتحدة 43% منذ 1990. انبعاثات جزءا لا يتجزأ من واردات الاتحاد الأوروبي ال 15 حوالي 33% من انبعاثات داخل حدودها. وهذا يترجم إلى حوالي 3 طن نصيب الفرد من انبعاثات جزءا لا يتجزأ من واردات. استيراد انبعاثات جزءا لا يتجزأ بالنسبة للولايات المتحدة هو 20% أو حول 4 طن / فرد - في 2000, كان مستوى الواردات انبعاثات جزءا لا يتجزأ في كل من الولايات المتحدة وEU15 فقط 3% . انبعاثات جزءا لا يتجزأ من وحده في واردات للولايات المتحدة والاتحاد الأوروبي ال 15 ومرتين و 1.6 مرات على التوالي من مجموع الهند في انبعاثات غازات الدفيئة للفرد.

أكبر كذبة أن يقال لنا من قبل الشركات الكبرى وصناع السياسات التي تدعمها هو أن كفاءة استخدام الموارد هو الحل لاستدامة. وعلى الرغم من تحقيق مكاسب ضخمة في كفاءة استخدام الموارد, العالم يستهلك المزيد من رأس المال الطبيعي اليوم من أي وقت مضى، ونحن على السيارات الرائدة على الأقل ل 3.5 درجة مئوية الاحترار. إذا IPCC هو الحق, هذا سوف يطلق العنان الأحداث الكارثية والإبادة الجماعية للفقراء العالم في في المستقبل المنظور.

ببساطة, الأنماط الحالية للاستهلاك والإنتاج, السيدات والسادة, لا يمكن احتمالها. أنشطة المسؤولية الاجتماعية للشركات مثل فتح المدارس والمستشفيات أو غرف مجلس الأخضر غسل مع أضواء كفاءة هي ببساطة غير كافية. أيضا غير كافية هو عقلية الأعمال التي التأثيرات الأولى ثم مجرد يلتقي اللوائح الحالية، ويرى قيمة إلا من حيث القيمة النقدية على أساس تحليل التكاليف والمنافع التبسيط

نحن بحاجة إلى إطار السياسة التي حدودا الأولى استخدامنا للوقود الأحفوري وغيرها من أشكال رأس المال الطبيعي ومن ثم تدريجيا يقلل ذلك في المهد إلى المهد نموذج تغذيها الابتكار. يجب أن يكون نموذج النمو لدينا واحدة شاملة أن يقلل من الاستهلاك المفرط غير المستدام من قبل عدد قليل وإعادة توزيع ذلك إلى أسفل 50% هذا العالم. لا, أنا لا نسعى لجعل الأغنياء الفقراء بجعل الفقراء الأغنياء - أنا مجرد السعي للحصول على حق أسفل 50% من العالم لديهم كرامة الحياة التي يوفرها استهلاك في 50% من مستويات الفقر في OECD. الظلم الحالية حيث ثالث أكبر اقتصاد في العالم من حيث PPP (الهند) يتم وضع 134 من حيث مؤشر التنمية البشرية، ولديها أكبر تجمع في العالم من الفقراء, البالغين يعانون من سوء التغذية والأطفال دون الوزن لا يمكن لها الصمود.

قادة الأعمال المستنير يجب أن لا يحدد فقط الاستدامة من حيث ضمان المساواة الموارد بين الأجيال ولكن أيضا رؤية الاستدامة عدم رفع الظلم الأجيال داخل الحالية، وبالتالي تقديم الحد الأدنى من القدرة على التكيف إلى أسفل 2.5 مليار من بني البشر في مواجهة وشيكة الأحداث المناخية المفاجئة.

في الختام, أقتبس المهاتما غاندي الذي قال: "العالم لديه ما يكفي لتلبية حاجة الجميع ولكن لا يكفي لتلبية الجشع حتى رجل واحد!"

أشكر لك على وقتك والاهتمام.

تعليقات

Ethics In Business and Leadership

[This post is the speech given by Prof. Surya Sethi at World Forum for Ethics in Business - International Leadership Symposium Monday, April 2, 2012 in Singapore. Reproduced here with permission.]

I have been asked to cover a broad spectrum of issues relating to business regaining trust for sustainability within the context of climate change and the global energy crisis. Importantly, I have been asked to do so in 10 minutes reflecting the efficiency of the city-state we are in.

Let me begin by differentiating between moral and ethical values. Based on what I heard this morning, there appears to be some confusion between morals and ethics. The former define individual character and are based on personal beliefs of right and wrong or good and bad. The latter are essentially standards and codes of conduct, expected in a specific context, from the group an individual belongs to. Ethics typically encompass societal, corporate, national, professional or other similar compacts. Individually, we consider killing as morally wrong but an army killing thousands is considered ethical and is often decorated as an act of bravery for common good.

Business enterprises, today, manned largely by morally upright individuals are collectively killing the planet we share with a ferocity, intensity and speed matching that of war; and getting rewarded for creating unprecedented valuations and competitive supremacy. Consumption for the sake of consumption, growth for the sake of growth, profit for the sake of profit and support for policies and policy makers that uphold all of the foregoing are the ethical values guiding these enterprises.

The anthropogenic damage to the earth’s ecology over the last 60 years exceeds the damage done by humans over their entire history up to 1950. The fine balance between physical, chemical and biological processes that sustain the earth as a single interdependent system has been disturbed. The earth has moved well outside the range of her natural variability exhibited over the previous half a million years in the very least. Abrupt ecological changes with non-linear feedbacks in the earth’s dynamics, leading to catastrophic outcomes, are a real possibility today. Ethics should be price determining and not price determined by markets. Under-pricing natural capital and ignoring concomitant risks is fuelling the consumption boom.

Importantly, the growth, the consumption and the benefits have been concentrated in the privileged few. The top 20% of the world consumes 80% of its output while the bottom 80% lives on the balance 20%. The bottom 20% lives in dire poverty at a consumption of less than $1.25 PPP/day or about 50cents/day in nominal cents in a country such as India which is home to a third of these global unfortunate. Going just by income poverty, the number living below this dire threshold has come down by some 500 million – almost entirely because of a reduction in China. However, the broader multidimensional poverty index that includes parameters such as health, education, gender equality, access, empowerment etc. pushes the share of these destitute people to about 25% of the global population. Importantly, the number of people below the global poverty line of $2 PPP per day consumption remains stubbornly at about 2.5 billion or about 36 % of humanity.

Modern energy consumption is perfectly correlated to the Human Development Index (HDI) but it still eludes the bottom 2.5 billion who remain energy starved. While 1.5 billion among them, including over 500 million from India, have no access to electricity, 2.2 billion, including some 850 million from India use some form of biomass as their primary or only source of energy for cooking food –the most basic human necessity. A larger number would be denied access were we to price energy, one of earth’s fastest depleting natural resource, at its true value. The primary reason for this is the continuing disproportionate consumption by the well-to-do.

OECD countries, with a combined population less than India enjoy the world’s highest living standards. Yet, OECD’s incremental commercial energy consumption for the period 1997-2007 (before the financial crisis); was 3.2 times that of India. During this period, India’s share of global commercial energy consumption rose from 2.9% to 3.6% while OECD’s share fell from 58% to just over 50%. This drop was singularly due to the growth of China’s share as it became the world’s largest energy consumer.

The disproportionate consumption of energy is far worse than the figures reveal. In a globalized world, big business has moved significant parts of OECD’s production base in search of cheaper natural capital including the environmental commons, which though priceless, is still available for free in China and the developing world.

If one looks at GHG emission on a consumption basis and not production within their borders, then EU 15 emissions are up by 47% and the US emissions have risen 43% since 1990. The embedded emissions in imports of EU-15 are about 33% of emissions within their borders. This translates to about 3 tons per capita of embedded emissions in imports. The embedded emissions import for the US is 20% or about 4 tons/capita – In 2000, the level of embedded emissions imports in both the US and EU15 were only 3% . The embedded emissions alone in imports for US and EU-15 are twice and 1.6 times respectively of India’s total per capita GHG emissions.

The greatest lie that we are being told by big business and the policy makers supported by them is that resource efficiency is the answer to sustainability. Despite huge gains in resource use efficiency, the world is consuming more natural capital today than ever before and we are on auto pilot to at least a 3.5 degree Celsius warming. If IPCC is right, this will unleash catastrophic events and mass annihilation of the world’s poor in the foreseeable future.

Simply stated, current patterns of consumption and production, ladies and gentlemen, are unsustainable. CSR activities such as opening schools and hospitals or green-washing board rooms with efficient lights are simply inadequate. Also inadequate is a business mindset that first influences and then merely meets current regulations and sees value only in monetary terms based on a simplistic cost-benefit analysis

We need a policy framework that first limits our use of fossil fuels and other forms of natural capital and then gradually reduces it in a cradle to cradle paradigm fuelled by innovation. Our growth model must be an inclusive one that reduces unsustainable overconsumption by a few and redistributes that to the bottom 50% of this world. No, I do not seek to make the poor rich by making the rich poor – I simply seek the right of the bottom 50% of the world to have a dignity of life afforded by consumption at 50% of the poverty levels within the OECD. The current inequities whereby the world’s third largest economy in PPP terms (India) is placed 134th in terms of its HDI and has the world’s largest concentration of poor, malnourished adults and under-weight children are unsustainable.

Enlightened business leaders must not only define sustainability in terms of guaranteeing inter-generational resource equity but also see the unsustainability of not removing current intra generational inequities and thereby delivering the minimal adaptive capacity to the bottom 2.5 billion of fellow humans in the face of impending abrupt climate events.

In closing, I quote Mahatma Gandhi who said: “The world has enough to meet everyone’s need but not enough to satisfy even one man’s greed!

I thank you for your time and attention.

Comments